We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“montys retreat ,O M G , pure relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Log House Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole Keynes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Log House Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“montys retreat ,O M G , pure relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

just returned today from a Monday to Friday at log house holidays ,stayed in montys retreat ,total privacy ,lovely hot tub on decking with views of the lake, this was our first time but will not be our last ,if you are looking for a romantic getaway then look no further ,This is it .also good for family celebrations if you book a larger cabin .total getaway from reality ,

Room Tip: book early to avoid dissapointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    7
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
78
83
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked in for the week and the cabin was cosy, clean, well equipped with a great log fire! The insulation was so good in the cabin that we were too hot most nights in December!
We rowed and used the kayaks on the lake and the sunsets at Montys were just fab! Every morning waking to that stunning view will be something that we will truly miss! Friends stayed with us on one night and they loved it too!
Only less than two hours away from home and you feel like you are a million miles away and the lack of internet was a bonus...away from all those emails!!
We will be recommending Log House Holidays to all friends and family and look forward already to returning!! Truly beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in Lake Springs, mon-fri at the end if October. What a treat!! An extremely well equipped log cabin, with modern kitchen and bathroom. Two reasonable sized bedrooms with beds made up to your request. A roomy sitting area complete with log fire, and a bonus that all logs are provided free of charge throughout the winter months.
Outside is a spacious decking with furniture and a traditional Finnish hot tub available to hire....this was bliss!! Watching the sunrise over the lake with a champagne breakfast in the hot tub - spectacular. We made use of this several times a day and it was great sitting in it under the stars too.
No cabin is overlooked and from the one we stayed in we couldn't even see another cabin. We loved the rowing boat that's provided and having a jetty with seats was great for relaxing just watching the birds and the fish jumping out of the water
We spent our days walking around the lake with our three dogs who loved the open green spaces

As an added bonus Tesco can deliver here so you've got food and drink awaiting your arrival and there's no need to leave during your stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rio1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bredbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Spent the week (Mon-Fri) at the Lake Springs lodge and we could not have asked for a more peaceful time. The surroundings were perfect to relax and unwind with great lake views and fish constantly jumping out of the water. The cabin was very comfortable with just 2 very small issues, 1 we had a slight radiator leak on the day we arrived which was fixed that day and the WiFi didn't work. The WiFi problem we were warned about before hand so this was not a surprise and in fact the lack of internet access added to the get away from it all experience. We will defiantly go there again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UKHazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I've been staying here on and off for years, long before it had as many cabins and got as popular as it is now. It's amazing, there is nothing like it anywhere else in the UK. The fact that Anthony has avoided making it too commercialised or cramming in too many cabins is a real bonus. You can literally barely see any of the other cabins from each one and I'm pretty sure that's intentional.

On a practical note, it's easy to get to (if you follow the instructions!), loads of parking, well equipped kitchens, comfy beds and cosy lounge. They even brought us an extra electric heater when we first arrived as the rooms were a bit chilly until we got the fire going! This is a great place to relax and unwind, but in case it matters - we got a good O2 phone signal and were able to use this to access the internet on our laptops by tethering, which meant we could keep in touch with the outside world as well.

I've only stayed here in the winter, as I think that's when you can really appreciate the log fire and the hot tub best - but am sure it's fab in summer as well. We love the Cotswolds, but find it hard to drag ourselves away from the cabin once we're settled in! The last time we stayed (in January 2013 - but I only just realised it was listed on here now) we were lucky enough to get not only a stunning 'hot tub sunrise' from Island Lodge but also snow on the last day - what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: The view of the winter sunrise from Island Lodge is perfect, so I would recommend this one for posit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend (Friday to Monday) with the family. We were at the Cotswold Water Park for a triathlon on the Sunday morning, but had plenty of time to enjoy the site too.

The site is huge considering there are only 7 lodges, and there is a walk around the outside of the lake and a big field for kids to play. It's a far cry from the amount of development on the other holiday home sites nearer to the visitor centre, where the lodges are much closer together. You truly feel you're absorbed into the countryside and it's just so quiet and relaxing, with all the lodges feeling very private.

The lodges are traditional Finnish log houses and really seem to blend well into the landscape. They're well laid out, being cosy but still with enough space so that you're not on top of each other. All have nice decking areas facing onto the water, plus a jetty with your own personal rowing boat to potter around on (our Labrador couldn't believe his luck when we arrived - see the pictures)! You can also hire a hot tub which gives you a fantastic spot to sit and enjoy the view - an amazing way to unwind when you've been out exploring/exercising all day.

We hired Island Lodge and Lake Springs. Both have their plus points - Lake Springs is slightly newer and the fittings are very smart, and there is a lovely open setting with a long view southwards from the top of the lake. Island lodge is slightly more rustic (although still to a good standard), but really cosy, the surrounding 'garden' area is nicely screened with mature trees and hedges and the east facing view gives some dramatic sunrises if you're up early enough.

We can't wait to go back - I can imagine that the log cabins would be fantastic when the cold hits and the log burners are going... and an outdoor hot tub in the winter would be a real experience. I just hope it doesn't get too popular so we can still get a booking!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTorps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent all round. Beautiful cabin in wonderful location. Private, quiet, relaxing. Montys retreat was our cabin, and south facing, so full sun all day. Swans visiting all day. Beautiful walk around the lake. Excellent - even our teenagers loved it. You can't beat that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole Keynes
4.0 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
8.3 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Schoolhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Log House Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Log House Holidays

Property: Log House Holidays
Address: Old Mill Farm Log House Holidays | Poole Keynes, Poole Keynes, Cirencester GL7 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester > Poole Keynes
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Poole Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for weekend breaks, mid--week escapes or full week getaways. Just eight traditional Finnish log houses with their own lakeside hot tubs and rowing boats are set on this private 130--acre Cotswold Nature Reserve that has been carefully landscaped for over 33 years. All of our luxury self-catering cabins have been thoughtfully positioned in complete seclusion from each other. Escape. Explore. Enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing