We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Cover photo  BURNVALE 
17 North Shawbost
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cover photo  BURNVALE 
17 North Shawbost
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Cover photo  BURNVALE 
17 North Shawbost
Shawbost Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Shawbost, Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James D
1 review
“Perfect place to stay.”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Clean, comfortable accommodation with every possible thing thought of. The pristine beach a short walk away is a delight and there are walks you can do straight from the doorstep. We would stay here again definitely!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your thoughtful review, we are so glad you enjoyed the Island and your stay at Burnvale. Hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Gillian and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A...
1 review
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A lovely homely cottage, beautifully furnished and equipped making for a very comfortable and easy stay. We were able to birdwatch from the kitchen window and local beach, visit the main historical sites and travel to all the wonderful beaches, Luskentyre is amazing. We also toured the beautiful Golden road and visited lovely Rodel church.
Thank you Gillian & John for the so generous Welcome Pack. We are so pleased we booked for two weeks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Burnvale. We are glad to have contributed to your enjoyment and memories of your trip to the islands of Lewis and Harris.
Many thanks, Gillian and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margot C
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Location”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Thanks John and Gillian for providing such a beautiful home for us to stay in . it felt positively palatial compared to most holiday cottages we'd stayed in over the years . Everything was to a very high standard and very comfortable . Gorgeous open bath and lovely flat screen TV and the whole cottage very well equipped . we really felt at home . The location is superb . Masses of local interest places to visit and many lovely walks to do . We visited the beautiful and tranquil Loch Shawbost morning and evening every day to get fabulous close up views of waders. Large flocks of Dunlin , Ringed Plover , Turnstone and a few Sanderling entertained us each visit . Then the arrival of two Great Northern Divers added the icing on the cake as these were 'lifers ' for us ( first time in our life we've seen them )

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking time to review us . We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Shawbost at BURNVALE and that you managed to see the bird life around the local area. We really enjoy providing a comfortable place for visitor to stay on the island . Many thanks , John and Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colinwmas...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location ”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely property and very comfortable, cosy and well equipped. An ideal location for exploring the island with several points of interest nearby and far reaching views to the ocean.
Soon after arriving and starting to unpack, the owners John and Gillian popped over to make sure everything was okay, which it absolutely was.
There were essentials like fresh milk, tea and coffee amongst several other items plus a bottle of wine which was very welcome.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Burnvale.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Thank you for your excellent review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It's a pleasure providing a good base for an Island holiday.
Many thanks,
John and Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you for your fantastic review, this is our first full year letting our property and your review is much appreciated , really glad you enjoyed your stay and your time in Shawbost.
Kind regards
Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
6jeb
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best self catering cottage ever!”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This self catering cottage is so comfortable and everything is of a extremely high standard. The owner is very caring and helpful. We were spoilt with some home baked goodies and a lovely bottle of wine to welcome us. I cannot rate this cottage highly enough - it had everything we needed and more. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So clean and tidy - everything of excellent standard. Well cared for.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
Thank you very much for your positive review , this is my first review and I am delighted, looking forward to your future stay at BURNVALE .
Many thanks
Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing