We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Rainforest Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skinners Shoot
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Rainforest Retreat”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We had a studio room, and while it is a true studio and is compact and quaint, the layout is perfect. You dont feel like there is not enough space at all. You just have to be careful whilst in the spa/shower that you dont get water everywhere.
The room was very clean and modern. The bed is huge and the linen is amazing.
We had a balcony overlooking the rainforest and it was absolutely gorgeous and tranquil. Having a glass of wine on the balcony in the afternoon was a highlight of our stay.
It's a 10 minute drive to town, so it's close without being too close.
The breakfast was very tasty and sitting around the pool eating it was lovely.
The only thing is that the rooms are quite close together and you can see and hear other people from your balcony. Not a big deal at all, but something to keep in mind.
The other thing is that there are wine glasses and cups, but no other cutlery, so be prepared to go out for meals or get something delivered (we got a pizza delivered very easily).
Overall, the rooms are lovely and the place itself is spectaculor. You are very much in the rainforest, which is so relaxing and refreshing.
The staff were also very friendly and accomodating.
I'd highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a rainforest getaway that is also close enough to Byron Bay.

Room Tip: The rooms down the bottom (we stayed in 5) are the most private. If you are concerned about space, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dell h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    80
    32
    14
    12
See reviews for
6
225
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

stayed one night during bluesfest and the room was lovely. small but with nice touches and the brekkie by the pool was pretty special. the only less great things were the fact that there was little privacy due to the thinness of the walls and that there was a general smell of sewerage in the morning.
however i will easily be going back there next time I am in byron.
especially for the view from bed into the woods!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amzdames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Azabu for a romantic getaway. It is best to have a car as the hotel is located a bit off the beaten path. It is close and easy to drive to town and beaches. Staying at Azabu is almost like staying in a treehouse in the rainforest. It is a beautiful setting and we had a queen spa room. However, you do have to expect to see a creepy crawlie or 2 as you are amongst nature. I have nothing bad to say about Azabu except for one thing. The entire staff should really get together 1 or 2 days out of the month and really clean the place from top to bottom. There were spiderwebs and dust not only in the rooms/windows but in the lobby area. The place really just needs a good dusting and wiping and it would be top-notch. Besides that, everything was great. Excellent breakfast and service....the staff were nice. Oh and yes, trust the directions to the hotel from the staff, not the GPS!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalfun00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a lovely stay at azabu, shame it was just for one night. The guesthouse was so tranquil, relaxing and romantic and we loved it.
We had a lovely day in Byron bay and night at azabu - the perfect spot to get engaged!
The breakfast was amazing three courses of delicious food, every bit had a twist and was beautifully presented.
The staff were so friendly and made the stay even more memerorable.
We wish we could have stayed longer and will always have fond memories of azabu.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We recently stayed for 4 nights at Azabu. There are some positive and negative things to say about the resort. The location is quite unique with wonderful balconies right into the rain forest. Unfortunately we did not feel we got good value for our money. Azabu is advertised as a luxury resort, but we cannot vouch for this statement.

- The biggest issues we had were about the cleanliness of our room. We found dust basically everywhere, except for the obvious cleaning spots. For example the shelf on top of the coat hanger, the lamps, the shutters, etc. Also Our balcony deck was not once wiped or swept during our stay, and considering that the deck stretches right out into the forest, bark, leaves and dirt will naturally accumulate.
- We did not get clean sheets in 4 nights (although the resort promises to change the sheets every 3rd night).
- The large balcony doors are great for the view, however there was a large gap between the bi-fold balcony doors and upper wall, which made us a bit uncomfortable regarding mozzies and other creepy crawlies entering a lit room at night.
- The TV is mounted at an angle where you cannot watch it from your bed as the colors get distorted.

Besides these issues with our room, were not too happy about the overall level of cleanliness of the entire resort. In our view, a LUXURY resort needs to be (almost) spotless clean. We know and appreciate that the resort is located in a forest and that leaves fall off trees, etc. But these are not the issues we are referring to. For example, the walking decks to the pool where not wiped clean in a while, as you could see dirty footprints, etc. Thus, in our view it was not too inviting to spend time on the sun loungers by the pool.

However, there are also some good things to say about Azabu:
- Nice balconies out into the rain forest + large bi-fold balcony windows looking directly out (It is quite special to wake up to this view, if you are used to skyscrapers across your bedroom window)
- The three course breakfast is fantastic
- The entire staff is very friendly
- The beds are good quality

All in all a good place to stay if you adjust your expectations that - except for the breakfast - it is not luxurious. It is a place to get a good nights sleep and have great breakfast, but not a place we felt we wanted to hang out and relax all day. If you want quietness and rain forest right in front of your doorstep then it is a good place to be.

Room Tip: Rooms 4+5 seemed to have the best views and most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabine_560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just come back from a 2 night stay at Azabu and we both wish we'd been booked in for 2 weeks! While the rest of Byron was manic (the Blues Fest was on) the tranquil ambience Azabu has created was a very pleasurable experience. Apart from hearing one obnoxious house guest who screeched her way to her room in the middle of the night and was quite insensitive to her tranquil surroundings.......we loved the peace and quiet and the feeling of being at one with nature. Breakfast by the pool was delightful, a three course feast with multiple choices and served by a charming girl.
The staff at Azabu were extremely helpful and thoughtful and I would recommend this place to any couple who enjoy each others company in a woodland setting.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Azabu is tucked away at the end of a road, extremely secluded and defintely away from the main tourist streets of Byron Bay. It took probably around 10 min to drive into town- not really walkable.
We stayed in a Queen spa room, which is exactly as described on the website and in other reviews. We did find it a bit disconcerting that our room was right by the pool (we could hear the filtering system) and had a path outside the window, as there were no curtains at all. However, the place was clean and well-appointed. They also luckily provide mozzie coils and insect repellent, as the place does become slightly overun by little flying insects and bugs in the evening! However this was expected as the place does have a rainforest retreat theme!
We did not use the pool, but it looked clean and the water was warm when we stuck our feet in. The 3-course breakfast served was excellent, and the service is warm and welcoming. They responded promptly with emails, and gave great directions to the place (as the GPS tends to misdirect you into someone's driveway!)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skinners Shoot
2.8 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
352 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
184 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
3.4 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#14 of 32 in Byron Bay
95 reviews
2.3 mi away
A Beach House At Byron
A Beach House At Byron
#29 of 32 in Byron Bay
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay

Property: Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Address: 317 Skinners Shoot Rd, Skinners Shoot, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Azabu Guesthouse Byron Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay > Skinners Shoot
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skinners Shoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azabu Nature Guesthouse in Byron Bay is a tranquil escape nestled in the coastal hinterland of Northern New South Wales. Located only a 5 minute drive from the trendy Byron Bay shopping precinct and some of the world’s best beaches, Azabu is the ultimate destination to enjoy all that Byron Bay has to offer. With only five exclusive boutique guesthouses elevated above five hectares of natural forest, Azabu is a unique accommodation experience. At Azabu you can immerse yourself in nature, be greeted by the local fauna including Azabu’s resident peacocks and take the time to appreciate the natural hoop pine forest that surrounds your private guesthouse. At Azabu you can relax in the outdoor pool and heated spa or retreat to our secluded meditation and reading deck. Upon waking you can enjoy our gourmet three-course breakfast, which uses organic local produce. We also encourage you to try our day spa, with local Byron Bay therapists available to treat you to a wide range of relaxation therapies using organic beauty products. Azabu is a unique holiday destination, for relaxation, a romantic retreat, honeymoon getaway, or for a little bit of Zen-time in a magnificent natural setting. Azabu Nature Guesthouse…your own private escape in Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azabu Luxury Accommodation Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing