We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Buckingham" Palace!”
Review of Lancombes House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lancombes House
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at Lanscombes House for the weekend in the cottage called Buckingham. Arrived very late on the Friday evening due to horendous M25 traffic and was met by Adrian the owner. The cottage is very nicely laid out, recently decorated I would say and very well appointed for a self catering place. The log burning stove was a real joy as was the leather reclining sofas. Perfect. Our children made good use of the Games room and we used the DVD library. Fantastaic location

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pugwashmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

We came to Dorset to revisit places we knew from holidays 30 years ago, and could not have found a better place to stay than Claydon Cottage. It is so clean, bright, roomy and well-equipped - almost better than home! The dogs loved it too, especially the large field beyond the garden. Sue and Adrian are the kindest and most charming hosts, and we cannot thank them enough for making us so welcome.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank angela538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We wanted to get out of London last minute, and as luck would have it Buckingham Cottage was available. We had no idea about the area, but as many of the other places we had called said they booked up a year in advance, we figured we would take a gamble.

We were also travelling with our two year old son and my mother in law, who doesn't travel much and didn't want to be too isolated. It was perfect! The cottage is situated in a beautiful area which is not near any busy areas or roadways, but also within a pretty short reach of civilization, super roomy lounge, big master bedroom, great bathroom, great second bedroom, well equipped kitchen and has its own rear garden, which is completely fenced in. We have a very active two year old, so this turned out to be very valuable for us. We had the patio doors open most of our visit and he had the freedom to run around and check out the cows and sheep in the surrounding fields, without us having to worry he would run off.

The cottage itself was immaculately presented, and we booked it as self catering. West Milton turned out to be the perfect base for exploring Dorset as well, you're pretty much 10 minutes from a great beach in West Bay and there are easy links to the other sights as well. Bridport, the town just below West Milton, is also gorgeous, has a great centre, and lots of pubs and restaurants to enjoy. Not to mention a village market on Wednesdays and Saturdays which has been going on since the 1200s!


I cannot oversell this place enough. This was the best holiday we could have imagined and more, no stress, so easy, so pleased. We are definitely coming back!

Thank you Adrian and Sue!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hallie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We spent 2 nights here in March on a B&B basis in 'Claydon Cottage'. The accommodation was very comfortable, clean & very spacious. As it's also let as self catering, there is a well stocked kitchen as well as 2 bedrooms, bathroom and lounge area. A delicious breakfast was served by Sue and we certainly ate well! We had a great time here and would have no hesitation in coming back either on a B&B or Self Catering basis. Sue kindly gave us a tour of the whole property and we were very impressed with the 2 larger cottages (both sleeping 12) - they are ideal for a group or large family. The surrounding countryside is very quiet & peaceful and there are plenty of good pubs around too!
The whole place had a very homely feel about it and I would recommend it as an ideal place to stay in this lovely area of the country.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Somuchtosee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Ten of us spent a lovely weekend here. It's great for couples as 4 of the bedrooms are doubles,3 en suite . Comfortable, well equipped and cosy. We had our two collies with us and the place is perfect for them too, lots of space and dog friendly flooring.
A special mention for the huge dining kitchen and lovely living room, with 4 big sofas and a wood burner. Our weather was not the best, but we were toasty by the fire!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babsBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I've just returned from Lancombes House after celebrating my 40th birthday with 16 ladies. I can hand on heart say that this place is absolutely wonderful. It is set in the most glorious of surroundings and the accomodation is 2nd to none. Everything is catered for and the rooms are clean, comfortable and just like 'home from home'.
Whether you are a group, a family or just a couple of you, I can thoroughly recommend that you visit this place and see it for yourself. A big thankyou to Adrian and Sue for being so welcoming, friendly and great hosts. Well done Lanscombes House. We guarantee we'll be back soon!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fab. Make sure you take a walk to one of the local pubs and take in the beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed Mon-Fri in Aug 2011 in one of the 2-bedroomed cottages. A huge advantage of these cottages is that they have gardens that back onto open countryside with no other properties insight. So very relaxing in the evening sitting out there just hearing the cows munching the grass in the field at the end of the garden.

The cottage was clean and well-equipped. It was fairly easy to find but did have a very narrow lane for the last 2 minutes drive.

The surrounding towns of Bridport, West Bay, Lyme Regis, Weymouth are all good for visiting when holidaying there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lou181818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lancombes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancombes House

Address: Lancombes House Lancombes House, West Milton, Bridport DT6 3TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > West Milton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in West Milton
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancombes House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star (Visit Britain) Self Catering Holiday Cottages nestled in the beautiful hills of West Dorset. The 4 cottages sleep 4 – 12 people each and are part of a 200 year old converted barn and farm buildings. Clean and comfortable cottages, recently refurbished. All cottages are fully equipped (except for towels) and include wood burners, free access to the games room, private BBQ-ing areas, laundry facilities and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing