We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not’ Ard to like this.”
Review of Grocer Chef

Grocer Chef
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ardington
Description: The Grocer Chef is a warm and welcoming establishment in the beautiful rural village of Ardington. The business consists of a licensed tearoom, serving a variety hot and cold foods and drinks, and a general store which is always stocked with a range of foods as well as newspapers and magazines, household items and pet food. Takeaway food is also available and the garden provides a picturesque alternative to indoor seating.
Restaurant details
Description: The Grocer Chef is a warm and welcoming establishment in the beautiful rural village of Ardington. The business consists of a licensed tearoom, serving a variety hot and cold foods and drinks, and a general store which is always stocked with a range of foods as well as newspapers and magazines, household items and pet food. Takeaway food is also available and the garden provides a picturesque alternative to indoor seating.
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday morning. What a find! A beautiful small but perfectly formed eatery in a beautiful village. 2 x full English with toast and coffee for £8 each.

The best for miles and this is now our number one brekky location.

Dog friendly and people friendly!

Who knew?

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank OX10bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2018

We came here after a morning walk having preordered our food at 10am. They were well able to cope with a group of 15 for lunch without putting off their regular customers. Most of us had main courses, which are reasonably priced at about £7 to £9. The food is of course café style with most courses coming with chips and salad, but it was served promptly, and the service was friendly and attentive. We will be back!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We went for a family lunch and really enjoyed the personal service and great quality food. Can't speak highly enough of the quality!!!!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 589Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

I've visited the Grocer Chef many times, whilst out cycling, after walking around Ardington and nearby Lockinge and when I've simply passed by. This small independent establishment is great and definitely worth a visit. The food is homemade and fresh as well as being sensibly priced. The staff are always very pleasant and attentive. The garden is kept nice and in summer it is bliss. There's also a village shop attached to the café so very handy. All this under one roof in a rural Oxfordshire village is a real gem.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravellerTom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Always lived locally but never been. Visited today with friends and all our children and dogs after a walk to the Millenium Stones.
What a treat! We were welcomed at the door and a large table was found for us and freshly laundered towels were handed to us for the dogs. High chairs were provided for our babies and colouring sets for the older child in our group.
Table service was given and a great choice of food and drinks. The quality of food is superb and delicious. Great value for money and great service.
Baby changing facilities were excellent

It's hard to find places to accommodate babies and dogs especially with good food. This place ticked all our boxes. THANK YOU. We will be back!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grocer Chef also viewed

Wantage, Vale of White Horse
Wantage, Vale of White Horse
 
Wantage, Vale of White Horse

Been to Grocer Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing