We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandpiper Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandpiper Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The best thing about the Sandpiper is it's location. Right on the beach and not in Jaco! The black sand beach (Playa Hermosa) is gorgeous. You you can swim, relax, and watch the surfers. The rooms are clean and very spacious. The grounds were nice, with hammocks, a ping pong table and small pool. Greg was very helpful and steered us in the right direction for meals.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    17
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
59
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We met Greg (the owner) on the beach while he was playing fetch with his dog Cody. He was extremely nice. After staying one night at a hotel with really loud music blaring from the bar next door we moved down to the Sandpiper. Greg was an excellent host and gave us a good rate ont he room. The hotel was clean and well maintained despite us being the only guests. I would highly recommend staying with him. There's a little hut right on the beach with hammocks and a nice recreation area on the grounds. There is also an excellent pizza place within walking distance called Pizza Bocha.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Sandpiper Inn is absolutely fabulous and a must stay/see location while in Costa Rica. We were fortunate enough to stay here one night last week & it was by far our favorite beach day in Costa Rica!

Greg, the owner, is more than accommodating. He is so friendly and gave us great advice about our travels, even after our stay at the Sandpiper Inn. Not to mention, he has the sweetest chocolate lab named Corey :)

The beach is a few feet from your door and the waves are huge! We watched the surfers and hung on the beach all day.

The Sandpiper Inn was our best find while in Costa Rica and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone visiting Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristaHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Perfect location right on the beach! Clean and quiet too. AC is a huge plus! My boyfriend and I stayed here on our first leg of our trip. I emailed Greg and he got back to me right away and even got us in contact with someone to transport us from the airport. On our way out we even came back to say goodbye to Greg and his pup Cory! Thanks Greg for a great stay and all the helpful advice about the area!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The perfect place to totally unwind and enjoy the warmth of the sun, away from the hustle (by Costa Rica standards) of nearby Jaco. Iguanas stroll the walkways and hang out next to the pool. Macaws visit the property's trees. The waves are best for experienced surfers. Plenty of places to eat and drink within walking distance. Proprietor Greg Miller is an interesting dude with an amazing history (ask him about his human-powered flight record and years working the Tour d' France). Rent-a-cars are cheap and the place serves as a great base for exploring the area. Not a cheap surfer hotel (those can be nasty) and not some fancy resort. Just a great vibe, clean rooms and amazing sunsets.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyTiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is a surfer's dream! If you don't surf, it's also great. The owner is very helpful and willing to make your experience the best. He has great knowledge of the area and has the ability to transport you to Jaco Beach. There are several restaurants within walking distance, so there is no need to drive around once you arrive. The rooms were clean and simple, but all we needed for a nice vacation. The pool is great, but so is the beach. There are a few social areas for relaxing, as well. If you are looking for a small, low key place to stay on your vacation, I definitely recommend. We truly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Beautiful clean and comfortable rooms, delicious food, awesome waves, great prices, Attended by its owner who knows the surfing spots and guided us. My husband and I had a great surfing vacation.

We felt at home there.
I Loved it <3

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.3 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#22 of 44 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.6 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.0 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Hotel

Property: Sandpiper Hotel
Address: On the beach, in front of Soccer field | Playa Hermosa / Jaco / Costa Rica, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms have FULL kitchens with Microwave, Stove, Toaster, Coffee Maker, Fridge, Dishes, pots & pans..Great A/C, WiFi, Cable TV with English stations - HBO, TNT, CNN etc..Free Beach chairs & beach Umbrellas, Pool, Ping-pong, Rancho with Hammocks, secure parking & we are ON the beach / Sand!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing