We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful warm and cosy cottage with spectacular...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bothy

Aerial View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial View
View of The Bothy and the private garden for guests. Living room with patio doors to watch the birds feeding.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Aerial View
View of The Bothy and the private garden for guests.
Living room with patio doors to watch the birds feeding.
View of the Peel tower from the Bothy garden.
Living Room.
Treat yourself to a cosy night in.
Living Room.
Overall 1.5 acre's of private premises.
Fully Equipped Country Kitchen.
South facing private patio area.
Bedroom with super-king size bed.
Bedroom with super-king split into singles ( if requested ).
Bedroom with built in wardrobes and dressing table.
North View with plenty of private parking.
Bathroom which has a shower over the bath.
Nearby Hallington reservoir ( fishing from land or boat available on day pass).
Nearby Belsay Hall & Castle.
Nearby Hadrian's Wall. This section at Steel Rig has a nice walk along it although a bit up & down.
Nearby Hareshaw Linn at Bellingham.
One of the few locals !
Stargazing From Little Bavington.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Little Bavington, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Padsandpa...
Binfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful warm and cosy cottage with spectacular views”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The cottage was a joy to stay in while I was visiting relatives. Highly recommend all round. First class in every way without the price tag! I will be back soon. Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Thank you for your kind and positive review.
We hope we see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Keith and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam jo...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect countryside getaway”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Myself and my partner wanted to get away from city life for our anniversary and this cottage was absolute perfection. We arrived late (8pm) and had a very warm greeting from Keith. The cottage has ample parking and we could park right next to the front door. It was exactly as the photos showed and even included a bottle of wine! The kitchen was well stocked with all pots/pans/cutlery/utensils. We had a wonderful trip to Hadrian's wall and Kielder Forest, both of which I'd recommend. The view from the kitchen windows was stunning and watching the sunset outside from the garden table was a beautiful. We cannot wait to visit again, thanks Keith/Christine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the owners
Liked least: How far away the nearest shop is
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for such a positive review.
We hope to see you both again,
Kind regards,
Keith & Christine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAYNOR F
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow! Amazing!”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stunning location! Superb views! The cleanliness was absolute top class. Nothing had been left to chance. There was coffee, tea, cling film - everything I'd find in my own kitchen! I arrived to find some lights had been left on and the heating was already on - what a lovely greeting! The owner was really kind and helpful. I will be passing on my recommendation to family and friends about the Bothy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like home from home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2015
We thank you for your very kind comments, and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
It is so nice when people can find the time to leave comments and they are greatly appreciated.
We hope to see you again sometime.
Kindest Regards,
Keith and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsey48...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The best kept secret”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The location of this beautiful cottage and views amazing.
The cottage is a few miles from anywhere but it is exactly what we wanted to see in the new year peace and quiet and plenty of country walks with our two dogs.
The cleanliness of the cottage is pristine everything is there for you.keith and Christine are next door if you need anything and so friendly.
I feel privileged to have found such a place the best kept secret in Northumberland and we will be back soon x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments, they are much appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you both again ( and the dogs ) and hopefully the weather will be a bit better next time.

Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We both loved the bothy perfect in everyday spotless and home from home ..the scenery is fab and owners very friendly ....lots to do and see in the surrounding area of nothumberland and newcastle ..would highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Mattress on bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
We apologize it has taken a while for us to respond,I thought Christine had and she thought I had !
We thank you for such a kind and positive review.
We hope to see you both again sometime,
Kind Regards
Keith and Christine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation and”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My husband and I booked a holiday in the Bothy for a change of scenery and relaxation and we were certainly not disappointed. The bothy was very well equipped with all the comforts of home, exceptionally clean and provided a holiday experience beyond our expectations. The hosts Christine and Keith could not have been more friendly without being intrusive. Fantastic views from the bothy and local wildlife were in abundance that were simply captivating.
Whilst the bothy is in a quiet peaceful location with wonderful country views it provided a fantastic base to visit and explore the local sites recommended by Christine and Keith. We visited Wallington Hall country house and Gardens, Cragside Hall, Vindolanda, the Roman Military museum, and Corbridge. The bothys location provided some beautiful walks including St Oswalds Way as well as the historic Hadrians wall. All of which enhanced our holiday. Would certainly recommend the bothy to friends and colleagues without reservation. Thanks to our hosts for a wonderful stay we will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the accommodation/great value for the price
Liked least: Should have booked a longer stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2014
We greatly appreciate your review and are so happy you both enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again. Regards Keith & Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laidbackw...
Inverness
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection Personified!!”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

From the moment we arrived at the Bothy the cares of the world fell from our shoulders. Met by Keith, who could not have been more friendly, we moved in. From the welcoming bottle of wine through the furnishings, fittings and decor it was obvious that a great deal of thought has been spent on ensuring that the visitor experience is first class. The gardens and surrounding countryside are perfect, the very busy bird feeders brought a wide array of visitors to our patio door and allowed Bren to have her first encounter with a woodpecker.

Keith and Christine are the perfect hosts, you know they're there if you need them but they do not intrude. Thank you both so much.

If we had one complaint in our week it was that the weather they provided was so good that we went out walking and sightseeing every day and couldn't spend a "duvet day" in this exquisite cottage.

A perfect location for visiting all of the major attractions of Northumberland, with museums, visitor attractions and walking for all levels. As many of the previous guests had stated in the visitors' book, we will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the quietness
Liked least: It was only a week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay and greatly appreciate your lovely review.
Kindest regards
Keith and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing