We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, quaint and relaxing.”
other travellers have booked this property
Your private entrance & seating area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your private entrance & seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Your private entrance & seating area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ger, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Martyn L
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, quaint and relaxing.”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely stay in this apartment. Pauline and Phil were extremely welcoming, from the hot drink and goody pack on arrival through to the provision of fresh eggs and salad throughout our stay. The apartment was very well equipped and had the most conformable bed we have ever slept in. The immediate area is quiet and if you are prepared to drive for up to an hour (occasionally a bit further) all that Normandy has to offer is within reach - Mont St. Michel, Bayeux, War museums, cemeteries, the beaches........ etc. Some great local markets (especially St. Hilaire). Granville was great also.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandi W
Lehi, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Welcoming, peaceful, with kind, thoughtful owners”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Loved this gite. We felt so at home, and everything you need is supplied, down to being greeted with beverages, bread, cookies, and fresh eggs from Pauline and Phil's chickens. If you have questions, ask. If you want to chat, it is wonderful with them. If you want privacy, privacy is what you have. Don't be fooled--the listing says "double", but it is actually a queen-sized bed. We stayed in three spots, and this was my favorite. Nothing but lovely memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Not real close to places you might want to visit while you are staying.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed our little getaway in Normandy. You were both a pleasure to have stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most perfect place”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This was our second stay at Le Grenier in 2015, and have booked to go back in April. We stayed here for Christmas, and from the moment we arrived we were relaxed. Pauline & Phil just make it feel like you are coming home. Thank you both for making us feel so welcome, and for the tip on the Christmas lights in the surrounding villages. Le Grenier is a place where you can just curl up with a good book or use as a base for sightseeing. It is our perfect place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Christmas tree and decorations
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas break. Looking forward to seeing you in April.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility in rural Normandy”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

On arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Pauline and Phil and a cup of delicious tea. The apartment is spacious, very clean and tidy and there was a lovely welcome pack on the table, thank you for thinking of everything Pauline and Phil. The kitchen is very well equipped, the bathroom enormous with bath, shower and a brilliant towel heater. The dining area is just off the kitchen with the living area next to it and finally the bedroom with the most comfortable bed, we slept like logs every night. The gite is situated in a very small hamlet in the middle of nowhere- bliss. Perfectly situated Lower Normandy, local towns, villages and markets. This is the perfect location for a get away holiday, chilling out and destressing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Many thanks for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“peaceful relaxing delightful gite”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is our second holiday at Le Grenier and once again we had a wonderful stay, Pauline and Phil made us feel very welcome at this delightful property. we found it to be very comfortable and had all we needed for a perfect stay, good Wi Fi , sky TV plenty of English channels. Nice welcome pact on arrival cheese milk bread wine tea coffee.
Good size bathroom with bath and very good separate shower. nice kitchen area, and good size living area. we found the property had all we needed for a perfect relaxing holiday, and was spotlessly clean. If you want peace and quite this is the place. we have recommended this to our friends .Thanks Pauline And Phil hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful locaction
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2015
Hello Rob & Jo many thanks for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your 2nd stay with us. We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul a
Leominster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very comfortable in a great location”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A great base to take in the delights of Normandy , made all the more appealing by the peaceful location, home comforts and warm hospitality.

Nice to look forward to " coming home " each day from our many excursions.

No hesitation in recommending le Grenier , would definitely return

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind words,pleased you enjoyed your stay at Le Grenier.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful and Quiet, a perfect place to unwind from everyday life”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed the first weekend in February, the roads are narrow and snow lined, the country side seems to have not changed for centuries
The Gite is attached to the main house although there are separate driveways and gates.
Pauline was away when we were there and phil gave all the local knowledge we needed and free eggs a plenty
The Gite itself is quite large for a couple, the bathroom huge, with bath and walk in shower
The Kitchen has all you need to cook a sensible meal, there is a good sized table and two comfortable settees
I can't really fault this place and will be booking again next year.
We liked the area so much, we have booked with family to stay near by.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay looking forward to meeting you both in September.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing