We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skinners Shoot
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed traveller”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Very disappointed with our stay at Azabu. The room was very dirty, needed refurbishment and certainly not luxurious. Spiders on the ceiling. The breakfast was excellent however. The experience of staying there could be great - but lots of cleaning needs to be done!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    77
    31
    14
    12
See reviews for
5
220
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

The service was terrible the room was dirty and the breakfast was cold.

Firstly when we arrived at 1:30pm to check in there was no one at reception we walked around the grounds looking for someone to check us in finally we meet a girl cleaning one of the rooms that checked us in. This girl did not tell us anything about the resort what time breakfast was etc. After dragging our bags down to the room ourselves with no assistance we noticed a big cluster of ants all over the floor.

I called reception but no one answer probably as the receptionist doubled and a cleaning lady and waitress in the morning no wonder she was never on reception. She came down and mope the room. I asked to be changed room but they were fully booked.


The room were described on the azabu web site as “spacious room is fully equipped with creature comforts and high quality modern amenities” this certainly was not the case in as our room was small and pokey there were ants all over the floor there was dust on the bedside table and the reading lights were completely rusted. On the wall there was notice informing you about ant’s mosquitoes etc none of which were mention on your web site which is totally miss leading. I have no idea what “comforts and high quality modern amenities” azabu were referring to because there certainty was none in our room. Also from 4 o’clock in the day there was no receptionist, night porter, no staff what so ever.

After not the best of starts we were looking forward to our gourmet three-course breakfast –we very sadly disappointed the food was cooled there were ants all over the table which I took photos off. This was the same the next day the poached egg was over cook everything on the plate was burnt. All in all there was nothing positive to say about Azabu I fell totally misleading the customer service was shocking.

After emailed to complain about our stay I was told it is not part of their policy we do not offer refunds. Again offering no customer service.

Room Tip: Do not go there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sineadnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

As the receptionist does assist with breakfast service and cleaning we provide our phone number and bell on front desk for guests to call/ring if we are not on reception at time of arrival. We also put a sign at reception after 4 pm with contact details of our onsite caretaker, He is available after hours for inquiries and emergency assistance. Up until now we have not received a complaint in regards to staffing, we are usually complemented on our small team as it provides a more personal touch. Our team prides themselves on efforts to deliver exceptional service and it disappoints me to hear you did not receive the level of customer service expected. When greeting arrivals our procedure is to run through details including breakfast times, where you can locate pool towels and onsite care taker details. This information is also displayed in rooms.

It is unfortunate that some ants had made their way into your room as rooms are cleaned daily. We were sympathetic to your circumstances and offered our services to clear them from the room and laid ants baits to prevent their return. Had we had a spare room we would have been happy to change rooms however at this time we were fully booked.

I am disappointed to hear your breakfast experience was not brilliant either, as we are commonly complimented on our three-course breakfast service.

I am sorry to hear your stay was not what you had expected and hope that you were able to enjoy some of your time with us.

Kind regards,

Krista McCulloch
Manager
Azabu Nature Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Had a great stay at Azabu in spite of all the rain. In fact, there's something quite special about sleeping in a rain forest during a tropical low! Fantastic breakfasts and lovely helpful staff. Can highly recommend Tanya the brilliant therapists' 'Treat' and staying for 5 days and qualifying for the champagne with seafood platter. One thing, if it's wet and warm, take all mosquito precautions and spray with repellent before breakast round the pool!

Room Tip: Loved the room with the sunken spa bath. A good soak after a swim in the sea with the doors wide op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynBCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you for your response.

There is something special about staying at Azabu even in the weather we have had lately. Due to wet weather the mosquitoes can make themselves welcome, this is why we provide mosquito repellent and coils in all rooms so guests can be in comfort. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you can come stay again.

Kind regards,
Krista McCulloch
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had a wonderful trip to Azabu for our anniversary and Valentines Day all in one. A perfect place away from the hubbub of downtown Byron Bay, though only a five minute drive. The breakfast the next day was awesome and the facilities wonderful. My partner had a great Reiki session there and apparently the massages are also outstanding. Highly recommend this retreat. Only small downside we had was noisy neighbours as the walls are thin, the headboad banging in the night sort of stuff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This guesthouse is gorgeous. The lady at reception was so lovely and showed us through the 2 room types before deciding to stay in the king suite. The bed was comfy and the room was spotless. The private balcony overlooked the rainforest and it was so peaceful sitting out there. It did rain through the night and we kept all the top windows open, the smell of the air was beautiful and it was so cool. The pool and spa were a good size and the spa a beautiful warm temperature. On site day spa facilities are available. The facility does not have a dinner restaurant but it's only a quick 10 minute drive into Byron Bay. The next morning a lovely chef cooked us a divine 3 course breakfast. She was so lovely and the food was the best i had tasted. This is a must place to stay and i will absolutely be going back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanandAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2013

What a gorgeous and romantic place to stay!

Located only a few minutes from the city centre, it offers the serenity of the rainforest and truly makes you feel as if you are miles away from the beach, let alone the noise of the town centre.
We traveled into town both nights of our stay for dinner, and it really is only less than 10 mins away. We got the best of both worlds, the beach and the 'hussle and bussle of Byron' plus a luxury cabin surrounded by lush greenery and wildlife. We were even lucky enough to have 2 peacocks greet us on our arrival.

The rooms are cosy in size, but quite airy, it was beautiful to open up all the doors and louvers, and lay back on the bed enjoying the cool afternoon breeze, listening to the birds and read a few chapters of my book before dozing off for 40 winks.

Azabu really has thought of everything, there were candles, incense and matches in the rooms, as well as mozzie coils, mozzie spray and ant rid just in case you needed them.

It's worth going to stay at Azabu just for breakfast alone! White linen tables around the pool area, served with a 3 course meal. Fresh fruit platters, muesli or fruit toast, and a selection of mains to choose from (go for the pesto omellette, it was AMAZING.)

We didn't use the pool or (heated) spa as we ran out of time, but the area was presented very well, and it certainly looked inviting.

The staff were helpful and friendly, but left us to our own devices, with only 5 rooms it really was quite private. Exactly what we were looking for to celebrate our anniversary weekend.

Definitely the place to go for a romantic get away, or just a chill out weekend.

If we end up back in Byron Bay, we would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I sat in my bed with my laptop, emailing the office and writing a report. At the end of the bed in a beautifully styled room the doors were fully open onto the bushland. Just glorious!
Great rooms, amazing massage, all the extras such as mozzie coils and Byron Bay Coffee.
I'd be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woollahranick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skinners Shoot
2.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.8 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.3 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay

Property: Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Address: 317 Skinners Shoot Rd, Skinners Shoot, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Azabu Guesthouse Byron Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay > Skinners Shoot
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skinners Shoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azabu Nature Guesthouse in Byron Bay is a tranquil escape nestled in the coastal hinterland of Northern New South Wales. Located only a 5 minute drive from the trendy Byron Bay shopping precinct and some of the world’s best beaches, Azabu is the ultimate destination to enjoy all that Byron Bay has to offer. With only five exclusive boutique guesthouses elevated above five hectares of natural forest, Azabu is a unique accommodation experience. At Azabu you can immerse yourself in nature, be greeted by the local fauna including Azabu’s resident peacocks and take the time to appreciate the natural hoop pine forest that surrounds your private guesthouse. At Azabu you can relax in the outdoor pool and heated spa or retreat to our secluded meditation and reading deck. Upon waking you can enjoy our gourmet three-course breakfast, which uses organic local produce. We also encourage you to try our day spa, with local Byron Bay therapists available to treat you to a wide range of relaxation therapies using organic beauty products. Azabu is a unique holiday destination, for relaxation, a romantic retreat, honeymoon getaway, or for a little bit of Zen-time in a magnificent natural setting. Azabu Nature Guesthouse…your own private escape in Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azabu Luxury Accommodation Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing