We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pool but lacking in entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Bonavista de Bonmont
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great pool but lacking in entertainment”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Have just returned from a 2 week break - 3 adults, two pre-teens and two children aged 6 and 3.

Overall the holiday was fantastic though there is a lot to improve with this site and in our view it does not match up to the Manilva site (where we stayed last year) with one exception - the pool.

Biggest selling points: The pool (big, different areas and jacuzzi flatbeds), the apartment (spacious and clean though having an oven and toaster would improve it), the location (20 mins from Portaventura which was excellent)

Need to be aware of: There is a real lack of sunbeds (strange as there is plenty of space), you need a car to get anywhere as the resort is remote (we shopped in Carrefour - Tarragona 20 mins, Reus 15 mins though there are smaller supermarkets in Cambrills), the shop on site opens morning and early eve but is not open in the afternoon and does not stock any fresh fruit or veg though it does stock bread. Restaurant is buffet only service though you can order a few items takeaway. Buffet was pretty unadventurous and lacked variety.

Room for improvement: Our big disappointment was the entertainment. There is no 'centre of gravity' for socialising. There is a large restaurant which is not a place to chill due to it being a buffet, then there is a very small bar with a couple of old stools that no one sits in. The evening entertainment is centred on a large enclosed patio with no seats and no staging. So the children's disco consists of a gathering of kids with parents forced to sit on a stone wall watching. This is in sharp contrast to the Manilva site which is very family oriented, so was quite a shock for us.

Nice touches: The day time bar/ cafe staff were very friendly and welcoming despite not speaking English.

As previous reviews have stated there is minimal English spoken which for adults is fine but for the children was prohibitive to them joining in kids club activities.

We would recommend anyone who has not booked who has young children to consider the Manilva site before this one but for older kids and those who wish to visit Portaventura this is certainly a good base.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bristol062011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    373
    148
    57
    19
See reviews for
681
83
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bridge of weir
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

stayed here for two weeks starting july 2012. As previously stated the hotel is remote but set in beautiful surroundings. dont expect any guest or staff to speak English (spanish and French) and most of the guest have driven their cars from France. we had a two bedroom apartment which was spacious enough with a very large balcony. Only English channel on the tv was bbc world news. The apartment was cleaned once in the two weeks we stayed and on the occasion it was cleaned the sheets were not changed, so it was the same bedsheets for two weeks. (i eventually washed them in the sink and hung them on the balcony to dry.) Breakfast was adequate buffet style, although not a huge selection. If you want a sun lounger get up early, we were never up early enough to get one. despite some on my negative comments it was a good base outside salou, nice and quiet and we had a car to do some sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Best ever hotel by far and splendid service from staff. Hotel is so beautiful highly recommended. Will be returning back.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on top; because of the splendid views of mountains and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahmina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is a lovely place to stay, but be aware that there is no maid service for your apartment for the 7 days that you are there. No linen or towels changed.You have to buy any loo role etc. yourself and cleaning stuff. Bar didn't open until 7PM evey day, so if you facied a drink -no chance. you had to drive to the nearest some 2 miles away. Have to say great for kids and if all you want to do is lie by the pool then this is it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as close to the pool as possible. You have to pay extra for every room anyway, for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stenhousemuir, Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Just returned from a weekend break to the Costa Daurada including an overnighter in Barcelona to take in the Barca v Sevilla football match. To assist with this review, I've subheaded it.
OUTWARD
Flew Ryanair from Prestwick Airport (why is it called Glasgow Prestwick Airport? Prestwick & Glasgow are about 40 miles apart!!) so cheap and (reasonably) cheerful was the order. We ate lunch in Yates Bar within the airport. Expensive, lacklustre food. The Ryanair cabin crew were just as lacklustre as lunch. Where were all the gleaming smiles you used to get throughout your journey?
ARRIVAL
Reus Airport is the nearest to Bonavista de Bonmont and takes about 30 minutes maximum by car. Well, it does if you disregard the Google Maps directions. I suggest quitting Reus Airport and heading for the A-7. Not the AP-7 as this is a toll road, but both head in the same direction. Quit the A-7 at the junction signposted for Castello and Montbrio Del Camp then take 1st exit at roundabout and uphill past the industrial estate on your right and follow until you turn right onto the T-318 then onto the T-310 and you will eventually see this hotel on your right. It is not within walking distance of any town and its location would suggest it's not on any bus route, therefore a car is essential.
Hired a car through CarHire3000, but got stung with the old insurance trap which cost me an extra 25 Euros. Nearly got hit for another 74 Euros for a tank of fuel in a Corsa but luckily our car was empty. Beware!
Having got lost due to google maps, we arrived about 11pm but were met by the night porter who had everything ready for us and even opened the on-site shop to allow us to buy some food (and wine). Our apartment was excellent. Spacious, very clean and comfortable. The only minor niggles were the lack of an oven and the yughy smell from one of the 2 toilets in our 2 bedroom apartment (No. 210).
Next mornings breakfast was "interesting". It suggested a buffet but we received waitress service from Marie Carmen who spoke no English but could still make you feel welcome and was most helpful. Our breakfast came in courses, which included sausages and eggs.
We never ate again in the hotel only because we explored the surrounding area. Tarragona is a must. We don't like tack but disagree with an earlier review that Cambrils is tacky. It is nice, clean and has a great range of restaurants on the front. Another warning, beware of a restaurant, whose name I can't recall, but is run by a Russian gent. We ordered drinks and then when we ordered food he advised that he could not cook paella or noodles that night. We left, having paid 10 euros for drinks meant to accompany our meal!
Salou IS tacky but does have a reasonable selection of shops and restaurants. Nearby is PortAventura theme park. You can purchase a 2 day ticket at a reduced cost from Bonavista reception. PortAventura is great but Disneyland still holds more of a magic to it than here. However, there is loads to see and do and the shows were excellent (Mystery2 was superb).
Barcelona is 1.5 hours drive away from Bonavista de Bonmont but is a fantastic city. Take the open top bus tour and go on the funicular railway to see the city at its best.
Our last day was the only sunny day so was spent at the Bonavista de Bonmont poolside. Kids loved the river rapids, the jacuzzi style pool and the bubbling beds. There were enough sunbeds out and hundreds more in an area just off the pool.
CONCLUSION
If you don't mind being a little bit away from it all but want reasonably priced quality accomodation then I couldn't recommend this highly enough. I would return.

Room Tip: I believe most rooms face towards the nearby golf course and have reasonable views. The 2 bedroom ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RustyWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Fantastic resort for families with kids! We stayed there for two consecutive summers and we are definitely going back next year! Quiet place, beautifully landscaped and the buffet dinner selection in the restaurant is absolutely amazing! Car is a must, however, the resort is only 5 minutes away from the beach in Miami Plaja! Staff is great and always helpful!Great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoreCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Stay here in April 2010, during the volcanic eruption. The staff were very helpful and just let us stay on as long as we needed to. The resort was lovely, beautifully set in gardens, with great views to the mountains and the sea. The pools are great fun and the kids pool is very well heated and steams in the evening! The restaurant was a little expensive, although the staff were great and you do need a car to explore. The area is very unspoilt and residential. Cambrils is about 15 minutes drive and is a lovely little coastal town. Miami Playa a little less so. Don't expect to hear or be spoken to in english, so practice your french and spanish. Port aventura was a good day out but was 125 euros for 3 of us, so make the most of it. If you like hot chocolate try the Spiritual cafe in Cambrils, you will not have tasted better. I would really recommend this area and resort for an unspolied spanish break in a very nice clean and well kept resort.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont-roig del Camp
12.6 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
6.6 mi away
Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resort Spa & Park
Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resor...
#1 of 2 in Montbrio del Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
11.8 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mercure Atenea Aventura
Mercure Atenea Aventura
#1 of 2 in Vila Seca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
11.3 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Village Club Bonavista de Bonmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Village Club Bonavista de Bonmont

Property: Pierre & Vacances Village Club Bonavista de Bonmont
Address: Golf de Bonmont | Urb. Terres Noves, 43001 Mont-roig del Camp, Spain (Formerly Pierre & Vacances Résidence Bonavista de Bonmont)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Mont-roig del Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mont-roig del Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Village Club Bonavista de Bonmont 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Village Club Bonavista de Bonmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonavista De Bonmont Hotel Montbrio Del Camp
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Bonavista De Bonmont Spain/Mont-Roig Del Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing