We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Sharonfafa
Portadown, United Kingdom

Best birthday ever weather was amazing

Review of Glendona House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Jun 2020
Gail is amazing thanks for letting us stay in your cottage that sleeps 12 it was amazing it was for my autistic son birthday she even let us have bouncy castles put up a pool she was brilliant and even ask did I need a hose for pool but already had one and weather was amazing to the cottage was spacious clean tidy WiFi which is a big bonus in my house hold lol beds so comfortable tv in every room kitchen is so big as my son told me best birthday he’s had ✨✨✨✨✨
Date of stay: May 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£105
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £101
  • Skyscanner.com
    £112
2.7 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £141
  • Expedia.com
    £143
4.2 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £159
  • Expedia.com
    £159
  • Tripadvisor
    £159
4.4 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£98
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £109
  • ZenHotels.com
    £97
  • Expedia.com
    £104
4.8 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£66
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.7 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£87
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.6 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£109
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    £109
6.8 miles from Glendona House
Free parking
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.0 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.7 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Free parking
10.9 miles from Glendona House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Glenavy
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
13
7
5
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
7
5
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2019 via mobile

First thing we noticed was the horrific smell of wet dogs and mold. There are three dogs roaming the property, one large dog approached growling and aggressive and had to be told off by the owner. The room is old, equally smelly, the windows are cracked, the wallpaper is coming off the walls. There was mold in the bathroom, loose tiles, the sink is coming away from the wall. You can hear every movement anywhere in the house, especially the pipes.

Between the smell and the noise my partner and I didn't sleep at all. We were too disgusted to attempt breakfast and left as early as possible in the morning, only to find the front door locked. The owner was helpful enough to let us out.

My advice is to avoid this place at all cost.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 721jantje
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2019

My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks and loved every minute.Old style mansion and décor were amazing.Gail was awesome and the breakfasts were just great.Complete with farmyard smells of the Irish countryside but didn't bother us as the views were stunning.Definately go back even for a drop in cup o tea.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank seanhalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 June 2018

This property was very welcoming after a long day .....An old Victorian family home with lots of character and charm ... .......The Hostess Gail could not have been more helpful and pleasant .....On to of that the breakfast was one of the best one will get anywhere .......

Room tip: All the rooms are of very large proportions........
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We booked a 3 night stay for visiting friends in the area, travelling with 2 young children. Gail was very friendly and welcoming and could not do enough for you. Room was spacious and comfortable, and there was plenty of storage. Breakfast was delicious and made to order each morning. The house does need some work, wall paper peeling etc but the biggest issue for us was the bathrooms. We had an ensuite, the shower was pipe attached to the taps. When I went to run the bath for the kids the hit water trickled out, and the taps were loose. The sink was coming away from the wall as was the shower curtain coming away. Serious updating work required in bathrooms.

Room tip: Don't expect luxury, but friendly and comfortable.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Myself and my husband stayed here last weekend for one night and had a lovely time. The house and family were lovely - Exactly what we were expecting as we had looked at the reviews beforehand. It is an OLD period house, it's not perfect but it doesn't pretend to be. It is a guesthouse not a hotel... If your looking for a 5* hotel don't go here. If your looking for comfortable stay and a little piece of history come here .It was warm, welcoming and worth a visit. Myself and my husband both really enjoyed our stay and hope to return again some time.

Room tip: Ring them direct to book.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews