We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great remote spot - but choose wisely!”
Review of Hermosa Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hermosa Bungalows
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great remote spot - but choose wisely!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This place is really cool and, if you want a remote getaway, it's perfect. It is important to know that these are all owned individually and are all different. This review is for bungalow #2.

We almost ended up in #1, which was pretty rundown. #2 is beautiful, well-kept, clean, and managed by Brian, a really conscientious dude. Brian can help with booking lots of adventures as well. Even though #1 and #2 are both "first tier," they are very different for the same price.

These are not hotels - they are like condos. You will do your own cooking, cleaning, etc. There is also a $30 cleaning fee that is additional for the maid to come through when you are done.

Close enough to downtown Jaco to get groceries, but far enough to get away from everything, it was a little bit of paradise.

Room Tip: All I can say is if you are going to spend first tier money, get #2, not #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstanwyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Mine is a tale of two bungalows....we were originally to stay in #28 but ended up in #7. They are all individually owned, and there seem to be 3 different property managers on sight depending on the bungalow. Upon our arrival, Aaron,the property manager was not on sight and had left the key for us. No problem....except that bungalow #28 had no electricity! We left a note with the manager and wasted the afternoon in Jaco. With no relief in sight by 7pm, Twinka saved the day.
Twinka is the manager for some of the other bungalows. She saw our dismay and immediately offered for us to stay in an empty bungalow. She made some phone calls for us, told us not to worry and even made us cocktails! What an angel. I don't know what we would have done if she hasn't stepped in.
Since Aaron, the property manager for #28 did not contact us until 1:30 pm the following day, we chose to stay in bungalow #7, where we were already settled. I'm not here to bash anyone, but the lack of concern shown by Aaron, was hard to accept, and we didn't want to have to deal with him the rest of our trip. Twinka checked on us numerous times, recommended restaurants and arranged tours for us. She really does her job well!
Anyhow....the bungalows are so great! The pool and tiki bar are relaxing in the hot afternoon. Each bungalow is different, but I imagine they are all as lovely as #7 were. The kitchen was stocked, bathroom was clean, beds were comfy, and the AC and Internet worked great. Sitting on the front porch with my coffee and watching the waves was soothing. It's a nice quiet location within a quick drive to Jaco, and a short walk to the cute restaurants in Hermosa. A great choice if you want to have a relaxing stay in Playa Hermosa!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank roseygirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxahatchee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I love the bungalows so much that I wanted to loging and write a review and we are still here! We are enjoying bungalow 28 as an anniversary celebration.. the bungalow was very nicely decorated and stocked with coffee and water for our stay. After a huge debacle with our luggage, not only did the owner of the bungalow but also the property manager and security guards have bent over backwards to help us.. They've given recommendations for where to get cloths, kept an eye out for the delivery driver with our luggage, and even allowed us to use their local phone in several occasions.... This has truly been the bright spot of our vacations so far and can only imagine it will get better now that we have our luggage ;)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The bungalows are amazingly located- right across a gravel street from the ocean and surrounded by jungle, walking distance from the small surf town of Playa Hermosa. The managers are all super friendly, Brian and Laura are super helpful without being pushy and can rent you boogie boards to play in the amazing surf in front of the unit. We stayed in #19 and loved the eclectic international feel of the decor. As far as food, for making your own meals/snacks, the AutoMercado 10 minutes away is fully stocked. For meals out, can't recommend Bowie's place enough- the owner Roger is so friendly- you can usually find him trailed by his sweet pack of rescue dogs.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Khamachek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed in Bungalow #5 for 1 week. Although not front row it had great views of the ocean from our deck. It also had a queen bed in each bedroom which was why we chose this particular bungalow. Playa Hermosa is 8km from the town of Jaco where we went to get supplies. In Playa Hermosa and walking distance (10 minutes) from the Bunglaows are several restaurants and bars. We particularly enjoyed the Backyard bar for dinners and the bar. There are delicious Banana Pancakes at Vista Hermosa just a door or two down from the backyard bar.

On day 1 we arrived at 1200 as promised but the manager was not at his bungalow, he was out surfing and the fellow that was there promised to refer him over to us when he got back. There is no question in my mind that the guy who answered the door was pretty stoned but he passed on our message. We went and parked under the bungalow and waited on the deck of number 5 until Aaron arrived 15 or 20 minutes later.

Aaron was very friendly as he opened up the place for us, turned on the AC, gave us a quick walk around and left us to get organised. The place was pretty dusty and needed both a good sweep and wipe down inside and out. So we did it. A quick repair to the broom with a screw and duct tape had in functioning perfectly in no time. There a few different property Managers at the complex, Twinka seemed to be very engaged with the units she was taking care of..even gave us a much appreciated hand in getting my son's delayed luggage to the bungalows.

The Kitchen is fully equipped with fridge, stove, dishwasher, garburator, washer & dryer. The unit was tastefully decorated and had everything we needed.

The bathroom had a shower only which was fine but needed some general maintenance. You have to get creative to rinse your hair as the shower head could really use a de-scaling.

The property has lovely pool area and the water temp is perfect, there are chaises around the pool and additional seating under a covered area if you prefer the shade. There's also a couple of hammocks to relax in there. The grounds at the complex are beautifully maintained.

Across the road from the bungalows is Playa Hermosa. Lots of surfers in the morning and evenings. Seems to be a good place to boogie board as well but I would suggest you have to be a strong swimmer out there.

As I pre-booked all my excursions I did not make use of the managers on site to do bookings. Apparently they have a few connections to do this if you wait until you get there. We booked surfing with Del Mal Surf camp in Jaco... I pre-paid before I arrived and they were excellent. Our instructors were Paco and Jesus were awesome ..can't say enough good there! I also booked a Tortuga Island snorkeling adventure through costaricawaterfalltours.com and we were very happy with the adventure.

We also explored other areas on our own including Manuel Antonio National Park and Carara National Park. Both excellent journeys. There are guides available to take you through the parks at $25 a person... I believe we saw more in Manuel Antonio than we would have if we'd done it alone. we also negotiated it down to $40 for the 3 of us. In Carara we went it alone and still saw scarlet Macaws, Parakeets, an Agouti and more.

Hermosa bungalow's was the perfect location for the adventures we had planned for our trip to Costa Rica. I would definitely stay there again...truly can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in bungalow #28. Great place, lots of room for our family of five. Loved staying in the back, very private. The pool was wonderful and the grounds are clean and well maintained. The best part of the property is Twinka the manager. She is priceless! Definitely get in contact with her before you rent; she will pick the right bungalow that meets your needs. She will also help you chose the best excursions as she knows everyone. The surf is rough but we still had fun swimming in the ocean. If you're looking to get away from the crowds this is the place!

Room Tip: Ask Twinka she will pick the right bungalow for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdmcdutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We have stayed here on four different trips from '07-'10. The location cannot be beat. Two of our vacations involved a large group of 15-25 people, so we have pretty much seen every bungalow on the premise. With the exception of a couple, they are all fantastic.
We have not had the opportunity to stay since Twinka has been managing but I have met her and she is lovely.

I'm hoping that the other manager is no longer there because he was incredibly rude on our 2010 trip when we had rented 5 of the bungalows and 2 were not livable due to mold and/or construction issues.

The location is ideal, only a 10 minute drive to Jaco and steps onto the beach. We love it. It's home away from home with all of the amenities. It's our go-to spot, for sure.

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoleGirl0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.7 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#19 of 41 in Jaco
144 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
7.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
9.1 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Bungalows

Property: Hermosa Bungalows
Address: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Playa Hermosa
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing