We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Eileen M
Prudhoe, United Kingdom

Self catering home from home facilities

Review of Glendona House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Aug 2017
Had fabulous week in the self catering bungalow Gail & family are lovely leaving us tea, coffee, scones, butter, jam, biscuits, milk, fruit, flowers and washing products both for washing machine and dishwasher - a lovely thought to make our holiday as comfortable as possible and a lovely welcome after our ferry journey. Nothing was any trouble. We are so delighted to find this little gem as we have so many family around the area so this was ideal for this visit and we will definitely book for our visits in the future. Thank you Gail your hospitality was very much appreciated.
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £112
  • Hotels.com
3.7 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
£149
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £149
  • Expedia.com
    £149
  • Hotels.com
    £149
4.4 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £120
  • Hotels.com
4.8 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Free parking
£109
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    £109
  • Agoda.com
    £109
  • Skyscanner.com
    £109
6.8 miles from Glendona House
Free parking
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.0 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.7 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Free parking
10.9 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
10.7 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.0 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
11.0 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Glenavy
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
13
7
5
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
7
5
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We booked for 4 nights and loved every minute!
Beautiful location and wonderful country house with lots of character.
Gail was so lovely , we felt very welcome and at home!
A really relaxed atmosphere too which contributed to our wonderful holiday
Our room was huge with an en suite bathroom, and tea & coffee making facilities with lovely chocolate biscuits as well!
Gail would hear us return in an evening and would put a fresh jug of milk on the sideboard outside our room , lovely little touch .
Breakfast was fabulous, Gail was always accommodating to our needs and very attentive, loved hearing all the tales she had to tell!
Beautiful gardens surround the Glendona and Gail took us to see the 3 horses in the stables .
We loved the family dogs too! Biscuit was our favourite though , he was just gorgeous!
It was an absolute treat staying here and we will be back to stay at this fabulous B& B ..
If Gail will have us back after Phil's little prank he played on her!!
Thank you so much , our trip has been the best !

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent quiet traditional home thats well presented with friendly staff. Comfortable room and freshly cooked breakfast. Would recommend for couples/ family's who want to use it to explore the island.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank faye1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 December 2015

I have been to Glendona a few times, and I always enjoy it - It does not try to be something it isn't which is especially nice...Just a down to earth big old country house.

It has a lovely atmosphere and spacious rooms, good handy car parking outside and plenty of room for your kids or dogs to stretch their legs in the garden.

Nice house, nice surroundings and a nice stay.

Room tip: Front right facing the road
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YEOLDETRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2015

If you're in the main part, make sure you're ok with small, yappy type dogs. They're friendly enough, but quite noisy.
The breakfast was excellent. The room was a little dated but perfectly comfortable.

Date of stay: December 2015
Thank RossTheNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2015

Very convenient location for the International Airport.
On arrival and getting out of the car, there was a strong farm type smell which was a little off putting, however this was not noticeable at all inside the property, even with windows open in our room at the front of the property.
The lady of the house, Gail, could not have been more helpful.
She gave us maps and information and every morning had useful suggestions for places to visit to supplement our own ideas.
Our bedroom was huge even with a double bed and two singles, there was plenty of room, but the en-suite bathroom had seen better days and could do with a bit of updating. Having said that it was all clean with plenty of towels and no problems with water pressure or temperature.
Breakfast each morning was the usual Ulster Fry Up, with the twist of having bacon sourced from the pigs reared on the farm. Absolutely delicious with great providence.
The location as said before is great fro the airport but is not great if you don't have a car, but if you do have a car it is convenient for many of the main roads to get to The Giants Causeway, Dublin and pretty much anywhere in between. There are two or three different routes you can take into Belfast allowing a bit of variety for multiple trips.
If you are driving into Belfast and don't mind a short walk, my personal recommendation would to park on or around the Shankhill Road or Falls Road just before you get to the M1, where you can park for free after 9:30 in the morning.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich_Teeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews