We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third year & still love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Montroig Camping Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mont-roig del Camp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Playa Montroig Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Third year & still love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is our third year on this site, we arrived on 31/08 for 9nts staying with keycamp in a prestige van. We just adore this site, it's so very well kept and looked after, being on the beach is wonderful and the pool complex is better than ever with the addition of more slides this year. The pools were cold mind you but I reckon they put the heating on 1/2 days into our stay as they were an awful lot better then. We have a 2.5yr old and the play grounds on site are plentiful and really good. We also enjoyed the bouncy castle and mini disco every night. We ate on site for the first time, the espai grill was wonderful, we only wished we didn't have the little one for a few hours to enjoy the 'chill out' zone and bar. Looked wonderful, more akin to a posh hotel than campsite. Although the grill and this bar don't open until July I think and close early sept. takeout did very nice pizza, and we enjoyed the setting of the beach bar for a cocktail one evening.

Cambrils is a must visit for us, we go several times to stroll around and eat. We also drove to Barcelona from the site in just under 1hr30 which made a memorable day. Finally, we stopped one night in Reus as our flight was a day later than we could get the caravan for. What a surprising gem! Absolutely beautiful and when we return to playa montroig we will definitely do an evening trip for a meal.

All in all, we LOVE this site. We'll be back...

Room Tip: All keycamp caravans are in the same place on the site, it's a 7/8min walk to the supermarket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    185
    60
    29
    31
See reviews for
391
67
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OSM
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Great family holiday with many pluses:
Great villa- we stayed in the royal palms- super beds and space in our 3 room apartment
Warm consistently
Right in the beach
Wonderfully friendly staff in shops and Mini Disco lady was brilliant as was the Zumba man.
Well stocked and well priced shop
Sea nice and warm
Reasonably priced seaside bar
Lots of entertainments
Excellent take away food if needed

Cons
Cold pool
Rocks in the sea so sea shoes a must
Located in a rather barren area.
Had to drive to any villages couldn't really walk anywhere nice
Food in restaurants was a but a bit hit miss- sometimes cold
Quite windy and some inclement weather at a times

Great relaxing break
Though

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have previously been to France with Key Camp and decided to try Spain this year. We were not disappointed. Our accommodation was better than France and the Couriers the nicest we have met. Gary in particular who was so friendly and helpful.
The beach is good, but be careful of getting in near the beach bar due to rocks and some days it can be choppy, but get an inflatable as good fun which they sometimes have at the Key Camp office to borrow.
La Terrassa is good to eat at and we had 2 meals there and the service was good and food excellent. The Takeaway was also very good. Pools and slides very nice and kept very clean.
Recommend Port Aventura Water Park and a fabulous day out for the family and would avoid Aquapolis water park as we also went there and no where near as the standard as Port Aventura. Port Aventura is approx 20 mins drive away.
If you want to go to the Port Aventura Theme Park go in the evening after 19:00. It is cheaper and you get to see fireworks and parade.
Wifi in the games area above La Terassa from 18:00 for our teenage children which was good.
The Shop on site even though open at strange times was well stocked and Cambrils in well worth a visit in the evening - very busy, but good shops, atmosphere and market.
All in all an excellent family holiday

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Set between the montsant mountains, and the med sea, playa montroig holiday camp is an idyllic place to stay. The camp is clean, the staff are very friendly, and there is a lot to do for everyone (little children don't have a lot of activities unless they speak spanish).There are a number of bars and restaurant's at playa montroig, and although they are a bit expensive the food is exquisite. The best on the camp is le terrasa, great staff and lovely food,A very clean place to eat in the plaza area of the camp. The camp has an outdoor pool area consisting of 4 pools situated in front of a bar selling ice creams, as well as beers and wines. The pool has a number of flumes as well as life guards and is very safe for families,The pool is supposed to be heated but never was once. The accommodation is very clean and well maintained, there is a choice of static caravan, your own caravan or mobile home, and of course tents. We stayed in a two bed vista and we found it very satisfactory. We stayed with key camp and although the staff are freindly more could be done to help families with information regarding the camp and surrounding areas. When we arrived we was given a very sparse map that didn't really show us where anything was or what time anything opened and closed, we had to find it out by ourselves and ultimately this led to us missing a few things. The camp has free wifi in le terrasa restaurant, or you could pay for a week at a cost of €14.90 (we stayed approximately 10 mins for the main park and the signal was terrible all the time, so wouldn't recommend it). Overall the park is great, and despite our mediocre grumblings, we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biscu74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

As an extended family we've been going to Playa Montroig for years. It's just such a relaxing place. The facilities are great. It's always clean. The staff are always pleasant. They may sometimes struggle with language but their English is always better than my Spanish or Czech. Yes the site has its quirks. It's not cheap. But, of all the camp sites (lots) I've been to since my kids were very small (They are now in their 20s) this has been and still is the best. Pay for the dearer site as near the beach as you can get. We never notice the trains. They are way fewer now anyway. The restaurants are always good. Not 5* dining but hey. The supermarket does all the essentials. Frankly, we seldom leave the site.

Room Tip: Get a pitch as near the sea as you can. They are dearer but well worth the peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMcC_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

As has been previously said this resort is tip top . There are a few issues with where you can eat your takeaway food and noise which have been raised before but in a nutshell these are just minor irritations . The shop will me most people's needs , if you need something else this can be obtained in the neighbouring town of Cambrills . The pool and gym are good and you can have a relaxing beer or 4 at the pool side bar . There are 2 nightclubs on site one for the younger teens and the other for the older teens and adults , the latter does not start rocking until 3 am and finishes around 6 am .
The train does pass through the middle of the campsite around 5+ times a day but its fully enclosed and after a while you don't notice it . One of the best I have stayed at . We have signed up for another dose in 2014 !

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from a fantastic two weeks in Playa Montroig. We were recommended this location by Friends so our expectations were high. The site was very well managed and the staff worked very hard to maintain very high standards across all areas of the restaurants, leisure facilities and the amenities.

The new pool complex kept our two girls, 7&9 entertained for the two weeks. The life guards were very present and ran a tight ship to ensure the safety of everyone. The shop was well stocked with provisions with a fresh meat counter, cheese counter and a dedicated fish shop there was everything you need to survive. The beach side cocktail bar was excellent as were the restaurant and grill.

For me I wanted to see a little more of the local area, it was well serviced by local buses and local taxi companies however I did resort to hiring a car to reach a little further to Tarragona 30 mins and Barcelona 90 mins away. The park and a local firm called Happy Car Rentals provided an excellent drop off and return service for the car.

Having stayed in nearby Cambrils previously I would say it was comparable in terms of quality of accommodation but you need to make the choice of being located very close to the beach or being lcoated close to the bars and restaurants of near by Salou or even Cambrils port which is a lovely area.

Great site for a switch off and a relaxing break, for those looking for peace and quiet ideal, for those looking to use it as a base to a more active and lively holiday I would suggest Cambrils is the alternative if Costa Daurada is where you would like to go.

Room Tip: The mobile homes are based on avenues, eurocamp are introducing a Zoning scheme, Londres and Brussel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont-roig del Camp
0.5 mi away
Camping La Torre del Sol
Camping La Torre del Sol
#3 of 6 in Mont-roig del Camp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
21.5 mi away
Tamarit Park Resort
Tamarit Park Resort
#2 of 28 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
9.4 mi away
La Siesta Salou Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Bonavista de Bonmont
Pierre & Vacances Village Club B...
#1 of 1 in Mont-roig del Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
8.7 mi away
Camping La Masia
Camping La Masia
#1 of 7 in L'Hospitalet de l'Infant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Els Prats Village
Els Prats Village
#2 of 6 in Mont-roig del Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Montroig Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Montroig Camping Resort

Property: Playa Montroig Camping Resort
Address: Carretera N-340 Km 1.136, 43300 Mont-roig del Camp, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Mont-roig del Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Mont-roig del Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Playa Montroig Camping Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Playa Montroig Camping Resort Welcome to the ideal holiday destination! We are sure it will captivate you and make your stay unforgettable. A camping resort located on one of the Costa Daurada's best beaches, within easy reach of PortAventura theme park and the wonders of Roman Tarragona, a guarantee of the best family holiday ever. In short, if you're looking for a beachfront campsite with bungalows, our camping resort, a founder-member of the Leading Campings association, is the best choice for you and your family and friends. Stay in Playa Montroig Camping Resort and your holidays will never be the same. Discover our personal service, the quality of all our facilities and our wonderful surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Montroig Camping Hotel Tarragona
Playa Montroig Camping Resort Spain/Mont-Roig Del Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing