We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing every time we have been!”

The Rose & Crown Inn
Price range: US$7 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The friendliest and most welcoming country pub in Devon, serving home cooked food day
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing every time we have been!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We are live a few miles from the Rose and Crown, and have never had such a nice welcome and fantastic food. Thank you Tim and your staff for making such a nice place to go. Will most definitely be going back as a local!

Helpful?
2 Thank cazzandmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    23
    4
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Excellent food and service. Much improved from previous experience. The smoked chicken and mushroom risotto was perfect and my partner loved the mixed grill. Something for everyone.
Great service too as we were advised of a large party arriving so were able to get our order in quickly and not wait.
Will definitely be returning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngieB739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providenciales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a spectacular setting!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had dinner here with the kids one evening, it could not have been more perfect: a huge garden with play furniture for the kids to play on, rolling, green Devon hills all around and fabulous lamb on the menu (from the farm over the road). Tim was a great host and so very relaxed about noisy children running around, inside the pub looked lovely too, but such a great evening, we spent the whole time outside.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zibba66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a character that landlord is! (Foods great too) ”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My mum, her friend and I popped out for a little birthday lunch my mum being my mum though it would be a fab idea to wear her birthday cake hat and fake tattoo sleeves. On arrival the lovely landlord, Tim not only wished my mum a happy birthday but also questioned her "tattoos". This led on to the exposure of Tim's dr who tattoos and then onto a lovely conversation about cardiff (where I live now) and his love for dr who.
We had a lovely lunch and the chef catered for all my mums awkward requests with no problems( brown bread, no chips not a boring salad). Tim also gave us the bakery's name where he gets his bread as mum said it was "scrummy" and consequently we are planning a trip there tomorrow.
We ordered three coffees one a cappuccino to which Tim went hmm I think I can do that. I don't know how he did it but we had a lovely cappuccino with out the help of a coffee maker.

All in all, the food is amazing, there is a diverse menu, the landlord is a lovely chap and the value for money is amazing!

A real turn around from the old 1980's menu of duck in orange sauce!

Helpful?
1 Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Lunch”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Was taken out for a Birthday lunch today by my daughter, Tim at the Rose and Crown could not have done more for us. I ordered a crayfish sandwich, which was absolutely delicous. I was given the choices of brown bread, white bread or gluten free plus the option of chips or salad. What a wonderful attentive host Tim is, without being interfering.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthieGreenslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rose & Crown Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Rose & Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing