We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house/garden& location”
other travellers have booked this property
Rear of the property with peaceful meadow views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of the property with peaceful meadow views
Stepping out into the sunny garden The peaceful rear garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Rear of the property with peaceful meadow views
Stepping out into the sunny garden
The peaceful rear garden
Dining al fresco in the garden with meadow views
Waking up to beautiful countryside views
Kingsize bedroom 1
Spacious king size bedroom 1
King size bedroom 2 with peaceful garden views
Farmhouse kitchen with all mod cons
Cosy lounge with original stone flooring & open fire-place
Dining room with large oak dining table
Escapism at it's finest!
Relaxing in the peaceful garden
Hidden corners of the garden
Front of the property
The Creuse river flowing nearby
Exploring the local art galleries in charming Fresselines
Pretty local village of Fresselines with patisserie and restaurant just 3km away
Swimming and relaxing at Lac Bourg D'Hem
The beach at peaceful Lac Bourg D'Hem, ideal for children
Kayaking along the peaceful Creuse
The picturesque medieval village of Gargilesse, a member of  the most beautiful villages of France 2
Local produce market, every Thursday morning in Dun le Palestel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Fresselines, Creuse, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Zane20
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful house/garden& location”
Reviewed 11 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We stayed here with our 2 children aged 6&4.
This house is stunning and so is the garden and location. I had very high expectations after reading all the reviews reviews. All of the above exceeded my expectations. Alastair went long way to make sure this lovely house is done to satisfy anyone’s needs (pictures of his work can be seen in one picture folder) and has put a lot of thought into the house. It is done to a high standard, has very comfortable beds, quality linen, nice female touch is seen throughout the house. The house is spacious and the kitchen has everything from microwave, cooker, washing machine, fridge/freezer and even dishwasher.
The garden is wonderful, not overlooked by neighbours and very private with peaceful views. Also very spacious with swings and garden toys if need be. We really enjoyed making bonfire in the garden one evening.
Short nice walk from the house is a river, where our boys enjoyed getting cooler on a very hot afternoon.

The area is beautiful, we came here to explore lacs and were spoiled for choice. There are at least 3 lacs not too far to drive. We can recommend Lac d’ Eguzon that has 2 beaches on each side of the lake, Lac de Saint-Pardoux (nearly an hour drive) and Lac by Le Bourgh-d’ Hem village, which has amazing scenery, swimming with birds of prey surrounded forest was amazing.

Limoges has very good indoor swimming pool, which kept little ones entertained on one rainy day we had. Also, indoor play area in here.

Be prepared to drive to Dun-le -Palestel that is about 15-20 mins drive to a supermarket with a petrol station as we haven’t found anything closer. Fresselines has a restaurant - not walking distance and no patisserie in the village as confirmed by locals when we searched for one.

Don’t look further and book now as this house has all you need.
Alastair and Karen have genuine interest to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.

Thank you for making our holiday unforgettable, we were all sad to leave.
Martina

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is full of character and teh garden is great for the kids
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peaky2010
Lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned from a week stay at la petite maison creuse. We have 4 boys between 9 and 15y...it was perfect.
Communication with the owner was excellent and information about the directions and the local area received before we travelled was spot on, so we arrived stress free and ready to relax and enjoy everything on offer.
The house is beautifully situated, in a quiet spot at the end of a small hamlet. It is very tastefully decorated, and has everything you would need to have a relaxing family holiday. The garden is fabulous, lots of space for everybody to relax, or be active (great tree to climb, toys and games) there are a couple of bikes that we took out too. It is a lovely walk from the house down to the river, my boys loved exploring this...they saw crayfish and coypu.
The local area is beautiful, rolling hills and rural bliss. We visited local towns, but high points for the boys were the swimming lakes (Bourg D'hem) (La Celle Dunoise) and Kayaking at Crozant...loads of fun.
We would very happily return next year, (but we would stay for longer lol)...it is a great place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicia20...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice house”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in July 2015

In summer 2015 we enjoyed a lovely 1 week stay in this very nice and well equipped house in the centre of France. The garden is soo spacious and private. Within small distance of the house are many nice villages, lakes and markets to visit. We were totally relaxed after our week here and look forward to another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicehurl...
Pineuilh, France
1 review
“Fantastic holiday.”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Everything that the photos and write-ups showed were not exaggerated. The position of the house was sublime, our neighbours were a magnificent herd of Limousines cows with their new calves and in another field there were two horses.Lots to do and places of interest to visit. Beautiful garden with all amenities. The house was very comfortable with good appliances, lovely quality bedlinen. Shall definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: a welcome bottle of good white and chocolates was a nice gesture.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneBok
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to get away from everything”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this lovely house for 2 weeks in August. The kids absolutely loved the big garden with its trees to climb and hide behind. The hammock was a highlight and so were the horses at the end of the garden who very much appreciated the apples from the apple trees in the garden.

The house is very clean and well equipped. Beds as mentioned by people before, very comfortable!
Nice selection of DVDs although most for adults.

Only downside is the lack of Wifi which would have helped organise things on the couple of rainy days. Otherwise perfect.

Tip, the bakery in Fresselines is quite limited in its offer, so it's worth driving the extra 5 minutes to Dun le Palestal.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing