We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place for group, family or individual breaks and holidays”
Review of Lancombes House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lancombes House
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place for group, family or individual breaks and holidays”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We have stayed here on two occasions, once with a large group of friends and the second time with family for my father's 70th birthday. Sue and Ade are the perfect hosts and run a truly special self catering complex. The accomodation is clean, bright and welcoming - a home from home. The location is quiet and you would not think you were so close to Bridport and the wonderful beaches of the Jurassic Coast. There are some good pubs nearby that provide good food - the Marquis of Lorne bing one of them. This is a perfect place to stay any time of the year.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cymruwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We have been holidaying at Lancombes House since 2006. We always have a wonderful time and feel very welcome by Adrian and Sue. The attention to detail, cleanliness and care which goes into making sure you have a lovely time is superb. Looking out to the rolling hills and fields is so relaxing. There are wonderful walks and cycle routes close by. Our children (and adults) enjoy the use of the facilities, and the friendly atmosphere amongst the guests every time we go, is great. Our dog enjoys the long walks and the peaceful surroundings as well and is most welcome. I simply cannot recommend Lancombes House highly enough and can't wait to return next month. It is our UK holiday destination of choice and I am quite sure will be for many years to come.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy_Neil12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Lancombes House is a wonderful place to spend time whilst in Dorset. The location is quiet, relaxed, friendly and welcoming and even though it's away from any noise pollution it's also near enough to Bridport for shopping and within an acceptable ditance from Lyme Regis for some seaside fun. There is a beach near to the location which is clean and trouble-free and you wont be bothered by passing traffic or noisy neighbours. The owners are friendly and welcoming and the place is maintained to a high standard. Wherther you're a couple or a large group there is accomodation to suit you with a full kitchen and facilities in every cottage. My visit was with a large group and we all thouroughly enjoyed our time there, we had lots to do with the games room providing a friendly competition evening and shopping or beach time for whoever wanted to go or just sitting on the patio enjoting the weather was fine for me. I totally recommend this venue and have even said I would happily purchase the place if I was blessed with a lotto win to do so.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Both properties were of an extremely high standard, plenty of room for large groups, newly decorated, very clean and in a lovely quiet setting in the countryside. Also the games barn was a definite added bonus with large pool table and darts. I would fully recommend to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0000Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Excellent Accommodation set in an idyllic location. This is an ideal basecamp for all things Dorset, be it just for a weekend getaway or something more.
We stayed in 'The Farmhouse' cottage, which has 6 bedrooms and sleeps 12. The accommodation is clean and perfectly well equipped for all your self-catering needs and all the rooms are bright and welcoming, especially the bedrooms after a long day sightseeing. It has a home from home feeling with an open fireplace for those chilly evenings. Highly recommended accommodation for families or large groups. Many thanks to Sue and Ade who were most welcoming to our group. JA.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Had a brilliant time here. Really lovely owners and a brilliant location if you want a place that can accommodate a large group of friends or family in a place where you can treat it as if it were your own. I was in a room in the roof of the building and had a great view out and was able to watch swifts fly around the windows.

Excellent views and easy access to the local sights including the Jurassic coast.

Great fun was had by all and especially enjoyed the games room after a few drinks.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelwhenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Lancombes House is the perfect getaway, I stayed with about 20 friends and it was lovely, the cottages, the location, the owners, all made the stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchangelMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lancombes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancombes House

Property: Lancombes House
Address: Lancombes House Lancombes House, West Milton, Bridport DT6 3TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > West Milton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in West Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancombes House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star (Visit Britain) Self Catering Holiday Cottages nestled in the beautiful hills of West Dorset. The 4 cottages sleep 4 – 12 people each and are part of a 200 year old converted barn and farm buildings. Clean and comfortable cottages, recently refurbished. All cottages are fully equipped (except for towels) and include wood burners, free access to the games room, private BBQ-ing areas, laundry facilities and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing