We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May have been nice many years ago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Terraza del Pacifico
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Bonita Springs, FL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“May have been nice many years ago”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This had to be one of the worst hotels I have stayed in for a long time. Everything was old and outdated. The air conditioning was very sporadic. Paint was chipping from the exterior of the building. The door leading out to the pool area had a bedroom door lock which could be opened from the outside with a pin (but there was a slid lock on the door). The front door had no security chain. The chain was missing in several (if not all) of the rooms. There was no safe in the room and a few people in the group left money and other personal belongs at the front desk for safekeeping. Some had some money missing when they picked up their valuables. The small pool in the upper areas had paint peeling on the sitting areas in the pool and many tiles missing. The main pool was also not in very good shape. The area was for the most part landscaped well and there were excellent views of the black sand beach on the Pacific. The beach could not be used for swimming but could be used for surfing.
Rooms had been repainted some years ago, but poorly done with paint smeared all over the tiles and word work in the bathroom. Shower head in the bathroom was too low so I had to stoop down when I showered. You had to be shorter than 5'9 or 5.10 in order to stand upright in the shower.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any good rooms in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    34
    47
    34
    38
See reviews for
57
50
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. The bedroom was adequate, and there was a small patio looking out over the ocean. But the bathroom floor was broken up and uneven. The water was hard to control - hot then cold then hot - as we showered. Lighting is dim in all rooms, so it's hard to pack and unpack. The path from the rooms to the beach is under an overhang and the concrete is uneven, making it difficult during the rain. The view of the ocean is spectacular, the food is okay, and it's amazing to watch the surfers, but I would stay someplace else next time and come here for drinks and to watch the surfers.

Room Tip: I read in other reviews that some rooms have been remodeled. That would help a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa Hermosa hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

If you are used to Western-style hotels then chances are the Terraza is not what you are looking for. The Terraza spent most of it's early years serving as a surf destination and for the most part has stayed true to that utility. The hotel is right on a nice little stretch of Hermosa that is home to one of the better beach breaks in the area. Having stayed here 3 times, the hotel has never let me down. The rooms are clean and well taken care of, the staff is nice, the food is pretty good and generally the hotel is reasonable. The beach itself is also nice, with black sand out front and rocky lava to the north. All of this makes the Terraza Del Pacifico a great place to stop and stay for a couple nights if you are beach-hopping across Costa Rica.

Room Tip: This is not really a couples hotel. The bar can stay active into the evening hours. If noise bothers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a tour group and I thought this hotel was very nice. It was right on a beautiful beach and had to swimming pools. The food was exallent and so was the service. But even thought the rooms were nice the beds seemed to be falling apart. But I still think this hotel is worth staying at.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights with an EF tour. The grounds are well kept and the rooms are clean. The bed in our room was very much needing to be replaced as it was thin, hard and the box spring was very tattered. We were on the second floor and had a balcony overlooking the pool and courtyard. We were unable to enjoy the balcony in the evenings as there were no chairs provided to use - such a shame as it was a very nice area. We were served delicious meals and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The view of the beach from the hotel is breathtaking - so beautiful and wild. We could hear the waves crashing on the beach from our room which certainly added to the ambience. All in all, not a bad place to stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SilverPack09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

If you don't want to mortgage the house for a stay at one of those fantasy Honeymoon palaces, but you still want your own lick of life's ice cream cone, this is a good place to know about. A few minutes south of Jaco's denser more high-energy atmosphere, it is private, quiet, secure and most important -- has an unbeatable view of the Pacific that you won't see from the more placid swimming beaches. Waves crash and roll and the sight and sound of all this color, light, sturm and drang will take your breath away.

Terraza seems like the type of place where "back in the day" well-to-do people would have come to relax in the incomparable Costa Rican climate, lounge by the pool with it's dramatic ocean view, have a drink at the swim up bar, dine by moonlight in the wonderful ocean side dining pavilion, and I imagine that tables and chairs would have been pushed aside as the pavilion is large enough for a dance floor.

These days, expectations have been ramped up and vacation time frames have shortened, but Terazza still has all the charms that would have attracted people of means for a leisurely stay in a former era. While the rooms are not large, and do not have soaker tubs, bidets, televisions in the bathroom, etc. they are clean, have polished tile floors and are respectably furnished. Most open up to the huge central courtyard with it's clean, round, invitingly large pool. There is lots of tropical landscaping which is nicely maintained. Rooms have floor-to-ceiling sliding glass doors, and the upper floors have small balconies from which you can see the rolling drama of the sea beyond. The large open air lobby is cool and airy and sets a gracious tone. The staff was pleasant and helpful and was willing to show me a variety of the rooms. There are some with very high ceilings, but frankly, the scale seemed wrong and the standard rooms are all you need. Terazza is conveniently located for day trips to Manuel Antonio, Jaco, etc and will not break the bank. I saw lots of people working on room cleaning, grounds maintenance, etc and my overall feeling was that it was well maintained. I doubt that the swim-up bar is in service any longer, but you aren't here for that anyway, are you?

The dining area is splendid. Look for my review of Arenas Bar and Restaurant elsewhere on Trip Advisor. This is an open, pavilion style restaurant which gives the best ocean view imaginable. The tables are elegant as are the linen and table settings, service is attentive but relaxed and the very good and reasonably priced offerings are tasty and individually prepared.

Be advised, the beach itself does not look entirely safe for swimming, unless you are very good and know what you are doing. Go down the road to Jaco or to Manuel Antonio for that. But it is a wonder for viewing, for beach-walking, wading perhaps, surfing certainly. The property is located at the bottom of a steep hill off the main highway with a guarded entry station, so it feels secret, secure and like a wonderful hideaway.

This was a "couple's" trip but my sons, when they were younger, would have absolutely loved this hotel. There is plenty of room for them to range in a secure environment, they could have gone in and out of the room right into the enormous courtyard with it's grassy areas and that huge round pool. Best of all, there are many, many (harmless) iguanas that wander about, and even through the restaurant, although a posted sign warns not to feed them. This one little element would have been the highlight of the entire trip for them and personally, I found it pretty fascinating myself.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diamondqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escazú, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Even if you are not a surfer, Terraza del Pacífico is a most enjoyable place, it is conveniently located close (but not that close! to Jacó) and it is a great place to start a trip to Manuel Antonio Ntl. Park.

Rooms are spacious and nicely, swimming pool close to the ocean,meals are good enough to satisfy anyone, definetely a great place!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticoguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.7 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#18 of 41 in Jaco
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
7.9 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,309 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terraza del Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terraza del Pacifico

Property: Terraza del Pacifico
Address: 3 km south of El Arroyo gas station onthe way to Quepos,, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Terraza del Pacifico 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Terraza del Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraza Del Pacifico Hotel Playa Hermosa
Terraza Del Pacifico Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing