We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and awesome hospitality”
Review of Surf Inn Hermosa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surf Inn Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location and awesome hospitality”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This boutique hotel on the beach of Playa Hermosa is the jewel of this small beach community just south of Jaco. Owners Christina and Michael are on site and always available to offer suggestions for fun local attractions and great places to eat, often known only to the locals. Very Clean and highly recommended!

Room Tip: The two beach front two bedroom condos are large and modern and comfy. All the comforts of home and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyRideSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again when you come thru Costa Rica on your next trip. PURA VIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
19
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Surf Inn is wonderful - both in location and service. My partner had an accident in the water the second day we were there, and while he was in hospital Christina took great care of my children and I. She let us stay several extra nights although the place was booked out, and called the hospital on my behalf several times a day. I could not have gotten through that traumatic event without her. The location is equally as wonderful - beautiful black sand beach, decent waves, quiet atmosphere, and hotspot Jaco only a 5 minute drive away. One of our favourite spots. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy your partner was ok. We hope to see you again when you come back thru Costa Rica! Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I am not sure even where to start in describing how satisfied I was with my accommodations at Surf Inn Hermosa. For starters, Christina and Mike are the most amazing hosts. Christina can answer any question you have and line up any activity you desire. Mike has the area wired in terms of the best and least crowded surf breaks. Marisol, the housekeeper, kept us supplied with fresh towels, tp, and whatever we needed, all with a gracious and warm smile. We stayed in a 3 bed studio which worked out perfectly. Room for 3 grown men to sleep, 3 surfboards, and all of our luggage. Hot showers, reliable plumbing, ac, wifi, and even cable tv. The pool was always cool and refreshing. The fairway quality grass lawn out front blended perfectly into the black sand beach, with plenty of room to get some sun or nap in the shade. Security and safety was never an issue during our stay. Amazing restaurants just steps away, and just a short walk to a local store that had all the essentials. A secure and convenient parking area for our rental vehicle, clean sheets and soft pillows, accessible hose and outside shower, beach chairs, microwave, fridge, stove top, this place really did have it all. Our neighbors were all super cool and friendly, the overall vibe is just right on. I'll be staying here again next year for sure and really never wanted to leave. Great waves out front, great owners, really can't say enough about how much fun I had and how at ease I was made to feel, I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlimSurfer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you all again when you come back thru Costa Rica! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel offers many things. Comfort, safety and ocean front relaxation.
I have stayed here many times and I highly recommend this to anyone that want s to stay in Playa Hermosa.
For the price you get safe and clean rooms. WIFI, Cable and AC are nice when you are relaxing inside.
There are several restaurants in walking distance if you choose to dine out.
The kitchens in the rooms give you the option to cook and store some good food and snacks.
There is a local grocery in walking distance for your basic needs.
The pool is nice to take a dip after a swim/surf in the ocean.
The grass lawn gives you the freedom to relax in one of the lawn chairs and watch the surf and the best sunsets.
The staff is very friendly and will cater to your needs.
Their is a yoga studio on the 3rd floor for retreats and classes. Best ocean view
Overall, if you love staying ocean front, Surf Inn Hermosa is the best!!

Room Tip: The studios are great but the one ocean front 2 bedroom is great for larger groups. You have your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnolongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for your review! We look forward to having you come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Surf Inn was fabulous and we couldn't have asked for better accommodations and hospitality. Christina is the best and very helpful with anything you need. This place is definitely a hidden treasure, its right on the beach with several good restaurant's within walking distance. We highly recommend this place and will definitely be back.
PURA VIDA

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, choose the 2 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ttweaver66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you Weaver Family for the awesome review. We really appreciate your time and your stay with us; and we hope to see you on your next trip thru Costa Rica. PURA VIDA! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed here at Surf Inn Hermosa and have become enamored once again with this "hidden gem". For those that want an off the beaten path experience, yet like the accessibility of modern conveniences, look no further! Also, new Costa Rican travelers will appreciate staying here!

The Lowdown:

Beach: Playa Hermosa is a surfers paradise, black sand, awesome waves for the moderate surfer (def not beginner like me, but Christina the owner and her partner Michael can arrange surf lessons and even do a cost effective surf/yoga/fitness package, just ask!), and off the beaten path experience (not on major maps), but there s wi-fi, and hotels from all levels (surf/backpack rooms, to marble bathrooms like Surf Inn). The water is very warm, and has wave sizes and strengths for all tastes and swimming skill.

Inn: Surf Inn is run by an awesome owner, Christina, who works with you on planning your vacation, and is a wonderful guide to new Costa Rican travelers. She is a wonderful guide both to the local
Activities and will even make reservations and suggestions for you. She also guides you to what Costa Rica is about, that " Pura Vida" lifestyle and helps you navigate your way to this "easy going" chill way of life. The rooms are very comfortable, some are studios with kitchenettes, some have 2 beds overlooking the water, the Inn is right on the beach, and she or Marisol (the helper), are around for questions ect. It's not a hotel, so no dialing zero for the front desk or anything, but the small staff is very helpful. Just ask! There is no food here, unless you are doing the surf/yoga packages, but the restaurant next door, Vista Hermosa, is amazing! Fresh and delicious food, we are at least 1 or 2 meals there which were reasonably priced.

Food: lots of food options, Los Olas has good breakfast and it's cool to watch the surfers while you re having your Costa Rican coffee, lunch and dinners we usually did Vista Hermosa or Backyard Bar 3 hotels over.

Surf inn Hermosa is small, but intimate, and they treat you like friends/family there. It's not a party scene, so if that's what you want, look towards Backyard Bar or Jaco. But if you want a relaxed, and chill surfer vibe that's still "comfortable" (no electric showers here lol normal American standard rooms and bathrooms), the you will be very happy here, as we were. oh bring cash though! ATM s are a $10 taxi ride to Jaco. If you need nightlife, Jaco s close enough, some places there that are good to check out are Los Amigos and Taco Bar, for Costarican food, Rustica. If you re not sure, just ask Christina! She hasn't steered us wrong after 2 visits ;).

note: if you have a day or so to spare, go check out Manuel Antonio! Pay the extra for the tour down the reserve, it's worth it to see sloths and bats and other cool animals! ;) Pura Vida!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyKatNYC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate it and hope to see you on your return trip to Costa Rica. Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

i love this place its my 2nd time staying there and will always stay there when i go back. christina the owner is the best she so nice . the hotel rooms are sweet very nice great bed and hot water good shower. christina can make your trip even better she takes pictures of you when you go surfing she took great ones of me . the surf is the best right out front. best place to go with friends or your family...thanks christina for making my trip the best

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carbone1336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate it. Hope to see you on your way back thru Costa Rica. Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.0 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#21 of 42 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.7 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marea Brava
Marea Brava
#2 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Inn Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Inn Hermosa

Property: Surf Inn Hermosa
Address: 200 meters south of Escuela Pochotal, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PURA VIDA Costa Rican getaway, ideally situated in the heart of Playa Hermosa. Surf Inn is located oceanfront at one of Playa Hermosa's most consistent surf spots. These rentals consist of: two 2 bed/2 bath ocean front condos and four furnished studio apartments which are just steps from the beach. Each room features a queen size bed with individual bunk in custom designed bed frames. The front lawn is a popular spot to sit and watch the mesmerizing surfing going on out front. On-site owners & great staff assure attention to detail during your stay. Playa Hermosa's Restaurants and Bars are all within walking distance. Jaco Beach is a 5 minute Taxi Ride away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf Inn Hermosa Hotel Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing