We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
A Gem of a Place - must visit

A gem of historical value hidden away but a must visit place to see. Superb volunteers and staff... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Sophiebella2013
,
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
One word for this - stylish!

Excellent. £4 per person tour very good value. Such beautiful artifacts. Such fascinating... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Stuart M
,
Winchester, United Kingdom
Read all 50 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
42
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
42
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cream tea welsh cakes bara brith worth a visit feel so welcome guided tour bottle kiln volunteers porcelain charles history displays recipe visitors fountain doorstep presentation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2023

I visited for the first time, booking recommended. I was able to get a guided tour of the museum and works, I have to say a remarkable experience in what they do within the guided tour and the workshops they host. Also to see current local potters and workings. For £3.50, it is well recommended

Date of experience: May 2023
Thank simonjacob99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2023 via mobile

A superb experience - Mike and Charles were splendid guides who made the visit fascinating.
We enjoyed the cream tea tour which was excellent value and served appropriately on a china tea service.
We finished the afternoon by buying a lovely pendant made out of a broken shard of genuine
Nantgarw china - altogether a very successful visit that we can highly recommend to anyone.

Date of experience: April 2023
Thank mrsmargaretk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2023

The first time I came here was about 20 years ago, before the present resurgence of the China Works. Now porcelain is being made again, to a recipe very similar to the original, lost, recipe by Billingsley from the early 19th century. The welcome is warm and we enjoyed a lavish buffet lunch and tours of the workshop and other buildings by two delightful volunteers, as well as a brilliant lecture by Charles Fountain, who not only knows his stuff but is a lively and entertaining host. Could not have been bettered.

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank same_as_before
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2023

A fascinating little museum, well worth a visit. Our guides who took us around the house and grounds were very knowledgable and enthusiastic. Not only did we learn about the history of the works, but also the porcelain currently being produced. We were shown some of the works by artist in residence, Sally and she explained how they were made. Well worth the small entrance price, we will certainly be back.

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank Lorelei_rambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2023

A hidden gem
We had a most enjoyable afternoon at Nantgarw China works. We were made most welcome from the moment we walked through the door to our departure over two hours later.
We were met by our guide, Mike, who shared his knowledge about the works with us, showing us a brief audio visual presentation of the history of the works and then guiding us through the presentation cabinets and displays.
We met the in house potter and visited the outside bottle kiln. Finally we had a cream tea drunk out of fine China, with scones, Bara Brith and Welsh cakes.
A delicious end to a most pleasant afternoon..

Date of experience: January 2023
Thank 49sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews