We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location and”
Review of Hermosa Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hermosa Bungalows
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing location and”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The bungalows are amazingly located- right across a gravel street from the ocean and surrounded by jungle, walking distance from the small surf town of Playa Hermosa. The managers are all super friendly, Brian and Laura are super helpful without being pushy and can rent you boogie boards to play in the amazing surf in front of the unit. We stayed in #19 and loved the eclectic international feel of the decor. As far as food, for making your own meals/snacks, the AutoMercado 10 minutes away is fully stocked. For meals out, can't recommend Bowie's place enough- the owner Roger is so friendly- you can usually find him trailed by his sweet pack of rescue dogs.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Khamachek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed in Bungalow #5 for 1 week. Although not front row it had great views of the ocean from our deck. It also had a queen bed in each bedroom which was why we chose this particular bungalow. Playa Hermosa is 8km from the town of Jaco where we went to get supplies. In Playa Hermosa and walking distance (10 minutes) from the Bunglaows are several restaurants and bars. We particularly enjoyed the Backyard bar for dinners and the bar. There are delicious Banana Pancakes at Vista Hermosa just a door or two down from the backyard bar.

On day 1 we arrived at 1200 as promised but the manager was not at his bungalow, he was out surfing and the fellow that was there promised to refer him over to us when he got back. There is no question in my mind that the guy who answered the door was pretty stoned but he passed on our message. We went and parked under the bungalow and waited on the deck of number 5 until Aaron arrived 15 or 20 minutes later.

Aaron was very friendly as he opened up the place for us, turned on the AC, gave us a quick walk around and left us to get organised. The place was pretty dusty and needed both a good sweep and wipe down inside and out. So we did it. A quick repair to the broom with a screw and duct tape had in functioning perfectly in no time. There a few different property Managers at the complex, Twinka seemed to be very engaged with the units she was taking care of..even gave us a much appreciated hand in getting my son's delayed luggage to the bungalows.

The Kitchen is fully equipped with fridge, stove, dishwasher, garburator, washer & dryer. The unit was tastefully decorated and had everything we needed.

The bathroom had a shower only which was fine but needed some general maintenance. You have to get creative to rinse your hair as the shower head could really use a de-scaling.

The property has lovely pool area and the water temp is perfect, there are chaises around the pool and additional seating under a covered area if you prefer the shade. There's also a couple of hammocks to relax in there. The grounds at the complex are beautifully maintained.

Across the road from the bungalows is Playa Hermosa. Lots of surfers in the morning and evenings. Seems to be a good place to boogie board as well but I would suggest you have to be a strong swimmer out there.

As I pre-booked all my excursions I did not make use of the managers on site to do bookings. Apparently they have a few connections to do this if you wait until you get there. We booked surfing with Del Mal Surf camp in Jaco... I pre-paid before I arrived and they were excellent. Our instructors were Paco and Jesus were awesome ..can't say enough good there! I also booked a Tortuga Island snorkeling adventure through costaricawaterfalltours.com and we were very happy with the adventure.

We also explored other areas on our own including Manuel Antonio National Park and Carara National Park. Both excellent journeys. There are guides available to take you through the parks at $25 a person... I believe we saw more in Manuel Antonio than we would have if we'd done it alone. we also negotiated it down to $40 for the 3 of us. In Carara we went it alone and still saw scarlet Macaws, Parakeets, an Agouti and more.

Hermosa bungalow's was the perfect location for the adventures we had planned for our trip to Costa Rica. I would definitely stay there again...truly can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in bungalow #28. Great place, lots of room for our family of five. Loved staying in the back, very private. The pool was wonderful and the grounds are clean and well maintained. The best part of the property is Twinka the manager. She is priceless! Definitely get in contact with her before you rent; she will pick the right bungalow that meets your needs. She will also help you chose the best excursions as she knows everyone. The surf is rough but we still had fun swimming in the ocean. If you're looking to get away from the crowds this is the place!

Room Tip: Ask Twinka she will pick the right bungalow for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdmcdutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We have stayed here on four different trips from '07-'10. The location cannot be beat. Two of our vacations involved a large group of 15-25 people, so we have pretty much seen every bungalow on the premise. With the exception of a couple, they are all fantastic.
We have not had the opportunity to stay since Twinka has been managing but I have met her and she is lovely.

I'm hoping that the other manager is no longer there because he was incredibly rude on our 2010 trip when we had rented 5 of the bungalows and 2 were not livable due to mold and/or construction issues.

The location is ideal, only a 10 minute drive to Jaco and steps onto the beach. We love it. It's home away from home with all of the amenities. It's our go-to spot, for sure.

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoleGirl0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed in bungalow #1 for two weeks. There is everything you need to accommodate a family. The view is just incredible. My husband and son surfed right outside our bungalow every day. It's too rough to swim, but my other kids just swam in the community pool. The full time residents are so friendly and helpful. We got invited to a birthday party and when another neighbor caught a ton of fish, everyone gathered at the pool for a fish feast! The kitchen is fully equipped, AC worked great, has a washer and dryer, TV with some english channels. We spent most of the time outside on the front porch. Jaco is only a quick 10 minute drive with all sorts of shopping, grocery stores and restaurants. We rented a car from Zuma and they let you park in their secure parking lot any time you are in Jaco. Esterillos is just a few minutes drive down the road, so the guys had a choice of three surf spots every day. The community has a security guard that patrols the properties all night. The turtle reserve is just a quick bike ride down the road from the bungalows...total worth the time. During hatching season, they release baby turtles every morning and collect eggs from the beach every night. You can be a part of both. My kids LOVED this and it was incredible educational. It's exactly what you would expect from a beach house, comfortable but not extravagant. We liked the flexibility of being able to cook or run into town for a meal.

Our only complaint for Bungalow #1. Master bed had a below average double mattress with a misfitting boxspring, so the actual mattress hung over the sides of the boxspring which made the sides of the bed slope down. We dealt with it fine, but this could be a problem for anyone tall or on the heavy side.

Room Tip: All the bungalows are very close to the beach. #1, 2, 3 , 4 are beachfront. If you have kids that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nogranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tustin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We just got back from staying at the Hermosa Beach Bungalows in Bungalow 4. This Bungalow is wonderful! It is ocean front and decorated beautifully! We stayed 5 nights and wanted to continue to stay for longer! My husband and I were traveling with our 9 and 11 year old girls. They loved the bunk beds and having a space for themselves! So much nicer than a hotel room. The bungalow comes with everything you need. The washer/dryer was so nice as we didn't have to pack as many clothes for our trip. The Manager Twinka and her daughter Alexandra were so very very helpful! We arrived to food and cold drinks already stocked which was so nice as we drove from Arenal at night. Twinka set up all our activities and they were all fantastic! We even had Twinka take family photos of us on the beach! We always felt safe (other than the crazy driving) but we can't wait to go back! We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else that is for sure!

Room Tip: #4 is beautiful but the grounds are so nice I am sure all the units would be great to stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have been coming to the hermosa bungalows for about 6 years now and always make this the last stop for our trip to costa rica. The houses have everything you need down to the wine opener. They have AC and washer and dryers. The location is a quick stop outside of jaco, which has ever amenity you need, but out of the touristy busy vibe of jaco. The surf is pounding outside your door to lull you to sleep, scarlet macaws fly overhead and geckos sing you a song as the night rolls in. Twinka and Alexandra are the most accomodating hosts ever and will give you advice and help you choose the perfect activities. I Am actually sitting on the porch of my bungalow right now, using the Internet and having a little Chilean wine, wishing I could stay longer. What a beautiful way to end a perfect trip.

Room Tip: Book with twinka. There are several managers on site but the bungalows she rents are in excellent c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joni42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#21 of 42 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.4 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Bungalows

Property: Hermosa Bungalows
Address: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Playa Hermosa
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing