We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food ”
Review of Craven Heifer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Craven Heifer
Ranked #2 of 2 Stainforth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Do not pass this little village without popping into this pup. A great menu at only £8/£9 a plate and the specials are amazing more like a two rosette establishment than a pup and at around £10/£12 a plate it's real value for money . The best cask thwaites you will ever taste. Kid and dog friendly roaring fires in the bar and for the kids in the summer a beck to paddle in. Disregard all reviews before oct 2013 this place cannot be missed

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank davidharveymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here April 14 with my son, nephew and another friend. Alan and Maureen are really friendly and determined to make a success of this refurbished pub in the dales.

The rooms are beautiful and comfy, just what we needed after doing the 3 peaks in atrocious conditions. The beer was in excellent condition. 4 real ales, all on top form and clearly well looked after.

The food was just excellent. The lamb, the steak, the chicken and mushroom pie, and the huge home made pizzas were at the top end of pub grub at very reasonable prices.

Alan and Maureen were excellent hosts, with Alan actually going the extra mile in helping me to find a static caravan in the area. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank briancathybarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

After a 25 mile gruelling slog over the three peaks this was the perfect end to a tough day. Recently refurbished, the food was great, the room spotless and my bed was the most comfy bed ever. Great selection of real ales on offer from more than friendly landlord. Without doubt I'll stay again and will recommend to anyone. Five star.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This is now a lovely pub with new landlords, nice atmosphere and excellent food. Please ignore the old reviews.
We moved to the village recently and are in the happy position of having The Craven Heifer as our local. We couldn't ask for better and always take family and friends who visit for lunch. We haven't been disappointed yet.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank Cathhrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Staying in a cottage in the village with family and dropped in to the pub for a bite to eat. Atmosphere good with welcoming open fires. Food excellent - genuinely one of the best pub meals I have had in a long time. Not a crumb left on anyone's plate. Also one of the best pints of Thwaite's Wainwright beer- landlord clearly knows how to manage the bar. Mixture of local residents and visitors to the area so always plenty of opportunity to chat. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We had a perfect Sunday lunch. Also inspected the rooms which are as looked as good as any boutique hotel. Andy and Maureen clearly keen to make this a great place to stay and eat. Would recommend without hesitation

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vivienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

'Stephen H' (previous reviewer) has given an accurate picture of the pub we found this past week. It was our first stay in a Stainforth self-catering cottage (shared with relatives) - although we had visited the village a few times during walks. We had never ventured into the pub before because it had never looked welcoming - well, it is a different story now! We had been following the pub's progress online (one way or another) because we knew we had booked the cottage.

We were hoping for a lovely Stainforth 'local' and weren't disappointed. The landlady is very friendly. We can only speak for the food and drink .... both were great. Four of us enjoyed the Giant Yorkshire Pudding, with sausages/mash/onion gravy (x 2); Gammon & Chips; and Steak & Kidney Pie. All were delicious. Speaking for myself, there were three large, meaty sausages and I just couldn't finish the last one. Many products are sourced locally.

The pub had been shut for four months but is now all nicely renovated and hasn't been up and running again for long - we wish the tenants all the luck in the world, as they work hard to re-establish the pub. The village & villagers deserve a decent local.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stainforth
2.9 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
331 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
517 reviews
2.7 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
617 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
287 reviews
3.4 mi away
Game Cock Inn
Game Cock Inn
#1 of 6 in Austwick
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craven Heifer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craven Heifer

Address: Main Road, Stainforth, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Stainforth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stainforth
Price Range: £66 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craven Heifer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management ! On the door step of the three peaks, set in the historic and picturesque village of Stainforth inside the Yorkshire Dales National Park, the Craven Heifer Hotel offers 7 en suite letting rooms with flat-screen TVs as well as tea and coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi in public areas. A hearty English breakfast menu is provided in the morning. All toiletries and cleanings products are Vegetarian, Cruelty Free and in biodegradable packaging. The spacious restaurant serves quality home made food daily, much from local ethical sources. A selection of permanent and guest Thwaites Ales are available along with a specially selected Wine & Gin Menu. With three real fires, covered beer garden with flowing stream feeding into the River Ribble, you are guaranteed to be in the heart of many scenic walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Craven Heifer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing