We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Little Known Welsh Gem

If you have an interest in antiques, Welsh culture and industry or just hope story Nantgarw is a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
JamesBischoff
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
via mobile
Excellent working museum

I visited for the first time, booking recommended. I was able to get a guided tour of the museum... read more

Reviewed 24 May 2023
simonjacob99
Read all 48 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
40
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
40
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cream tea welsh cakes bara brith worth a visit feel so welcome guided tour bottle kiln volunteers porcelain charles history displays recipe visitors fountain doorstep presentation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Visited today and had a very informative (free) tour with an excellent volunteer guide, followed by tea and cakes in the tea room. Housed in a small eighteenth century listed building, which is interesting in itself, and outbuildings including an outdoor kiln plus examples of later output after porcelain production stopped.
Shame Cadw aren't more involved with their adjacent building .

Good to see that it is being well used by current potters and runs workshops.

Well worth a visit

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank KnowAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Visited the amazing Nantgarw Chinaworks today. The tea rooms had been recommended to me and I can see why.
This volunteer run house of the china works is informative, interesting and most welcoming.
The tea room is lovely and reasonably priced. Well worth a visit.
I'm looking forward to visiting the event during the May Bank holiday weekend. 😀👍🏼
Thank you to Margaret, Jeff & Trevor for our great morning

Date of experience: March 2017
4  Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Super little gem with museum, tea room & pottery inspired visit - friendly & helpful volunteers. if you inspired by pottery programme on tv at the moment - don't miss this. Follow brown signs carefully - last turning easily missed!

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank deborahwY7501QL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Visit here to find out about the amazing porcelain that was made in Nantgarw. Fascinating home and China works are now an important historic restored site.
Chat to the volunteers and have a cup of tea during your visit.
Just off the A470 at Nantgarw

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank jancO8691VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

We visited Nantgarw China Works Museum on a beautiful sunny day. It was free to look around and we were greeted by two very helpful individuals. Trevor who spent most time with us had been working there over 20 years and was full of knowledge. Although we didn't stop for a hot drink there were facilities and toilets available too. A small free car park was just outside but I don't think it would get too busy. Interesting visit.

Date of experience: March 2016
5  Thank phiewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews