We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Review Highlights
A Gem of a museum

We booked a guided tour with morning coffee and cakes, the whole experience was utterly brilliant... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Jane G
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
One word for this - stylish!

Excellent. £4 per person tour very good value. Such beautiful artifacts. Such fascinating... read more

Reviewed 28 March 2024
Stuart M
,
Winchester, United Kingdom
Read all 51 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
43
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cream tea welsh cakes bara brith worth a visit feel so welcome guided tour bottle kiln volunteers porcelain charles history displays recipe visitors fountain doorstep presentation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2024

Excellent. £4 per person tour very good value. Such beautiful artifacts. Such fascinating history. Such an exhilarating current programme of pottery, education, vocational and hobby training. Such stylish surroundings for coffee served in such a stylish service. Diolch yn fawr iawn!

Date of experience: March 2024
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2024 via mobile

If you have an interest in antiques, Welsh culture and industry or just hope story Nantgarw is a place you have to visit.
This tiny Museum and pottery is run by knowledgeable volunteers who explain in detail why Nantgarw porcelain was so highly cherished and how slipware and pottery are made.
It is well worth finding this famous building and enjoying a visit here. To finish your visit you can enjoy homemade Welsh cakes and a cup of tea or coffee.

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank JamesBischoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2023

I visited for the first time, booking recommended. I was able to get a guided tour of the museum and works, I have to say a remarkable experience in what they do within the guided tour and the workshops they host. Also to see current local potters and workings. For £3.50, it is well recommended

Date of experience: May 2023
Thank simonjacob99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2023 via mobile

A superb experience - Mike and Charles were splendid guides who made the visit fascinating.
We enjoyed the cream tea tour which was excellent value and served appropriately on a china tea service.
We finished the afternoon by buying a lovely pendant made out of a broken shard of genuine
Nantgarw china - altogether a very successful visit that we can highly recommend to anyone.

Date of experience: April 2023
Thank mrsmargaretk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2023

The first time I came here was about 20 years ago, before the present resurgence of the China Works. Now porcelain is being made again, to a recipe very similar to the original, lost, recipe by Billingsley from the early 19th century. The welcome is warm and we enjoyed a lavish buffet lunch and tours of the workshop and other buildings by two delightful volunteers, as well as a brilliant lecture by Charles Fountain, who not only knows his stuff but is a lively and entertaining host. Could not have been bettered.

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank same_as_before
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews