We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway at a wonderful location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront at Potlatch Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Potlatch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Waterfront at Potlatch Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potlatch
Port Ludlow, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing getaway at a wonderful location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I recently spent a week at The Waterfront at Potlatch. I needed a time out from the business of life, hoping for a quiet, relaxing respite. The Waterfront at Potlatch fit the bill perfectly. What a wonderful resort. I found it completely perfect in every way. The owners, Annette and Bob, are very kind and helpful, extremely hospitable and anxious to make your stay a good one, while also respecting your privacy when you need it. As far as the accommodations and amenities, I have no complaint whatsoever. I stayed in a King Suite that was very roomy and extremely comfortable. It lacked for nothing. The bathroom is large with good vanity space, combo tub and shower also large. The refrigerator and microwave were medium size - not the tiny ones you find in some hotels. Plenty of comfortable spaces all around, couch for lounging while reading or watching TV, or table and chairs for eating or working on the laptop. The best spot was the balcony - privately enclosed from neighboring guests, nice table and chairs (not those flimsy plastic ones), and a view that was beautiful. Everything is kept very clean, the property is well maintained. The cabins are gorgeous, and even though the cabins, rooms, and RV pads are quite close together, there is still a feeling of space and privacy. There is a community room available to all guests, with big fridge, ice machine, cooking appliances, dishes, games, puzzles and books available for exchange. And of course, the canal is right in front. Many good places to walk with parks close by. The rates are reasonable (good rates in off season). I loved my stay. I hated to leave. The Waterfront at Potlatch may not be a big resort.... and that's exactly what I liked about it. Intimate, cozy, with great attention to detail - not a huge sprawling property with overbloated prices. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    12
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed two nights in one of the cabins with our two adult daughters in July 2011. The cabin is a park model trailer and it was confortable and clean. The kitchen had everything that you could want to use for fixing small meals. Even though the highway is very close to the cabin we didn't hear much noise during the night. There is a creek next to the cabin that gurgles very plesently and drowns out a lot of the most road noise.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Three families rented three of the four 'park-model' cabins right on the water. The public boat launch is right next to the resort for us to launch our boat; we brough a kayak, too, and crab pots. We used the commercial-styled outdoor barbecues (2) to fix food for 13 over the three days. The kids swam, did art projects on the porch; the men fished and told tall tales, and the women relaxed, read books and went up to Alderbrook Inn for a spa treatment. The facilities are spotless, well equipped and modern. We noted that the RV sites were mostly occupied the entire time and the lodge rooms appeared filled. Yes, Highsway 101 is right there, but we were not bothered by it at all. The Canal was fantastic.
It is the second year we have done this and will go back yet again next year.

Room Tip: Only 4 cabins so reserve early; be aware the the highway is very close to the bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soosihongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

My husband and I reserved an rv spot for our anniversary and our son was coming with us. We received an e-mail that said they don't rent out spots to rv's older than 1997. Otherwise it had to be in perfect condition and we would have to send photos to make an exception. I felt that the e-mail was very snobby and discriminating. At $50 a night[ and we wanted 4 nights], anybody should be able to stay there. I guess it's for the snobs of the earth only and who wants that. We go to bed at 9 p.m. and are very quiet, clean and respectable people. I told my husband I never want to stay there! I will now stay at Ocean Shores for 2 days and Potlach State Park for the other two. When we stay at hotels {including a suite at the Encore in Vegas} or eat at Botero, they do not ask about anything, only if you can afford to pay. How dare this place treat people like they aren't good enough to rent a darn rv pad!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront1, Manager at The Waterfront at Potlatch Resort, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
We're sorry you had such a terrible experience. We're under new management. Those strict rules no longer apply. You are welcome here anytime. I hope you'll give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great northwest
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

it's a beautiful place with great management! Clean, RV's are RIGHT on water! Nice smaller beach with oysters. Small so it doesn't get crazy. Yes, the highway is close-- Rv'ers are somewhat protected from it. We will come again!

  • Liked — ease of getting there, and the view!
  • Disliked — HW 101 noise
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kimmers40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
302 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2007

We booked this place for 4 nights. The units are not air conditioned, so you need to leave windows open. The head of the bed is 35' off a major road for the logging industry and traffic goes by all night long. We could not even hear our TV at night and it was at the other end of the unit. The people next to us also complained to us, but apparently not to management. When we requested to leave early because we could not stand the noise we were told that we were the only people to ever complain. We left but were charged for all 4 nights we reserved. Note also that RV's will be parked in front of your picture window that overlooks the lake, so you are told you are lakefront when you really are not. They reserve the lakefront for people with RV's. The units are clean and cute, but you need to be deaf and not care to have a view to enjoy them.

  • Liked — cute, clean unit
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront1, Manager at The Waterfront at Potlatch Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
All of our cabins are now air conditioned! No need to open a window. This helps tremendously in reducing the road noise from Hwy 101. Come check it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2007

I am a travel agent that booked this for myself. I booked a 1 bedroom cabin. From the internet these cabins looked really neat with a view overlooking the Hood Canal. When we arrived we found them to be a cars length plus a little more from Highway 101. They looked like cabins but turned out to be single wide modular homes that had been covered with logs. Nicely done but had that trailer feel inside.
The cabin itself was very nicely decorated. It included a nice kitchen with all the equipment needed, dvd player, sofabed, kitchen table and a nice view of the canal. Ours was a clear view but others might have had to view over RV trailers. Bedding and towels were new. Very clean.
Its a good spot for clamming and a nights stay for passing through town or doing some kayaking.
The RV section sat a little lower so it would be quieter but the cabins were pretty noise at night with the freeway noise and not so relaxing.

  • Liked — The view was nice
  • Disliked — Highway 101
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank droukasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potlatch
4.1 mi away
Robin Hood Village Resort
9.9 mi away
Super 8 Shelton
Super 8 Shelton
#2 of 4 in Shelton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
16.9 mi away
Little Creek Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
No photo provided
Shelton Inn
#3 of 4 in Shelton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
16.2 mi away
Belfair Motel
Belfair Motel
#1 of 1 in Belfair
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront at Potlatch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront at Potlatch Resort

Property: The Waterfront at Potlatch Resort
Address: 21660 N US Highway 101, Potlatch, WA 98584-9788
Region: United States > Washington > Potlatch
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Potlatch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront at Potlatch, a Hood Canal Resort, offers a wide variety of top quality Lodgings including king studio suites, king and double queen guest rooms, Air Conditioned one and two bedroom deluxe cabin vacation homes, and spacious Hood Canal RV park sites. All on 450 feet of no-bank waterfront. Amenities include cable TV, wireless internet access, and offering waterfront 30 and 50 AMP RV sites. Our Hood Canal cabins, rooms, suites, and RV park are on the waterfront and feature incredible views and amazing sun rises. We offer some of the most diverse and enjoyable lodging on Hood Canal. The Lucky Dog Casino is only 2 miles south and Hoodsport is only 2 miles north. Hoodsport Winery and The Hardware Distillery are popular attractions. Kayak rentals available by appointment on site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing