We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Brilliant Time @ Moondara”
Review of Log House Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole Keynes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Log House Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Hi All,

This was our second trip to "Moondara", 1st was May 2013, this time 24th-29th of February 2014.

We had a Brilliant time on both occasions celebrating our mates 50th Birthdays. We really can't fault the Cabin at all.

The location is perfect, with the lake and trees the best vista at anytime of day. The cabins are well spread out which is just as well when the Karokee fired up!

Hot Tub is a must whatever the weather and whatever the time, realxing with a glass of wine looking up and star watching, not something you'll do everyday!

I'd recommend to any group/family who want to get away and spend some quality time together.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

From the moment we arrived at Elsa Cabin, the magic and relaxation began. Just what you want to celebrate your 40th!! The cabin was very cosy and inviting with breath-taking views over the lake. The hot tub is an added bonus to what is, to us, an award winning luxury retreat. We spotted a family of otters who tend to frequent near this cabin due to the lengthy reeds near the bank. The cabin was fully equipped with every utensil possible. There was also a washing machine and dishwasher for your use. The bed was very large and comfortable and the log fire was the icing on the cake during the evenings. Anthony popped his head in one evening to check all was well, a really nice person who has clearly worked very hard to build this haven of tranquillity for lucky guests to enjoy. Lovely local pubs to dine in - couldn't fault the place. The 30-40min walk around the lake was gorgeous at varying times of the day. Our Jack Russell loved every minute. The boat was fun and we had an early morning row where their were plenty of photo opportunities!!

I did find 9am checkout a little early to be honest, but it wouldn't put me off returning very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank vicky186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I really want to say these cabins are rubbish and no one should book so I can have the availability to return when I want, but I can't Anthony and his family and his wonderful and I mean wonderful cabins make this the perfect place to get away from it all. If your after sky tv and Internet this is not the place for you but if you want to escape it is just perfect. The cabins are situated around the lakes they do not over look each other and they are equipped to an exceptional level. The bathrooms are beautifully finished and the cabin is as solid as a rock. We have just returned from the howling gales and rain and felt snug and secure all the time. A power cut made it a little romantic with candles and the hot tub is a must. There is no check in or filling out of forms the website is easy to use and Anthony is on hand should you need him. There is also a rowing boat for each cabin if your feeling adventurous. Will definitely return if I can get in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have just stayed in 'Moondara' a beautiful log cabin that sleeps eight and is positioned right on the lake, with beautiful views from all windows. We were celebraring my 60th birthday (the log cabin for the weekend was a surprise from my family) . We were four generations and there was
something for everyone, walking, taking the rowing boat onto the lake, spotting the heron, swans and otters. We were also happy to stay indoors with the cosy log fire, relaxing and eating together
in very comfortable, spacious surroundings. The kitchen is fully equipped, with dishwasher, washing machine etc.
Very private and peaceful.
Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shropshireLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

my wife and I enjoy staying in log cabins and have done so previously at sites in Yorkshire and Lincolnshire and we thought them very good. this place just knocks the spots off of them. firstly your cabin is not overlooked by anyone else they are all positioned around a large lake but there is only a few cabins and you just dont see anybody. there is lots of wildlife on the lake Swans, Herons, Cormorants and even Otters. if you take the option of a hot tub then you can sit out and enjoy the view. we loved it and will go back in summer to see what its like then.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homer61ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

What can you say when every other review has covered this place so well?
Lake springs was a fantastic cabin and beyond cosy with great hot tub and own rowing boat.
This was the perfect honeymoon retreat with a totally private experience.
The Lake is spring water and clear to the bottom with birds and wild life in abundance.

We were very lucky with the weather but it would not have mattered what the weather was.

My only very small gripe was the sofa which is a bit warn and hurt my back a little but great excuse to get in that hot tub even more.

TOTAL BLISS.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loghouseholidays, Owner at Log House Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hi Greg,

We are so glad you had a fantastic Honeymoon at the lake! The hot tub is pretty special!

Regarding the sofa - we are currently getting a new one to put in Lake Springs House as we have also noticed it has got a little uncomfortable.

Many thanks for your kind words,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Booked Moondara and Kaisers Cabin for a pre-xmas family get-together and had the best holiday imaginable. Both cabins were warm and cosy, spotlessly clean, with high quality fixtures/fittings and very well equipped. Boats a big bonus, too!!

Room Tip: Hot tub is an absolute must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HayleyJshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole Keynes
4.0 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,651 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#6 of 8 in Cirencester
658 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
323 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,406 reviews
7.9 mi away
Marsh Farm Hotel
Marsh Farm Hotel
#2 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Log House Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Log House Holidays

Address: Log House Holidays | Poole Keynes, Poole Keynes, Cirencester GL7 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester > Poole Keynes
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Poole Keynes
Price Range: £24 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for weekend breaks, mid--week escapes or full week getaways. Just eight traditional Finnish log houses with their own lakeside hot tubs and rowing boats are set on this private 130--acre Cotswold Nature Reserve that has been carefully landscaped for over 33 years. All of our luxury self-catering cabins have been thoughtfully positioned in complete seclusion from each other. Escape. Explore. Enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing