We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Review Highlights
A Gem of a museum

We booked a guided tour with morning coffee and cakes, the whole experience was utterly brilliant... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jane G
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
A Gem of a Place - must visit

A gem of historical value hidden away but a must visit place to see. Superb volunteers and staff... read more

Reviewed 1 April 2024
Sophiebella2013
,
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Read all 51 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
43
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cream tea welsh cakes bara brith worth a visit feel so welcome guided tour bottle kiln volunteers porcelain charles history displays recipe visitors fountain doorstep presentation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Lovely to see that pottery work continues. Knowledgeable guides and demonstrators.
Would be worth a visit in a few years time to see how the production has developed

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank X7168LAneilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We had been planning our trip here for a while. We were not disappointed, I see some people rated it as average well I think they are wrong. It's an amazing display of one of Britain's rarest ceramics. And the guides make the tour very interesting. All finished off with a real nice cup of tea with Bara Bryth. For a free activity it's very well presented. Thank you to all the volunteers who made our time there fantastic.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Ceri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Visited today and had a very informative (free) tour with an excellent volunteer guide, followed by tea and cakes in the tea room. Housed in a small eighteenth century listed building, which is interesting in itself, and outbuildings including an outdoor kiln plus examples of later output after porcelain production stopped.
Shame Cadw aren't more involved with their adjacent building .

Good to see that it is being well used by current potters and runs workshops.

Well worth a visit

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank KnowAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Visited the amazing Nantgarw Chinaworks today. The tea rooms had been recommended to me and I can see why.
This volunteer run house of the china works is informative, interesting and most welcoming.
The tea room is lovely and reasonably priced. Well worth a visit.
I'm looking forward to visiting the event during the May Bank holiday weekend. 😀👍🏼
Thank you to Margaret, Jeff & Trevor for our great morning

Date of experience: March 2017
4  Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Super little gem with museum, tea room & pottery inspired visit - friendly & helpful volunteers. if you inspired by pottery programme on tv at the moment - don't miss this. Follow brown signs carefully - last turning easily missed!

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank deborahwY7501QL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews