We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torre D'Ar Sol: DO NOT GO HERE WITH YOUNG KIDS!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camping La Torre del Sol
Reviewed 3 February 2011

The title of the review says it all. Whilst we met some lovely people during our proposed three week stay, we felt compelled after two weeks to call it a day. The place is a nightmare. For the first week we were encircled by a group of feral French youths who did not sleep. With two young children kept awake throughout the night, the tensions at times ran high! The security patrol around in golf buggys but are anonymous in the "troublespots". When enough people complained for the French kids to be removed we were fortunate enough to have a trio of Italian men turn up who smoked and drank until 5am every night. Theit constant stream of smoke was sent directly into our van and over our children. I was so glad to get back to suburban England and the return to work was a holiday in itself. The only positive: the beach bar is a nice pot. But do yourselves a favour; stay at Playa Montroig and stroll along the beach to D'Ar Sol's beach bar... DO NOT STAY HERE WITH YOUNG CHILDREN!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank gracequirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2010

I had reservations after reading reviews of this place, however found the keycamp mobile 3 bedroomed home to be clean and although compact it had everything we would have wanted. The site was very busy but despite this clean and well kept. Parking near our accommodation was a problem sometimes but the worst thing was the noise till all hours of the morning from a large group of people. Despite a 12 midnight curfew for noise they insisted on staying outside with kids till 2 and 3 in the morning, playing loud music and talking very loudly. We complained to 3 times but did not seem to do any good. The restaurant was awful do not eat there it really was dire. the poolside cafe was good though and if you ask the reps they will tell you other restaurants to go to. You need a car for this resort if you want to get around. We did take a train to Barcelona which was awful coming back with my disabled mother having to stand almost the whole hour and half trip and some very rude people. I would definately go with Keycamp again but dont think I would go to this camp. The camp up the road a little at Playa Montroig has a much better restuarant open to the public and worth a visit. All in all as long as you dont mind driving everywhere and eating out or cooking most nights its a nice place just shame some people can be really inconsiderate at night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirkychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Myself and extended family have just returned from La Torre del Sol, having stayed 7 nights with Keycamp. We booked flights into Barcelona seperately with Easyjet, great flights, I cannot fault Easyjet at all, very professional service, and im a travel agent! Booked car hire seperately through Avis, again cannot fault the service. We travelled down to the camp site on the AP-7 the new toll motorway, beaware it cost us near enough 14 Euros in tolls, have some change with you if you do this journey though there are booths where you can pay by card. Took us about 90 minutes to do the roughly 110kms, make sure you use your headlights in the long mountain tunnels, it is the law. Found the campsite easily and were checked in by the main reception very quickly and by friendly reception staff. The Keycamp courier escorted us to our accommodation, which was presented very clean and well stocked with the usual Keycamp essentials. We usually pre order the Welcome Pack as it has all the essentials like coffee, tea, water and washing up liquid and a bottle of red wine on arrival so no having to dash out to the shops once your there. We ate from the restaurant the first night and the Pizza's were absolutely wonderful, as was the Tapas and seafood as we discovered on subsequent visits, (beer was cold and refreshing also!) The restaurant itself has a lovely location overlooking the lagoon swimming pools, lovely in the evening or when spending the day by the pool! There is a big jacuzzi, but this was only open for 2 hours everyday, 12.00 - 13.00 & 16.00 - 17.00 so was a mad rush to use it at these times, I would assume its open for longer in peak season, but cannot confirm this? The camp shop whilst quite good value was starting to resemble a Russian supermarket as the end of the season was approaching so fresh milk was not always available though the fresh bread was lovely. There is a gym on site, bar, gift shop, internet room and theatre & free cinema, (see the notice boards for the various movies and in what language it is in). The toilet blocks from what I saw of them, looked well maintained and clean as are the camp grounds which are lovely with palms and banana trees lining the roads. The beach is private to the site and is accessed straight from the camp, its is narrow so can get crowded. There is a bit of a drop off and it is a bit stoney as you first enter the water, otherwise beautiful. Showers are available to wash the sand off. I will just mention that there is a seafood restaurant just up the beach North from the camp, the restaurant overlooks the ocean, which does a great seafood Paella, apparently they specialise in this, it was delicious as was the Sangria! The Keycamp vans are located near the road so some noise is evident though since the new road has opened this has become much quieter and it didn't affect our peace at all, neither did the train line that runs through the middle of the camp, you go under this to get to the beach & touring van area of the camp site.

We visited Port Aventura theme park, please see my seperate review on here for details.

We also visited Barcelona, it is a big beautiful city, the people are friendly and the people watching is good fun, wear good comfy shoes. Whilst we had hire cars it was far quicker and easier to use the trains that run from Cambils to have a day out. A return ticket will set you back just over 12 Euros. There is ample free parking not far from the train station, just pull in after the bus station in Cambrils. The train takes about 90 minutes and takes in some nice views of the ocean along the way, clinging percariously to the mountain side aT some points after passing Sitges! Once in Barcelona Sants station either get a day metro pass, (Euros 5.80), head directly under the station to the right as you look at the arrivals board in the main station. The L5 line takes you directly to Plaza Catalunya at the top of Las Ramblas. From here you can head straight down along Las Ramblas to the port, Imax and Aquarium. Do be aware of pick pockets! We saw a man have his wallet stolen out of his combat shorts pocket, he realised and security arrested the theif, and this was in the station! Other options are the open topped Tourist bus's that run on two different circuits of the city, (Euros 21.50 for an adult), you can get on and off all day at all the major sites in the city. We took an hour long cruise of the port and harbour from near the Columbus Monument, (Euros 11.80), it was so hot that the cooling sea breeze was much apreciated. When you ready to head home you will need the train heading back to Tortosa, they roughly leave every hour and a half though do obvioulsy check locally.

Cambrils is a pretty seaside resort with a nice marina and good beach. Plenty of good seafood restaurants along the front aswell.

Salou is a big and somewhat tacky British home from home resort. Plenty of bars, fast food and entertainment for the package holiday crowd. It does have a nice seafront and beach though with loads of watersports. Its only 10-15 minutes from the camp by car for a day/ night out if you do so wish.

There is so much to see and do in the area that we need to go back to do some more exploring. I would absolutely recommend this campsite for families or even couples who want to chill out and relax or who want plenty to see and do in the area. Have fun Adios!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank traveljester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

I was there with my parentes for 14 days. When we arrived there it looked very great. The people at the reception were nice, too. When we saw our Mobile Home we were schocked we paid very much money for this and it was very smal. But it was clean. At the first day we went to the swimming pool the water was clean and around us it looks very nice. But there was nothing special it was boring so we went to the beach there was very less place to lay down. The pictures on the webside of La Torre del Sol were old. IN the water were very much stones,too.
So we looked around and we saw a bigger beach on the left side of La Torre del Sol. Only twenty meter from the left end. At this part of the beach is a beach bar called
Vito & Maria. It´s very nice there and they have a very good Sangria.
At the next day came my aunt withe her family.
At one day we wanted to play Minigolf we payed 3Euro per person and the Minigolfplace were very bad. There was no staight bottom. So and on another day my father and I wanted to play Tennis. We had our Tennis things with us but then we saw we had to pay for the Tennis. At La Torre del Sol you have to pay for everything.
Then we had a problem with the Internet it dosn´t work so we spoke to the reception.They said we have to speak to an special man. And he was there but he had hurt his leg and he said he can´t go because that. But on the next day.I and my father saw him when he walked a long time behind two girls. So my father spoke to him and he said he will repair it tomorrow. But at the evening at the next day it dosn´t work. So my father asked again and so he said he will repair it tomorrow and so was it the first week.
After one week my father gave up to asked and so it dosn´t woke until now.
We had to take the internet room there cost 15 min=1Euro
But on one day it dosn´t work ,too ,but it was repaird until one day
I mean there are very much better camingplaces and the most of them are not so expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fanta-Zero-Orange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We went for a 3 week camping holiday with 2 families with young teens. Two of us had tents one had a caravan. Having camped in Amsterdam, Germany, Belgium and the UK we found this to be the worst ever.

We were very close to the beach (literally a 30 second walk) which was great. We found the beach great but don't think I ever saw a lifeguard. Two of the kids were stung by jellyfish but no advice on hand. The ONE toilet and changing block was well maintained but sometimes had queues at busy times.

Difficult to know where to start with the many bad bits! As we needed 3 pitches we drove around a bit to find 3 near to each other. When you arrive you choose your pitch then go to reception with the pitch number (so you may choose one that people choose 10mins before and have to go back and choose another). People take advantage of this lack of control by moving stuff onto the next pitch if people near to them go, so you never know if a pitch is actually free or not. Each row has pitches back to back then a dirt track before the next row. We had two pitches together with another on the back of the other but pitched the tent facing the other so almost formed a triangle facing each other.

We found people often walked between our tents even when all 10 of us were sitting together eating a meal or trying to sunbathe which can be akward. But it didn't stop there. People would do it all hours so difficult to sleep at night. Even tripping on your guyropes.

We found a lot of teens there drinking and screaming into the night, glasses/bottles being smashed and cooking, laughing all night from when the bar poured out at 1am until about 4am. We NEVER got a whole nights sleep. The security were useless. One guy was at least 80 and probably just never heard the noise. Not worth complaining as they can't be everywhere at once.The nearby campsite had a party one night with music blearing at 2am which could not be controlled by our campsite at all.

There was daytime activities for young kids I think as they often had teeny bopper music playing during the day which meant we could never just sit in the sun and relax unless we went to the beach but sometimes you wanted to to get away from it and coudln't.

We had instances of anti-brit messages written in the dust of our cars (by French lads) and one instance of a group of lads (again French) trying to break into one of cars at 3am. We caught him red-handed and when called the security (which was a task in itself as you have to run around to find them, they spoke to them and whisked them off to 'take a statement'. The next day they were back on their pitch (a row away from us). They were all told to leave the site that afternoon. Needless to say this made us all very disheartened and weary for the rest of the trip. We also had a camping chair stolen so someone always didn't have a seat.

The entertainment was dire. We felt trapped as the site was miles from anywhere. The food was repetative. They have a pool restaurant, a pizzareia and another restaurant, but they ALL SERVE THE SAME MENU. Unbelieveable. Food wasn't worth it. We bought out and had a BBQ most nights. This would have been a nice thing for them to do really. The staff in the restaurants took there time and weren't bothered.

The campsite staff were helpful. The shop was ok and the pool was also good. Wifi was touch and go. On the whole they need to have designated areas for single groups and another far away from it for families and couples. We were so relieved to be back to have a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathead_Fivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Stayed in Torre Del Sol last week in June, 1st week in July. Loved it but should mention a few things that irked us but needless to say did not mar the holiday one bit. Last week in June was so relaxing, could get loungers at pool no problem but 1st week in July changed slightly, obviously more crowded and security was stepped up, everybody was made to wear wrist bands for pool area.
Pizzeria opened up for July but could not cope with the nightime diners ha ha ha. I say this a little in jest as one night we were there waiting for a menu ,let alone for our food, for more than 30 minutes, there were only about 5 other tables occupied on that night!!! Also supermarket better stocked in July, ready for English visitors. Majority of holiday makers here were Spanish, French and German. Keycamp own only 33 pitches of the 1300 in total so few English/Irish but wasnt a problem for us. We enjoyed trying to say hello in very bad spainish/french/german accents!
The other downside was the poximity of the Keycamp mobiles to the main road, can be noisey all day and all night but have a few drinks at night and that sorts that one out!!!!
I hate being negitive about this site as we had an absolute ball. Keycamp staff were great, site has everything you could want and only about 20 minutes drive to PortAventura. Would reccommend hire car as you are not within walking distance of other shops/ towns but would pay the cost of car hire tens times over rather than stay in cantre of SOLOU, scary place even early nightime.
Our kids, aged 5, 6 and 7, from day 2 wanted to move to Spain they loved it so much.
Cant comment on the kids club as our kids were happy enough not to go and will admit to never being organised early enough (10am) for the Water Aerobics, just so much to do but just not enough time!!!
Keycamp website does not do this site any justice in its description, fails to mention some of the facilities as in, On site Doctor, Hairdresser, Massage Therapy and evening entertainment to name a few.
We want to return next year but would also like to try a different camp site in this region but would be hesitant as not sure if they could beat the standard and and beauty of La Torre Del Sol.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank audmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

we have just come back la torre del sol, its nearly well set up, it could be really good just lacking in a few areas, you have to be carefull with children,the staff race around on golf buggy's including sercurity, nearly hit my 8 year old daughter.
The road is a big issue if you sleep light don'y bother, keycamp is right by the main road its like being by the M25 they really go for it at about 3am when its cool, the only night it was quite was sat through to sun, the really big lorries shake the caravan!(there is a new road being built but not open for a while yet) on the otherside of the camp you had the train going through the middle of the camp!
you also have to watch the different prices around you can pay 70p more per lollie at the pool bar than in the supermarket.
You do need a car we forgot to take our liecense with us hence we did'nt do alot, 50euro to get to portavenventura, i had spoken to one of the holiday companies and they said there was a bus! not when we we're there.it was worth paying 11euros to intermarche its alot cheaper, better selection.
if your relying on wi-fi i was there for 11nts and not once did it work!
After doing quite alot of other sites i don't think i would go back to this one unless i got a really good deal.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seadoovodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont-roig del Camp
7.2 mi away
L'Hotelet
L'Hotelet
#23 of 33 in Cambrils
104 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resort Spa & Park
Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resor...
#1 of 2 in Montbrio del Camp
809 reviews
5.2 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Els Prats Village
Els Prats Village
#2 of 6 in Mont-roig del Camp
204 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Bonavista de Bonmont
Pierre & Vacances Village Club B...
#1 of 1 in Mont-roig del Camp
951 reviews
20.3 mi away
Torre De La Mora
Torre De La Mora
#2 of 28 in Tarragona
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping La Torre del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Torre del Sol

Address: Carretera Nacional 340, Km. 1136, 43300 Mont-roig del Camp, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Mont-roig del Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Mont-roig del Camp
Price Range: £24 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Camping La Torre del Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Camping La Torre del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping La Torre Del Sol Spain/Mont-Roig Del Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing