We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mont-roig del Camp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Playa Montroig Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just come back from a 7 day holiday at this park,it is fantastic great pool complex with great slides.the restaurant la Teresa was very nice,well stocked shop and quite cheap. The direct beach access is great with lovely sandy beach. local town cambrills is lovely with a nice beach.we also went to stiges also worth a visit. Would definitely recommend this site. Will be going back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twinstwo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just got back from a lovely week at Playa Montroig booked through Keycamp. Never booked through them before or heard of this camp and was a little sceptical.
Travelled with my husband, 3 children - 4, 5 and 9 and my FIL. We all had an amazing time.
Facilities - The pool area is what makes this camp, it is just spectacular and really spoils looking at any other hotels in Spain. Everywhere is so clean and well kept. The staff are constantly cleaning and preening! Pool slides are fantastic, kids were never away. Bar area lovely and prices very reasonable compared to home. No loungers around the pool though which can be a bit of a let down but everyone just lies on their towels on the lush grass.
Entertainment area/shopping area - It was a little out of season for us being there from 21st Sept, but I don't think there would be much more in high season. All in Spanish - Some crafts or sports for kids through the day, bouncy castle for an hour then half hour of daft kids music which my kids love!! That was it so yes this was also a bit of a let down, but I knew this before going so was very prepared.
Beach - lovely walk to the beach which has direct access from the camp. The beach was one of my favourite days. Sea lovely and warm, yes some rocks so just look for a gap in them to walk in and out of the sea. The beach is not very wide at all which is perfect for being able to sit and relax and let the kids swim alone as they are only a few metres from you.
The supermarket and shop on site are good and very reasonably priced again, we got some lovely meats etc. for our BBQ which was provided.
Accommodation - Stayed in a 3 bed grand villa with aircon and decking. Very adequate for our needs. Clean. The beds in the bedrooms are all very comfy but we had to sleep on the sofa bed. NOT comfy at all, so we swapped with the little kids who thought it was great to sleep in the big bed! Had all essentials you needed. My only gripe was the bedding situation. We chose to take our own as so many of us it worked out cheaper to pay for an extra piece of luggage than to pay Keycamp. This was a pain in the rear and something I think Keycamp should change. Your paying for a holiday at the end of the day so bedding should be provided....FREE!
Toilet facilities etc looked very clean although we didn't need to use them.
Area - The camp is I a very isolated spot, we didn't hire a car and used the bus service or taxi when going anywhere. My advice is you definitely would benefit from having a hire car if you plan on going off the camp.
All in all we absolutely loved it despite the few niggles. We would definitely go again and I would highly recommend it!!
Thank you Playa Montroig for a fab camp!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is our third year on this site, we arrived on 31/08 for 9nts staying with keycamp in a prestige van. We just adore this site, it's so very well kept and looked after, being on the beach is wonderful and the pool complex is better than ever with the addition of more slides this year. The pools were cold mind you but I reckon they put the heating on 1/2 days into our stay as they were an awful lot better then. We have a 2.5yr old and the play grounds on site are plentiful and really good. We also enjoyed the bouncy castle and mini disco every night. We ate on site for the first time, the espai grill was wonderful, we only wished we didn't have the little one for a few hours to enjoy the 'chill out' zone and bar. Looked wonderful, more akin to a posh hotel than campsite. Although the grill and this bar don't open until July I think and close early sept. takeout did very nice pizza, and we enjoyed the setting of the beach bar for a cocktail one evening.

Cambrils is a must visit for us, we go several times to stroll around and eat. We also drove to Barcelona from the site in just under 1hr30 which made a memorable day. Finally, we stopped one night in Reus as our flight was a day later than we could get the caravan for. What a surprising gem! Absolutely beautiful and when we return to playa montroig we will definitely do an evening trip for a meal.

All in all, we LOVE this site. We'll be back...

Room Tip: All keycamp caravans are in the same place on the site, it's a 7/8min walk to the supermarket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Great family holiday with many pluses:
Great villa- we stayed in the royal palms- super beds and space in our 3 room apartment
Warm consistently
Right in the beach
Wonderfully friendly staff in shops and Mini Disco lady was brilliant as was the Zumba man.
Well stocked and well priced shop
Sea nice and warm
Reasonably priced seaside bar
Lots of entertainments
Excellent take away food if needed

Cons
Cold pool
Rocks in the sea so sea shoes a must
Located in a rather barren area.
Had to drive to any villages couldn't really walk anywhere nice
Food in restaurants was a but a bit hit miss- sometimes cold
Quite windy and some inclement weather at a times

Great relaxing break
Though

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have previously been to France with Key Camp and decided to try Spain this year. We were not disappointed. Our accommodation was better than France and the Couriers the nicest we have met. Gary in particular who was so friendly and helpful.
The beach is good, but be careful of getting in near the beach bar due to rocks and some days it can be choppy, but get an inflatable as good fun which they sometimes have at the Key Camp office to borrow.
La Terrassa is good to eat at and we had 2 meals there and the service was good and food excellent. The Takeaway was also very good. Pools and slides very nice and kept very clean.
Recommend Port Aventura Water Park and a fabulous day out for the family and would avoid Aquapolis water park as we also went there and no where near as the standard as Port Aventura. Port Aventura is approx 20 mins drive away.
If you want to go to the Port Aventura Theme Park go in the evening after 19:00. It is cheaper and you get to see fireworks and parade.
Wifi in the games area above La Terassa from 18:00 for our teenage children which was good.
The Shop on site even though open at strange times was well stocked and Cambrils in well worth a visit in the evening - very busy, but good shops, atmosphere and market.
All in all an excellent family holiday

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Set between the montsant mountains, and the med sea, playa montroig holiday camp is an idyllic place to stay. The camp is clean, the staff are very friendly, and there is a lot to do for everyone (little children don't have a lot of activities unless they speak spanish).There are a number of bars and restaurant's at playa montroig, and although they are a bit expensive the food is exquisite. The best on the camp is le terrasa, great staff and lovely food,A very clean place to eat in the plaza area of the camp. The camp has an outdoor pool area consisting of 4 pools situated in front of a bar selling ice creams, as well as beers and wines. The pool has a number of flumes as well as life guards and is very safe for families,The pool is supposed to be heated but never was once. The accommodation is very clean and well maintained, there is a choice of static caravan, your own caravan or mobile home, and of course tents. We stayed in a two bed vista and we found it very satisfactory. We stayed with key camp and although the staff are freindly more could be done to help families with information regarding the camp and surrounding areas. When we arrived we was given a very sparse map that didn't really show us where anything was or what time anything opened and closed, we had to find it out by ourselves and ultimately this led to us missing a few things. The camp has free wifi in le terrasa restaurant, or you could pay for a week at a cost of €14.90 (we stayed approximately 10 mins for the main park and the signal was terrible all the time, so wouldn't recommend it). Overall the park is great, and despite our mediocre grumblings, we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biscu74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

As an extended family we've been going to Playa Montroig for years. It's just such a relaxing place. The facilities are great. It's always clean. The staff are always pleasant. They may sometimes struggle with language but their English is always better than my Spanish or Czech. Yes the site has its quirks. It's not cheap. But, of all the camp sites (lots) I've been to since my kids were very small (They are now in their 20s) this has been and still is the best. Pay for the dearer site as near the beach as you can get. We never notice the trains. They are way fewer now anyway. The restaurants are always good. Not 5* dining but hey. The supermarket does all the essentials. Frankly, we seldom leave the site.

Room Tip: Get a pitch as near the sea as you can. They are dearer but well worth the peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMcC_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont-roig del Camp
6.3 mi away
Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resort Spa & Park
Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resor...
#1 of 2 in Montbrio del Camp
822 reviews
3.8 mi away
Vistamar
Vistamar
#1 of 2 in L'Hospitalet de l'Infant
124 reviews
5.7 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#6 of 33 in Cambrils
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Camping La Torre del Sol
Camping La Torre del Sol
#3 of 5 in Mont-roig del Camp
431 reviews
0.9 mi away
Els Prats Village
Els Prats Village
#2 of 5 in Mont-roig del Camp
204 reviews
9.5 mi away
La Siesta Salou Resort & Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Montroig Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Montroig Camping Resort

Address: Carretera N-340 Km 1.136, 43300 Mont-roig del Camp, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Mont-roig del Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Mont-roig del Camp
Hotel Class:5 star — Playa Montroig Camping Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Playa Montroig Camping Resort Welcome to the ideal holiday destination! We are sure it will captivate you and make your stay unforgettable. A camping resort located on one of the Costa Daurada's best beaches, within easy reach of PortAventura theme park and the wonders of Roman Tarragona, a guarantee of the best family holiday ever. In short, if you're looking for a beachfront campsite with bungalows, our camping resort, a founder-member of the Leading Campings association, is the best choice for you and your family and friends. Stay in Playa Montroig Camping Resort and your holidays will never be the same. Discover our personal service, the quality of all our facilities and our wonderful surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Montroig Camping Hotel Tarragona
Playa Montroig Camping Resort Spain/Mont-Roig Del Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing