We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms, beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabanas Isla del Sol
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Same
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms, beautiful setting”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We booked our stay at Isla del Sol before reading the previous review. With some trepidation we decided to go ahead. When we arrived we were reassured that additional security measures were in place, and, indeed, a CCTV system has now been installed. We found Eric and his staff to be welcoming and helpful.
Breakfast is good with beautiful fresh fruit, eggs etc. The other meals we had there were good but they stop serving early so it pays to let the staff know if you want a meal. Our rooms were all comfortable (we had 4 rooms). Sometimes the water is hot but as the weather is so hot there we were not bothered about having cool showers!
It is very upsetting to think of nasty things happening when on holiday. This place is not Fort Knox but provided they keep up the security measures they have put in place I would definitely recommend it.
Ps don't travel to Ecuador without adequate travel and health insurance.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank EarthMother_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    19
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Isla del Sol used be one of our favorite places to stay on the beach in Esmeraldas. However, our third stay there in April 2014 turned into a real nightmare and became the worst experience of our six years expat stay in Ecuador: On the last night of our stay, our ten-years-old son went to the terrace around 9:30 pm to fetch his toys in order to pack our bags. When he re-entered the room he forgot to lock the door behind him. Five minutes later, three masked young men, each one armed with a pistol, entered the room (junior suite, right next to the beach). With their pistols aimed at our heads, they forced us to give them all our belongings. Scared to death, we gave them our laptop, cell phone, money, etc. They even took my entire travel bag which I had already packed as we wanted to leave early next morning after breakfast. Inmediately after the muggers had left, we called the local police which arrived 20 minutes later together with the hotel staff. While reporting to the police we had to find out that there was no security staff on duty that night. We wanted to leave this unsafe place right away, but driving back to Quito in the middle of the night after such a terrible shock seemed be too dangerous. But you can imagine how we spent the rest of the night in that hotel room...
In presence of the local police officers, Eric, the hotel manager, offered to see us early next morning at 7 a.m., as we hoped that the muggers had eventually left some of our belongings in the surroundings of the hotel (such as my clothes which might have been useless to them). So we expected Eric at 7 a.m., just to find out that he was still asleep (we could not sleep at all that night). Afterwards, he told us that the watchman had left about 15 minutes before the robbery happened in order to see his sick mother... without any replacement; Eric himself had gone to Atacames that night for some family business. Back in Quito, when we called Eric on request of our lawyer to ask for the last name of his watchman, he didn't even know his name... .
Our obvious conclusion is that this place is not safe at all and cannot be recommended to anyone! Six weeks after this terrible shock - apart from visiting the local radio station the next day to request the locals to bring back our stolen items ;-) the manager hasn't even contacted us to find out how we are (our son is still in emotional pain and would not sleep alone) or offer us any additional help, neither has he assumed any responsibility or liability whatsoever. Despite the fact that the muggery happened on his premises for an obvious lack of security, he would not act at all. So we had to bear the entire cost to rebuy all the stolen items, pay for the lawyer - and even pay the full amount for for our six nights stay at Isla del Sol, which Eric had charged us in advance. We are really shocked by so much carelessness - even by local standards!
R. and W. Demenus

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank AlemanenEcuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BcraftX, Manager at Cabanas Isla del Sol, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We are terribly sorry this event came to place, never in our history had anyone come in the hotel to rob or steal anything, and that it happened and went into your room was a complete shock to us all. We have done everything humanly possible to pressure the authorities to solve this case but have got not official response from them, all they say its under investigation and have no leads this far, but this is Ecuador, so. Unfortunately things that don't happen in a lifetime happen in two minutes, and any place in the world. But that's life, and we have come to terms with that. We have doubled our security efforts since and the authorities have said that they will be incrementing security in the beach as well. Our sincere heartfelt apologies to you and your family for this incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

First stop traveling down the coast of Ecuador! Marvelous Ecuadorian 1 room cabins with ensuite showers and toilet for very reasonable price! Nice pool behind on secured property. Eric and his staff very warm, friendly, and helpful. Ocean waves pounding rhythmically just outside your cabana, siply beautiful, quiet, with a few restaurants within walking distance!

Room Tip: Some cabanas behind front row that are on the beach, very nice but not the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 very relaxing nights here following a hectic tour of Ecuador. We had a wonderful oceanview cabin with AC and was kept very clean. There is not much to do in Same, so ee passed our time walking on the beach sunbathing and swimming. Eric the manager speaks perfect English which is a bonus in this area. It is a 1K walk to all the restaurant s either by the beach or road, but Eric was very willing to drive us after nightfall.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TomandaliUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

So quiet with just the ocean waves. No pesky beach vendors. Within walking distance to beach restaurants and small markets. Very friendly staff. Good A/C, hot water and parking. Some of the booking engines are showing the wrong location on their maps. It's South of Esmeraldas proper by about 20 miles. Some of the maps even show it on a dead end road.

Room Tip: Two types of rooms facing ocean, basic cabanas and very modern ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachump2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my wife in our honeymoon. When we arrived we were greeted by one of two housekeepers that couldn't give much information about the surroundings.

The place was really nice anyhow, small cabanas right on the beach. Unfortunately nor the owner nor any manager arrived during our 3 nights at the place. The housekeepers did their best. The place was clean and the breakfast was ok.

The area seems kind of unsafe, anywhere we went we were discouraged to walk on thebeach, which gave an unpleasant feeling. In the end we didn't experience anything bad, everyone was nice and helpful, both in Same and Atacmes. Same is pretty empty I September, being low season in Ecuador, so you are pretty much alone on the beach and in the restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierreLiljefeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Location couldn't be better, right in front of the beach. High tide the waves are maybe 30 feet from the front door. The place is perfect for a beach getaway. Simple, quaint, yet clean. A/C, hot water, en suite bathroom. What else could you possibly ask for. Food was a bit disappointing, there were only two things on the menu, shrimp and langoustines. And even then it wasn't that good. This didn't present a problem as there are a number of restaurants nearby. I did think it was a bit overpriced for what you get. I stayed at a far better place in Galapagos for half the price. Or u can rent a luxurious apartment in Casablanca for the same amount. I would recommend you call the place directly and make reservations, for if you reserve online they charge commissions and whatnot.

Room Tip: Beachfront is the only way to go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Same
9.5 mi away
Hotel Puerto Ballesta
Hotel Puerto Ballesta
#1 of 2 in Tonsupa
83 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Cielo Azul
Hotel Cielo Azul
#2 of 10 in Atacames
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Club del Sol
Hotel Club del Sol
#5 of 10 in Atacames
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel El Marques
Hotel El Marques
#1 of 10 in Atacames
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Paraiso
Hotel Costa Paraiso
#3 of 10 in Atacames
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas del Mar
Cabanas del Mar
#1 of 6 in Mompiche
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Isla del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Isla del Sol

Property: Cabanas Isla del Sol
Address: Playa de Same, Same, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Esmeraldas Province > Same
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Same
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas Isla del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Cabanas Isla del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Isla Del Sol Hotel Esmeraldas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing