We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Review Highlights
A Gem of a Place - must visit

A gem of historical value hidden away but a must visit place to see. Superb volunteers and staff... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Sophiebella2013
,
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
One word for this - stylish!

Excellent. £4 per person tour very good value. Such beautiful artifacts. Such fascinating... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Stuart M
,
Winchester, United Kingdom
Read all 50 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
42
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
42
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cream tea welsh cakes bara brith worth a visit feel so welcome guided tour bottle kiln volunteers porcelain charles history displays recipe visitors fountain doorstep presentation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

June took us round .. very knowledgable .. nantgarw pottery was only around for 4 years but recent crowd funding is re establishing this pottery .. worth a visit and maybe the local schools should tske a visit as part of nantgarw history

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Small museum which was once part of a thriving if short lived world famous porcelain factory.
Our guide June gave a fabulous tour of the facilities and the history.
No charge to enter, parking available.
Small shop and lovely little tea room where you can get tea/ coffee with bara brith or Welsh cakes.
Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank maggie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

We spent a fascinating and interesting couple of hours at the museum where the friendly,welcoming volunteers gave us an insight into the unique porcelain that was produced there. Besides the museum there is a small garden, remains of the chinaworks and an opportunity to see the porcelain being produced. We also had good value and good quality refreshments in the cosy tearoom.The recent exciting discovery will ensure that we return in the future. A visit not to be missed

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank pjr562017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2018

This is a gem and well worth a visit. I went on a Sunday in March and received a warm welcome, had a very informative tour given by a knowledgeable guide and I learned a lot. She really put the place in context of the times in which it was operating. I was surprised to find a well-preserved bottle kiln there as well as very tasteful displays of Nantgarw and Swansea china (lovely loos too!). This is a working pottery making beautiful porcelain items which can be bought in the shop. They also serve teas, coffees etc and Welsh cakes. I can thoroughly recommend a visit here.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank travelqueenDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Lovely to see that pottery work continues. Knowledgeable guides and demonstrators.
Would be worth a visit in a few years time to see how the production has developed

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank X7168LAneilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews