We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a bad experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stainforth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craven Heifer, Stainforth
Ranked #2 of 2 Stainforth B&B and Inns
Hellifield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a bad experience.”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

well like I said in my title it was a very bad experience, the owner/ landlord was very rude to his customers and even his staffs. the barmaid seemed lazy and not very friendly. the chef seemed ok when he came out and the waitress was very polite. the food was ok but we have had better. the pub seemed to have gone to the dogs it was scruffy and filthy and had a bad smell, it also looked as though it hadn't been cleaned or hoovered in weeks, it didnt help that the owners dog was wandering around the pub when people were eating and it was sat at the bar. the walkway to the ladies toilets and beer garden and the walkway into the bar was full of big thick horrible cobwebs, so if this was the state of downstairs we dread to think what it would be like up stairs in the hotel part. we was very wary to even eat here especially as our two children were with us, because of the attitude of the barmaid and the owner and the disastrous state of the pub.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    36
    16
    9
    34
See reviews for
41
49
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

For a one night stop for blokes who are hill walking it's passable but others should maybe think again. Much like it's sister pub the Station Inn at Ribblehead, it's a pub with a few basic rooms plus some bunk house rooms. Only recently been taken over by the young friendly landlord/ chef - it's a bit scruffy and in need of a makeover. The beer is good and the food is solid fare and you get what you pay for. Don't set your expectations too high and you won't be too disappointed. I hope the landlord does well he's a friendly guy and as an ideal night's stopover on the Dales High Way he should get some business.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

this place is run down and therefore overpriced. The rooms and bathrooms were basic and not clean but the bedding and the towels were. the evening meal was reasonable pub grub but we had a forty minute wait for toast at breakfast! The breakfast was poor overall. no hair dryer in the room sorry no hair dyer in the pub as it had been stolen and not replaced!! The outside needs a paint, bench outside was broken, cig butts, cans and weeds need removing. Generally appears unloved. We liked Jasper the dog in the bar. We didn't hate our stay but wouldn't return unless problems were sorted.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Early B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stainforth hotels

Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Went Here for a meal with my girlfriend in june as a reward for a hard afternoon of tent erecting. We were staying at Knights Stainforth campsite and this Pub/Hotel is well within walking distance situated in the picturesque village of Stainforth.

The Pub is a little dated, but in some ways this adds to the charm of the place. Its nice to see that there are still the traditional dales pubs around.

The Lad on the bar was very pleasant and forth coming, and made us both feel exceptionally welcome. My girlfriend ordered a large wine and had it served in the biggest wine glass I'd ever seen outside of a joke shop, made us laugh loads.

We both ordered the 'Heifer' burger and chips and when it arrived, OMG, it was as big as a Heifer! It all tasted fantastic and the chef even came over to see if our meal was okay which was a nice touch.

The prices were fantastic, and very reasonable. I would definitley recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damo1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is an interesting place to stay. Rather run down and in need of some tlc, 60's style, but good location, lots of character, interesting bar with pumps running dry but with helpful and friendly chef. We stopped here whilst walking the Dales High Way, and found it ok but a little overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyewalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Having never reviewed anything before I felt I had to with this pub. The Barmaid was the most miserable Person I have ever encountered and the apparent Manager looked like he had not had a wash or a shave for a week. As people have said it is a Local pub but I would expect even the Locals would like cleanliness and service with a smile. The food was ok! but we are so glad we never stayed here. I would not recomend this hovel.

Room Tip: If you go take the manager some shower gel and a vaccum for the floor!!! Be warned
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

recently stayed for one night. when arived was greeted at the bar by the landlord, a very charming man, who promptly showed me to my room, a double ensuite. a very nice room, clean and tidy and smelt very fresh. crisp clean bed linen. and a selection of towels folded at the foot of the bed, very nicely done. one of the best pints of beer ive had in a good while, infact theve won an award for their quality of their beer!! the decor was very rustic and charming, to many pubs these days go for the weatherspoons look. well im glad to say this pub hasnt. for my dinner i orderd the ribeye mid rare. im a very hard man to please when it comes to steak, but the chef did a fantastic job, one of the best steaks ive had. fantastic nights sleep, and a very nice full breakfast to follow.
all in all a fantastic pub with fantastic food and staff. would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stainforth
2.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
4.9 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly House
Holly House
#1 of 2 in Stainforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craven Heifer, Stainforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craven Heifer, Stainforth

Property: Craven Heifer, Stainforth
Address: Main Road, Stainforth, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD24 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Stainforth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stainforth
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Craven Heifer is a traditional Yorkshire Inn. Roaring log fires, real ales, fantastic pub food and quality en-suite accommodation. Situated in the picturesque Yorkshire Dales village of Stainforth; 3 miles from the bustling market town of Settle and approximately the same distance to the start of the Yorkshire 3 Peaks walk. We offer you a fully refurbished inn. All of our rooms and all of the bar and restaurant areas have been fully refurbished in 2014, giving you a comfy and relaxed environment to enjoy the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing