We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
This is our picturesque holiday cottage in summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is our picturesque holiday cottage in summer
The well equipped kitchen has lots of cupboards The kitchen is equipped with fridge/freezer, washing machine, electric oven, microwave
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
This is our picturesque holiday cottage in summer
The well equipped kitchen has lots of cupboards
The kitchen is equipped with fridge/freezer, washing machine, electric oven, microwave
The kitchen has a useful wooden table and bench-seat. We supply tea/coffee/fruit teas/sugar
The spacious living room has a tv, DVD player, radio and dining table
The living room has a comfortable sofa and two matching armchairs
One of the fields. Guests are welcome to walk in the fields. A spring feeds the ponds and stream
The bathroom has a washbasin vanity unit, wc, bath and shower
One of the ponds in the fields. Everything is very natural, with lots of wild flowers and wildlife
The main bedroom has a double bed, washbasin vanity unit, plus a large wardrobe
The main bedroom
Our bluebell wood. There is a wonderful display by our stream during most of May.
The second bedroom has a single bed, its own shower and washbasin vanity unit
The shower and vanity unit in the second bedroom
Soay sheep grazing. If you enjoy nature, you will like out Wealth of Wildlife folder
The third bedroom has a single bed, drawers and wardrobe
Our wind turbine. I couldn't resist taking this photo with such a beautiful sky
Another view of The Shippon
The patio area
The patio area
The patio area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sticklepath, Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lee O
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“A fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Thank you for a lovely stay in your lovely cottage! You were very welcoming and attentive to our needs. We enjoyed every moment staying and the kids loved exploring the fields and looking for all sorts of creatures great and small!

They especially enjoyed playing with Harry and Carla your dogs and hope they are not too worn out, especially Harry!

It was a lovely cottage to stay and we felt ever so cosy and comfortable during our stay! We enjoyed watching a DVD each night that we found in the cabinet.

The cottage is in an ideal location as it wasn't too far from any of the attractions we wanted to visit.

Highly recommend this cottage for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeannirw...
1 review
“Amazing holiday!!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had a fantastic time at the shippon!!
Ideal base to explore dartmoor
Cottage has everything you need and nothing is too much trouble for the owners if you need anything
Would definitely recommend a stay here

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
455green
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, tidy & comfortable - a most enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

At the very last moment my daughter announced that she was visiting England, bringing my 2 year old granddaughter with her, and wished to spend some time around Dartmoor where we enjoyed family vacations in the past.
I found what appeared to be a suitable cottage to rent but didn’t know what really to expect. The booking was a little confusing but this was entirely down to me however Jackie, the owner, fortunately managed to sort things out quickly and calmly.
When we arrived at the cottage we were warmly welcomed by Jackie and dogs and were delighted to see that the cottage was just what we had hoped for: Jackie had also arranged for a travel cot for my grand daughter 
Everything in the cottage was clean, tidy and worked as it should and, although I am rather particular when it comes to beds/mattresses and was suffering from a bad back, I must say that the bed was one of the most comfortable I’ve slept in.
We had already had places from my daughter’s childhood that she wanted to revisit but Jackie was able to suggest several excellent additions.
One recently opened establishment is a tea-room at nearby Belstone serving the most wonderful cream teas with home-made scones and jams (we bought several jars to take home): sadly it was only open Friday – Monday from 2pm ‘till 5pm but we still managed to make multiple visits!
Close by, in Sticklepath, is the 17th Century Taw River Inn that serves superb food and drink and seems to have been recommended by many of ‘The Shippon’s’ guests.
Our stay in Devon was very pleasing indeed and made even more enjoyable by staying at The Shippon with Jackie at hand if we needed anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redpanda2...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well equipped cottage ”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Very well equipped cottage for a stay in devon, cottage is comfortable ( double bed not so comfortable,would benefit from a new mattress) the toiletries and tea,coffee etc are just what previous guests have left so we recommend you do take your own and grab some milk on your way so you can have a cuppa once you arrive, Jackie was friendly and welcoming. There is so much to do in devon and a trip to Cornwall is just over an hour away. Kent's cavern in Torquay, Plymouth marine aquarium are great and well worth visiting, the taw river inn in sticklepath has good home cooked food and beer both are really good value for money. Dartmoor prison museum and the information centre in Dartmoor are both very informative and interesting. Tavistock is 30 minutes away and is a lovely little town with a pannier market and shops it also has 3 supermarkets and plenty of places to eat. The shop at the garage near the cottage is well stocked and not over priced as you would expect a garage shop to be. We have really enjoyed our stay in devon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
The mattress on the double bed was new at the start of the year - it is a fairly firm mattress and was quite expensive to buy. We top up the tea, coffee, fruit teas, sugar and condiments before the arrival of new guests so they are always there when new guests arrive. There are wash basins in 2 of the bedrooms and we provide the hand soap for both of these, as well as for the sink in the bathroom and the kitchen. We provide shower gel for both showers. There may be a few additional toiletries that have been left by guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey W
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Accommodation, Location and Hosts”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is a really lovely well equipped cottage which has a cosy feel but plenty of space. Jackie and Ralph are excellent hosts and provided lots of useful information about the local area. The cottage is well situated for walking from the door or if needed easily getting to the main road to travel further afield.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No negative points
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debl599
Salem, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location for exploring Devon and north Cornwall...”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Shippon is a delightful, homey stone cottage on a farm (pet sheep, wonderful dogs) at the edge of Dartmoor National Park, a perfect location for exploring the moor and the surrounding countryside. Stonehenge and Tintagel are within easy driving distance, and the amazing gardens at Hidcote are close by. The cottage has all the necessary amenities (washer, electric fireplace, appliances), the beds are comfortable, and the host is friendly and welcoming. Reserving and paying were simple; good value for the money. There are two pubs close by with excellent food and drink and friendly folk, and the scenery is spectacular. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Sound of the highway
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb cottage in ideal location for Dartmoor.”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Shippon is in great location on edge of Dartmoor. Okehampton close by for shops and local village pub excellent for food. Cottage ideal for family of 4, we had 2 older teenagers. Jackie and Wilf very friendly and excellent hosts. Cottage nice and warm, it was a bit chilly in April but not a problem. Good secure parking off road. We would definitely use again if in area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort and facilities.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing