We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Horrible and Poor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Porto Castello
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Horrible and Poor!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Unprofessional staff. Receptionist smokes at her post. No air condition in reception area combined with the smoking you cant breathe at all.
I have asthma so it was beyond bad
its humid hot sticky mess.
The location is horrible you cant go anywhere walking distance and nothing near by for any convience at all. If you dont have a ride or call a taxi you cant go anywhere. No wifi except for reception area and that shuts down whenever they want to they turn internet router off.
No service via WIND mobile either as no satelites there.
The breakfast will make you ill if you drink the fake orange juice they serve.
its powder mixed with too much water and salty taste too.
The coffee is also a powder instant kind they use to make filtered fake coffee that they make at 8 in the morning and its left out for hours for guests to consume. The breakfast everyday is regular untoasted bread with butter jams and honey served on side. Cookies and some form of banana bread flavoured pound cake and slices of very poor quality ham and cheese.
This is Santorini Greece have some pride. Serve yogurt with sides of nuts, honey and fresh fruits. Greece has awesome yogurt and its cheap why not serve that. And some toasted bread for Gods sake youre shaming Greece. Cossantes would be nice too.

The room had holes in the walls stuffed with paper visible to the eye.
Bathroom had just a hole in the floor as a drain for shower no water pressure at all but hot and cold running water at all times.
Room was very clean and air condtioner worked well.
The only good I can say about this place is cleaning staff are great to provide fresh towels daily and anything you ask for they will provide and clean room and balcony spotless.
Even though some dont speak greek nor english they try their best and I thank them for that very much.
Cindy and a young man Dimitri tried their best with customer care.
No I would never stay here again.
My recommendation is poor.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Athina216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    33
    29
    13
    15
See reviews for
7
59
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This review is based on only 6 hours in the hotel so we may not have the full experience?

We had to vacate our villa accommodation at noon but were only flying home at 10pm , and so needed a base for the afternoon. This was perfect as it was close to the airport (but then so is everything on Santorini!), was a reasonable price, good rooms, with a pool, and close to a restaurant (although the restaurant nearby can not be recommended).

Our booking was via Booking.com who as always did a good job, and helped us get an early check-in for noon rather than the normal 14.00.

Pool is salt water and as such you can just float motionless - great feeling in the sun.

Room Tip: Room 12 was good with a sort walk to the pool area, large balcony with flowers surrounding it, air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roymark2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Despite the fact that the hotel is in a pretty remote location (meaning it was a pain organising transportation into the town centre) my friend and I really enjoyed our stay at Porto Castello. It was peaceful and quiet with a pleasant pool area, just what we needed to unwind. It is also very close to the nearest beach with a gorgeous resteraunt (Aegialos- seriously worth a visit!) which was certainly a bonus. Unfortunately we both felt that the staff made our stay a hell of a lot worse than what it could have been. Excluding one receptionist, they were all incredibly unwelcoming and almost rude. When we attempted to ask questions they would respond with an irritable sigh and made it seem like having us stay was a burden. I understand that a few of them couldn't speak english, which is fine, but it would have been nice to have been greeted with at least a smile. We felt extremely unwanted and ended up moving hotels.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exo Gialos Thias hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were the at the beginning of Aug, 2013. The rooms are okay, but they lack water kettle for example, which should be basic for a hotel.
The breakfast is the same every day: Bread, some type of ham, butter, biscuits, coffee, milk, water, tea, juice (the drop tablet into water type).
Every day the same for 10 days... So we had to manage ourselves sometimes.
The walls are very thin and a lot of people are slamming the doors, so you wake up several times during the night.
The pool is nice, that was positive and also the crew was nice , kind and helpful. They tried to make out the best out of everything.
If you want to go to a cheaper place and most of the time you plan to be out, this is a good place to be. But you have to consider the above, before deciding.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beo1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exo Gialos Thias
1.2 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#5 of 15 in Karteradhos
179 reviews
5.6 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
764 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Odyssey
Hotel Villa Odyssey
#71 of 80 in Fira
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Artemis Village
Artemis Village
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
199 reviews
3.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
1.3 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Castello

Property: Hotel Porto Castello
Address: Exo Gialos Thias, Fira, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira > Exo Gialos Thias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Exo Gialos Thias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porto Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Porto Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing