We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walkers Heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stainforth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craven Heifer, Stainforth
Ranked #2 of 2 Stainforth B&B and Inns
Priors Marston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Walkers Heaven”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Been to this pub several times over the years but had not been back for some time and having decided I needed a quick break at short notice thought I would try it again
Delighted that I did the new landlord and landlady refurbished all the rooms to an excellent standard, food was plentiful and excellent but the relaxed and friendly atmosphere they have created is excellent. On top of that the beer is pretty good too
Really enjoyed my very short break and wished it could have been longer but there is no question I will be back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphPriorsMarston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    35
    16
    9
    33
See reviews for
38
48
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Excellent food. Absolutely, everything anybody could wish for in country pub. This little gem of a place can only be up there with the finest of typical country hospitality expected within the Yorkshire Sales. The rooms have just recently been refurbished to the highest standard. Considering Andrew an Maureen have been there 6months they have gutted the bear bones of the place and pain staking put it back together again. The locals were welcoming. Plenty of room outside in the beer garden overlooking the river. The food was ultimately the best within the area. All this provided by the effectiveness of all staff. Hats off to you, carry the good work.

Room Tip: Any, all have en-suits interior design. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights while attending a wedding at nearby Taitlands. Perfect location for this; only 5-10 minute walk from the venue so if you are a wedding guest, you can't get closer. Parking is provided which was great for our rental car.

Lovely cosy rooms, comfy and clean. Beautiful stained glass windows are a definite feature. The room and en suite were small but perfect for what we needed. Plenty of tea/coffee and fresh milk provided.

Had both dinner and breakfast there and both were sizeable and delicious. You get big portions and it is great value. Everything is cooked to order and the staff are so obliging.. As bridesmaid I had to leave early the morning of the wedding but they ensured I was fed even though this meant rushing them outside of standard breakfast hours... Much appreciated!

The hosts were wonderful; even staying up to rescue two lost wedding guests that were found in lashing rain in a phone box down the road.

As the bathroom was quite small, I think the room could definitely benefit from hooks on the back of the door to hang towels to make better use of the space. There was also no bin in the bathroom but these are tiny things. It was perfect for the event and great value. Definitely recommended!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jenniferskane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed at the Craven Heifer for a weekend as I was climbing the three peaks (about a half an hour drive from the hotel). I was really happy with my room (14), although a single occupant I was given a family room so I had lots of space. The bathroom was a good size, clean and with a lovely hot shower. Plenty of tea and coffee available. Bed was very comfortable also. I dined in the hotel both nights and the food was delicious, the portion sizes are huge and you definitely get what you pay for, and then some. The staff are all friendly and efficient, the service was very quick even when the restaurant was busy. The hotel is a five minute taxi ride to skipton centre and the train station, and it only costs £5. Overall I'd definitely recommend this hotel, and I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our family enjoyed a tasty dinner here on Monday night; fish & chips, jacket potato and Chili con carne. The interior was ok but the atmosphere was sadly very lacking with the staff efficient but not overly welcoming when we initially entered the pub. We had hoped to eat here twice as it's so local to where we are staying but we will be looking for something more warm and inviting for the money instead.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJM718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

In the middle of June we did the Yorkshire 3 peaks and stayed a couple of nights in this quaint pub.

The Accommodation:
Recently refurbished, lots of room, comfy beds, quite location - all in all very good!

The Food:
We was certainly setup for the day, hiking the 3 peaks, after their full English breakfast, everything you can imagine on one plate! We also had dinner there and this was also nice!

The Service:
Welcoming and humorous! They couldn't of been more accommodating and really did everything they could to make us feel welcome!

Enjoyed getting to know the landlord (what a character) and found out the they had recently taken on the pub and undergone a large refurbishment, meaning most of the reviews on here are obsolete!

Enjoy your stay! I certainly did!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshirelad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived a party of 17 for Sunday tea.
The lady came out explained that the chef had walked out and could we bare with her.

We ordered the large order and waited. It was a while coming due to the afore mentioned missing chef but when the food came out it was lovely and hot and tasty.
Well done for providing that dinner under pressure!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Yarmy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stainforth
2.3 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
453 reviews
2.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
300 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
280 reviews
4.9 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly House
Holly House
#1 of 2 in Stainforth
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craven Heifer, Stainforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craven Heifer, Stainforth

Property: Craven Heifer, Stainforth
Address: Main Road, Stainforth, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD24 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Stainforth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stainforth
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Craven Heifer is a traditional Yorkshire Inn. Roaring log fires, real ales, fantastic pub food and quality en-suite accommodation. Situated in the picturesque Yorkshire Dales village of Stainforth; 3 miles from the bustling market town of Settle and approximately the same distance to the start of the Yorkshire 3 Peaks walk. We offer you a fully refurbished inn. All of our rooms and all of the bar and restaurant areas have been fully refurbished in 2014, giving you a comfy and relaxed environment to enjoy the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing