We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stainforth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craven Heifer, Stainforth
Ranked #2 of 2 Stainforth B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The new licenses Andrew and Maureen have totally revamped this pub. Food is brilliant. We live here so accomotion not option but believe it very good. Get there quick otherwise you will miss out. You will not be disappointed.i


.






Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    36
    16
    9
    34
See reviews for
41
49
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The camping and caravan season has recommenced. Andy and Maureen have worked really hard to completely renovate the whole premises..... but retained its 'Yorkshire Village Pub' atmosphere which is much appreciated by the local residents and 'city dwellers' who seek traditional food and ales in a proper pub, not a plastic palace.
The Chef is in charge of the totally renovated kitchen and produces fresh home cooked food that is simply gorgeous....... the steak is to die for whilst the 'beer battered' fish is both filling and tasty. The portions are very generous and value for money. The restaurant is now open for the first time in years giving customers a choice of eating in the bar area or restaurant.
Members of CAMRA recently visited the pub and highly praised the quality of Andy's ales which are stored in a traditional stone cellar.
This is a clean, well presented traditional pub with excellent food and accomodation and no gimmicks to attract customers..... just a warm welcome from the staff and locals.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilA112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We stopped off for a pint following a really good walk at Mallham. The place was a proper country pub with a roaring fire and an even warmer welcome. Both the building and the landlady were full of character. Wish you both every success. We'll see you again soon.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LaineyBird42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

So very pleased that the Craven has re opened. Andy & Maureen make you feel very welcome. Maureen made us a plate of sandwiches which was very kind indeed as the kitchen has not re-opened. We will be visiting the pub every weekend whilst we are at our caravan at Knight Stainforth caravan park.

Thank you

Colin & Joanne

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QUIRKY68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stopped here for a drink en route along the Ribble Way and were given a very warm welcome by the new landlord and his wife. Great pint of ale and helpful local information to help us on our walk. They have great plans for improving the pub and have obviously worked hard to open only 2 weeks after moving in. We wish them well in their new venture in a wonderful part of the country and in a village where the pub is definitely the heart of the community.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FSW29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The previous landlord 'departed' from the pub in May. Temporary staff kept it going until July but it has been closed until a couple of weeks ago whilst Thwaites sorted out the legal complications. Andrew and Maureen have now moved in and are serving only drinks until after the kitchen has been replaced and all the guest bedrooms have been renovated. The pub is warm and clean, and mine hosts are welcoming.Many of the locals, and caravanners from the nearby sites have renewed their acquaintance with the Craven, and enjoyed the experience. Andrew and Maureen want the Craven Heifer to remain a typical Yorkshire village pub, not a plastic palace. Let us hope the brewery cracks on with the renovations so they can perform a full service for all their guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilA112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribble valley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Came across the pub after we had been walking round stainforth area and watching the salmon leaping,heading back up stream to spawn. As we approached the pub there was the welcoming sight of smoke from the chimney,on entering the pub there was a beautiful,roaring open fire.the new managers were extremely welcoming,they have only been there a couple of weeks and have relocated from Hampshire. The landlady explained at the moment there is no food being served but she would make us a sandwich if we needed something after walking,which we all thought was lovely,not many people go that extra mile! Hopefully in a couple of weeks the kitchens will be in full working order. We will definitely return. Give it a try.wishing the new people all the best in their venture,im sure they will suceed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stainforth
2.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
4.9 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly House
Holly House
#1 of 2 in Stainforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craven Heifer, Stainforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craven Heifer, Stainforth

Property: Craven Heifer, Stainforth
Address: Main Road, Stainforth, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD24 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Stainforth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stainforth
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Craven Heifer is a traditional Yorkshire Inn. Roaring log fires, real ales, fantastic pub food and quality en-suite accommodation. Situated in the picturesque Yorkshire Dales village of Stainforth; 3 miles from the bustling market town of Settle and approximately the same distance to the start of the Yorkshire 3 Peaks walk. We offer you a fully refurbished inn. All of our rooms and all of the bar and restaurant areas have been fully refurbished in 2014, giving you a comfy and relaxed environment to enjoy the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing