We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stainforth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craven Heifer, Stainforth
Ranked #2 of 2 Stainforth B&B and Inns
True Brit
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real gem.”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This pub has recently been refurbished and Andy and Maureen have done a sterling job. We were their first guests in the newly renovated rooms and what a treat. The decor is tasteful and of a high standard. The beds are sumptuously comfortable and the bedding of real quality.
Our hosts bent over backwards to make us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough to help us and our family. The food was great too.

The landlords have completely turned round the fortunes of this lovely country pub and deserve to do well in the future. This place is ideally placed for a lovely weekend in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside or for a wedding at the nearby Taitlands.

A wonderful place. We will definitely be looking for an excuse to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshinebrit18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    36
    17
    10
    38
See reviews for
43
52
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Visited for first time in 12 months as last time we visited it was awful. There are new owners who took over in October 2013. What a transfomation. It is now a welcoming pub with roaring log fires, a friendly atmosphere and we ate on the first weekend they did food and were very pleased with what we got. I wish the new owners every success and I am sure if they keep up these standards they will be swamped with people staying and eating here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

After years of neglect this pub has truly been transformed. Andy and Maureen have worked so hard to get this pub up to the standard it deserves. All the bedrooms have been transformed and they look gorgeous. The pub is immaculate and the steak was the best that I have eaten for a long time. We were told that there would be at least half an hour wait for food as it is all home cooked "it was worth the short wait". My husband had the steak pie with short crust pastry and he could not finish it.
In the hallway there are towels to dry muddy dogs which was a very nice thought. Andy and Maureen are a lovely couple and we wish them all the luck in their new venture as they both deserve it.
Thanks to the chef also who made me a bread and butter pudding with cream which was to die for.
Cant wait till next weekend so I don't have to cook and enjoy the atmosphere of this traditional Yorkshire pub.

Joanne and Colin

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QUIRKY68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The new licenses Andrew and Maureen have totally revamped this pub. Food is brilliant. We live here so accomotion not option but believe it very good. Get there quick otherwise you will miss out. You will not be disappointed.i


.






Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The camping and caravan season has recommenced. Andy and Maureen have worked really hard to completely renovate the whole premises..... but retained its 'Yorkshire Village Pub' atmosphere which is much appreciated by the local residents and 'city dwellers' who seek traditional food and ales in a proper pub, not a plastic palace.
The Chef is in charge of the totally renovated kitchen and produces fresh home cooked food that is simply gorgeous....... the steak is to die for whilst the 'beer battered' fish is both filling and tasty. The portions are very generous and value for money. The restaurant is now open for the first time in years giving customers a choice of eating in the bar area or restaurant.
Members of CAMRA recently visited the pub and highly praised the quality of Andy's ales which are stored in a traditional stone cellar.
This is a clean, well presented traditional pub with excellent food and accomodation and no gimmicks to attract customers..... just a warm welcome from the staff and locals.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilA112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We stopped off for a pint following a really good walk at Mallham. The place was a proper country pub with a roaring fire and an even warmer welcome. Both the building and the landlady were full of character. Wish you both every success. We'll see you again soon.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LaineyBird42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

So very pleased that the Craven has re opened. Andy & Maureen make you feel very welcome. Maureen made us a plate of sandwiches which was very kind indeed as the kitchen has not re-opened. We will be visiting the pub every weekend whilst we are at our caravan at Knight Stainforth caravan park.

Thank you

Colin & Joanne

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QUIRKY68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stainforth
2.3 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
487 reviews
2.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
330 reviews
4.9 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
305 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly House
Holly House
#1 of 2 in Stainforth
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craven Heifer, Stainforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craven Heifer, Stainforth

Property: Craven Heifer, Stainforth
Address: Main Road, Stainforth, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD24 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Stainforth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stainforth
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Craven Heifer is a traditional Yorkshire Inn. Roaring log fires, real ales, fantastic pub food and quality en-suite accommodation. Situated in the picturesque Yorkshire Dales village of Stainforth; 3 miles from the bustling market town of Settle and approximately the same distance to the start of the Yorkshire 3 Peaks walk. We offer you a fully refurbished inn. All of our rooms and all of the bar and restaurant areas have been fully refurbished in 2014, giving you a comfy and relaxed environment to enjoy the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing