We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, no frills”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stainforth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craven Heifer, Stainforth
Ranked #2 of 2 Stainforth B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good service, no frills”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We ate here one night while camping at the nearby Knight Stainforth campsite.
I'd read the mixed reviews on here but got chatting to some locals during the day who assured us that the pub is now under new management and things have improved.

The pub itself is nothing special but there is certainly nothing wrong with it. The outside seating area is nice right next to the stream.
The staff were extremely friendly and attentive, despite being obviously rushed off their feet. After ordering we waited probably about half an hour for our food, but we weren't in a rush so it wasn't really an issue.
There was no kids menu, just select something off the main menu and they do a child size portion, which is much better than the kids menu most pubs seem to do where you get a choice of various processed foods with chips.
My husband and I selected 2 of the home made pies (game pie, and steak and stilton pie). They were both very tasty and the portions were large, although someone could do with giving the chef a lesson in pastry making- the crust tasted ok but it was the strangest textured pastry I've ever had! We also thoroughly enjoyed the "proper" chips.

Would we go back? If we were in the area, yes. It's nothing fancy or special but was a good hearty meal which was very welcome after a long walk...along with a couple of pints of course!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillydaydream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    37
    17
    10
    38
See reviews for
44
53
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Whilst on a walking holiday across the Pennines, we rang ahead to make sure our pre-booked sleep over was ok. We were greeted with "we've gone bancrupt and the manager has walked out leaving lots of bills owing; but we will honour your booking." It turned out that the barmaid and chef, along with others from the village, were doing their best to keep the pub open, despite the gas being turned off, and only one beer on tap. They were only too glad to see the back of the manager, who had managed in his short time there to alienate most of the regulars; but he was only the latest in a sucession of useless managers foisted on them by a lacsidasical Brewery. Well, they looked after us very well, the room was clean, beds comfortable, and we ate and drank to our satisfaction. I hope they succeed in keeping the pub going, and get the decent tenant that they deserve.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard54_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

A few of us called in whilst staying in Settle recently. We really wished we hadn't.
Poor & expensive beer. Indifferent attitude. We wanted to eat but took the same attitude as the 'management' so left hungry and dined later nearer our accommodation. Pity the locals.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HectorsHouseCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stainforth hotels

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Three days before we were booked in to Craven Heifer we were warned that the landlord had gone AWOL and that a team of four including a chef had been shipped in at short notice to try and sort the place out before the bank holiday weekend. We understand that two of those days were spent just cleaning through the place! Under the difficult circumstances they were doing a great job and they remained cheerful and enthusiastic throughout our stay. The chef, as far as we are aware the only one with catering experience,was having to cope with an unfamiliar kitchen and food which she had been left with. The team are there for six weeks before a new landlord arrives and they can go back to their day jobs. Congratulations to them all.

Room Tip: The bedrooms are clean and comfortable but the accessories are basic rather than luxurious. Not all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Recent reviews for this hotel have been, frankly awful. But the landlord left last week and it is now being run by two local lads.
We stayed two nights over the last bank holiday weekend with my elderly parents for a family party down the road. The new landlords were literally two days into turning it around and doing a sterling job. The decore is tired but it is clean and amazingly friendly. The food is good - they came up with 10 extra breakfasts at short notice on the Monday morning for the rest of the family who pitched up - and we had a good supper on the Friday evening when we arrived.
It is in a perfect location for walking or cycling the Dales - we will definitely go back and take our walking friends with us this time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have been to the craven heifer many times and always look forward to having a meal there when we are camping nearby. However, after our experience this weekend I doubt we will go back. They would appear to be under new management and do not have a clue! We called in for a drink at about 4pm and witnessed the staff having a discussion/argument about what they would put on their menu for that evening as they did not have many provisions. Bear in mind this was a very sunny bank holiday with a full campsite nearby. Did not bode well, but we decided to come back later for food anyway. Very limited choice and they had run out of a lot of beer. It took ages for the food to arrive but we were entertained by watching a poor barmaid trying to run the bar alone. The food was ok, but the dessert menu was non existent.! They had clearly forgotten that in their earlier public discussions! Anyway, on sunday evening we decided to go again and ordered sandwiches and chips. Big mistake! They took almost an hour and a half to arrive and during the wait we were told that there would be a delay because they don't normally do sandwiches on Sundays! But they were clearly written on the menu board! The ham sandwich was half filled with fat, very offputting and the chips didn't arrive until we had almost finished our sandwiches. While we were there we witnessed one family sending their meals back because they were cold and another couple sent back one meal because it was not what he ordered and was cold, and another meal because the chicken was uncooked! The tables were al dirty from previous occupants and at one point two tables in a small area were occupied by two small children (belonging to the staff I think) throwing cushions and pens around. Hardly a relaxing atmosphere.
I have to say that the lovely barmaid who was left alone to cope with all this on her first night did a tremendous job and could not apologise enough for everything, and we were eventually given a free drink to make up for the terrible service, but it was not a good experience!
Craven heifer you have always had such a good reputation but you spoiled it this weekend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Pentwynmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights as we were attending a wedding at the Taitlands which is a five min walk. The pub & hotel rooms are a little tired however we had a great stay. The staff were super friendly and extremely helpful, the bedding and towels were spotless and breakfast was lovely both mornings. It is a perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThurlstoneCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stainforth
4.9 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
534 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
493 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
591 reviews
2.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly House
Holly House
#1 of 2 in Stainforth
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craven Heifer, Stainforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craven Heifer, Stainforth

Property: Craven Heifer, Stainforth
Address: Main Road, Stainforth, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD24 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Stainforth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stainforth
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Craven Heifer is a traditional Yorkshire Inn. Roaring log fires, real ales, fantastic pub food and quality en-suite accommodation. Situated in the picturesque Yorkshire Dales village of Stainforth; 3 miles from the bustling market town of Settle and approximately the same distance to the start of the Yorkshire 3 Peaks walk. We offer you a fully refurbished inn. All of our rooms and all of the bar and restaurant areas have been fully refurbished in 2014, giving you a comfy and relaxed environment to enjoy the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing