We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for quick trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hatari Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hatari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Engelskirchen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for quick trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We only wanted to get away on a short break but what a gettaway it was!
Stunning location, great rooms with loads of attention to detail and uncountable tlc put into it. Great food, company and hosts. Sundowners on the new jetty going out to the water hole with loads of buffalo not more than 20 metres away. What else can you want?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    26
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
30
66
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The bedrooms and bathrooms are beautifully presented. Meals were delicious and varied - 3 meals a day. Before breakfast, you will be served a friendly cup of coffee or tea in your bedroom! If you choose, Peter can take you out on a game drive. He has a passion for birds and is very knowledgeable on this subject. The location is exquisite - between Mt Meru in the west and Kilimanjaro in the east. There are fireplaces in each room and a fire is made for you while you are eating dinner. When you return to your room, there is a warm fire and a hot water bottle waiting for you in your bed! You can sit outside and watch the giraffe and buffalo or relax inside. Or, do some yoga watching the light change on Mt Kilimanjaro. It's very well organised and everything runs punctually. Very good value for money and highly recommended.(It is equipped with European plugs, not British, so bring an adapter if needed).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dyan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muralto, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

If you like a nice view and you will to be close on the entrance of Arusha National Park, that's the only advantage you have to come here.
Have been two times in 3 years in this place: always a terrible management! That's the only place in Tanzania in wich you don't feel at home.
The Managers look and treat you with such a annoying attitude. Managers where very unfrendly with local guides too.
The Managers impose you to eat all togheter in a big table, to remember safary experience: ridiculous!!
Food is bad and Rooms are Poor.
But the owner, who choose bad managers, can always be happy to own a nice location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lufra64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HatariShumata, Inhaber at Hatari Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Luca, I am the owner of the Hatari Lodge and shocked to read about the latest review. Why would somebody return back to a place in such a short time only to complain? and when he/she did not like it in the 1st place? this does not make any sense.
You might not agree and connect with our Management most properly due to miscommunication and less sensitivity towards birders which of course is not our intension however very much a personal view and choice and should not be overrated. Our food, our service, our rooms and our activities have always receive 80 to 100% and therefore I do not feel that your review after a 24 hour stay is genuine. All of our guests have a choice to join the long dinner table and are being asked about their preferences during our welcome and briefing. It isn't and should not be a show but rather a very social gesture to share know how and life experiences. It should be enriching rather than insulting. Your review is a personal attack both towards our management and towards us, the owners. We did create a home far way from home and do welcome our guests with open arms, comfort and excellent service as thats for what we stand for. It does not come easy and the focus is definitely not on having a beautiful spot with great views on to both mountains but rather in empowering the local community and protecting what is left of this great spot. I am sorry that you feel that our atmosphere is not homely and welcoming. All in all I feel its a very personal review and would like you to reconsider your statement. Do come and knock on our door on your 3rd visit back to Tanzania and let us cater for your dietaries accordingly and in time as we are very trained to cater for lactose and gluten intolerances as well as for vegans and vegetarians. Solely because us the owners do suffer rom all these intolerances and therefore I really dont understand what went wrong with your dietary requirements. What was wrong with your room? too crowded as we converted it to a triple room? Room No. 1 should never be converted to a triple room and yes this is clearly a mistake on our behalf. You did not enjoy our activities with our local guides and therefore your comment is not in place? your booking included accommodation & meals only and you enjoyed your activities with your local tour company. Please do correct me if I am wrong and do give Hatari a 3rd chance when back in our country as personally I believe your experiences are quiet personal and therefore no need to damage our reputation. Karibuni sana and best wishes, Marlies & Jörg Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moshi, Tanzania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We just came back from a weekend away at Hatari lodge. We loved it. The rooms were beautiful, very retro and funky and exceptionally comfortable. The food was sensational, the atmosphere welcoming and relaxing and the views were amazing. We loved seeing the Giraffe in the garden (our two 3 year old children were delighted and are still talking about it even 2 weeks later). This is a great place with a wonderful attention to detail.

Thank you to the whole team.

Room Tip: Every rooms seems to be different each with their own attractions, if you can ask for the rooms unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyBadgerLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

My 3-year old daughter and I stayed at the Hatari Lodge for two nights and had a lovely time. The decor was stunning and perfect in every detail. Very original and tasteful. The food was excellent for all meals, and the surroundings beautiful especially when the giraffes came by and we were lucky enough to get a clear morning with a breakfast view of Mt Kilimanjaro. While it appears more like a place to come as adults (for nice long drinks in the bar and uninterrupted dinners to enjoy the delicious food), the staff were all superb in making sure we felt welcome and at home makiing special efforts to accomodate my daughter for meals. The location so close to Arusha makes it an ideal place to go for a weekend away for those based or coming through there. We came in the warm season but looks like a perfect place to cuddle up in front of the fire place or the welcoming reading room with lots of coffee table books during colder months.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nairobizebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

I just wanted to stay that I haven't had the opportunity to stay at this lodge yet but my interactions with Georgina have been fantastic!! It's been so difficult to try and figure out where to stay and what to do and georgina has been very courteous and timely in returning emails something that i have found rare in looking for information in Tanzania!
I hope everything works out and we can spend time at hatari next month!!
Thanks Georgina!!
Alicia

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

October 12, 2012 stayed overnight in Hatari Lodge, which is an amazing place. A John Wayne film - Hatari was filmed there. Official website - http://www.hatarilodge.com
Our room was #9. Place is very popular with tourist from Germany. Food was good. Dinning place is a beautiful room with fireplace. Staff was courteous. Animals - warthogs and giraffes walking freely across the property. Our only complaint was that in the evening room is too dark, bring your own reading light.
Here is short video I did for fun - http://youtu.be/oU6az8SEFYw
BKS.

Room Tip: Room # 9 facing the bush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeekeeperStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arusha National Park
0.0 mi away
Highview Hotel
Highview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Karatu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
343.9 mi away
Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#1 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Momella Wildlife Lodge
Momella Wildlife Lodge
#67 of 149 in Arusha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
20.6 mi away
Lake Natron Tented Camp
Lake Natron Tented Camp
#7 of 8 in Lake Natron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meru View Lodge
Meru View Lodge
#16 of 149 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatari Lodge

Property: Hatari Lodge
Address: Momella Rd | Momella village, Arusha National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arusha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatari Lodge is a legendary handmade bush hotel which use to be part of the setting for the famed Howard Hawks film 'Hatari'! featuring John Wayne, Hardy Krüger etc... Hatari Lodge is located in protected woodlands on the edge of a clearing called Momella meadow with views on Kilimanjaro. The area surrounding the lodge is adjacent to the vast and beautiful Arusha National Park in Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Hatari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatari Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing