We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing small independent cafe and shop”
Review of Grocer Chef

Grocer Chef
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ardington
Description: The Grocer Chef is a warm and welcoming establishment in the beautiful rural village of Ardington. The business consists of a licensed tearoom, serving a variety hot and cold foods and drinks, and a general store which is always stocked with a range of foods as well as newspapers and magazines, household items and pet food. Takeaway food is also available and the garden provides a picturesque alternative to indoor seating.
Restaurant details
Description: The Grocer Chef is a warm and welcoming establishment in the beautiful rural village of Ardington. The business consists of a licensed tearoom, serving a variety hot and cold foods and drinks, and a general store which is always stocked with a range of foods as well as newspapers and magazines, household items and pet food. Takeaway food is also available and the garden provides a picturesque alternative to indoor seating.
Reviewed 19 March 2018

I've visited the Grocer Chef many times, whilst out cycling, after walking around Ardington and nearby Lockinge and when I've simply passed by. This small independent establishment is great and definitely worth a visit. The food is homemade and fresh as well as being sensibly priced. The staff are always very pleasant and attentive. The garden is kept nice and in summer it is bliss. There's also a village shop attached to the café so very handy. All this under one roof in a rural Oxfordshire village is a real gem.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravellerTom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Always lived locally but never been. Visited today with friends and all our children and dogs after a walk to the Millenium Stones.
What a treat! We were welcomed at the door and a large table was found for us and freshly laundered towels were handed to us for the dogs. High chairs were provided for our babies and colouring sets for the older child in our group.
Table service was given and a great choice of food and drinks. The quality of food is superb and delicious. Great value for money and great service.
Baby changing facilities were excellent

It's hard to find places to accommodate babies and dogs especially with good food. This place ticked all our boxes. THANK YOU. We will be back!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Ardington is a little off the track if you don't know it, but this place is an absolute find. Good coffee reasonably priced and the breakfasts and lunches are always cooked to order by the chef. I've been visiting a few times a week for the last six months and I never tire of the friendly service.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank xUnhappyCamperx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

I have used this cafe when cycling with friends. The service is good as is the food - lunches and cakes. The coffee is also good. If you add that to being able to sit outside and enjoy the peace and quiet in this lovely village, you have an almost perfect cafe stop, whatever time of the day. Lucky people of Ardington!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Al-abingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Just popped in for lunch today.
Good food, reasonably priced with friendly service, and It was a delight to sit outside in their garden.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank matthewcD2957UQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grocer Chef also viewed

Wantage, Vale of White Horse
Wantage, Vale of White Horse
 
Wantage, Vale of White Horse

Been to Grocer Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing