We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a view”
other travellers have booked this property
John McDouall Stuart View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
John McDouall Stuart View
Spacious dining area Comfortable lounge with lovely sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
John McDouall Stuart View
Spacious dining area
Comfortable lounge with lovely sea views
Comfortable lounge with lovely sea views
Modern, well-equipped kitchen
Bedroom set up as a Superking
Bedroom set up as a Superking
Bedroom set up as a two singles
Modern bathroom with shower
Modern bathroom
The hallway
Stunning sea views
A plaque on the building highlights its history
Beautiful Dysart
Beautiful Dysart
Dysart Harbour, where Outlander Series 2 was filmed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Dysart, Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
margynico...
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a view”
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We loved it. Perfect location, comfortable flat. Well provided and the VIEW was just awesome. Looking over the Firth of Forth to Edinburgh and beyond. Even when the weather was bad.
And the good news is we go back for another weeks stay on the 15 April.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2018
I am so happy that you enjoyed the stay and found the apartment comfortable, the apartment does have a beautiful view in all weathers so I am glad you liked it. Enjoy your week, and we will see you soon. Beth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panayiota...
1 review
“A warm welcome next to the beach”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The apartment is next to the beach and we had a wonderful time collecting pebbles and walking for hours. As it was Christmas the owner surprised us with a Christmas tree, wine, biscuits and other goodies. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will revisit in the near future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Thank you very much for your lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas. Hope to welcome you back in the future. Thanks

Beth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All we hoped for and more!”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a pleasure to stay in such a beautifully and tastefully equipped apartment. On entering, we were struck by the charm of the building and the fascinating history surrounding it. This is an excellent place to stay for local sea-side walks, access to the Fife coastal villages and towns, inland places of historic interest and Kirkcaldy has an efficient train and bus service in to Edinburgh. Delicious coffee may be purchased at the cafe in the old Harbour Master's property in Dysart. We will stay there again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and found so much to do in the local area. We'd love to welcome you back again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain C
1 review
“The flat had plenty of character and the condition was 5 star. We had a wonderful stay”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

On arrival you should go to the Harbourside house where you can collect information on the sites you can visit. Drysart is a beautiful part of Fyfe Nd has a lot of history

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the sitting room over the Forth and the kind thought of providing bread, milk and a bottle of wine.
Liked least: The TV only had a very limited programs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review - it's much appreciated and we're pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianHard...
Charvil
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Historic Dysart”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The accommodation was first class and it was nice to be greeted by flowers, wine, bread and milk.
Dysart is a very quiet historic village on the Fife Coastal Path. We had 3 lovely days walking the path and found it easy to use the buses to access the path. We also had a day in Edinburgh using the bus as transport.

Not many places to eat locally since the Strathern hotel closed. The Harbour Masters house is interesting and serves day time food.
Steep steps up to apartment door and up to the bedroom and bathroom.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's good to hear you enjoyed your stay and we welcome your feedback, thank you. Hope we can welcome you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistlema...
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We thought the apartment was lovely, spacious, comfortable, warm and well-equipped; the bathroom is very smart and the shower is very good too! We liked the view and the peace and quiet of the immediate area and it was nice to sit at the window, watching the ships passing. The WiFi worked well most of the time though sometimes the connection was repeatedly dropped during a few hours.

Some comments and suggestions, which have already been advised to the owners:

1. My wife found the kitchen workspace inadequate and would have appreciated another worktop along the other wall.

2. Being light sleepers, we would both have appreciated a bedroom curtain, although we managed to rig up a screen of sorts.

3. Very surprised that access to the Internet was not password-protected. Given that the apartment has its own router, this should be set up.

Despite these reservations I have no hesitation in recommending the apartment.

We ate twice at The Strathearn Hotel and found the food to be excellent and the service good. If we had taken note of all the negative reviews on TripAdvisor, we would never have gone! Apart from that, there doesn't seem to be anywhere decent to eat within walking distance though a man we spoke to said that the Elbow Room pub at the top of Windmill Road (1 mile away) is good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful and pleasant neighbourhood
Liked least: The lack of decent places to eat in Dysart
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback so we can improve things for future guests.

The apartment has been converted to maintain the character and history of the building. The kitchen was designed to be large enough for two people to comfortably be in the kitchen preparing food and clearing up etc. We have provided a separate 'butchers trolley' to provide extra space for food preparation.

A blind has now been fitted in the bedroom. We are sorry this wasn't available for your stay.

The wifi is now password-protected.

Thank you again for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H
Weyburn, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apt is truly a home away from home. It had everything we needed-very relaxing atmosphere and view. We really enjoyed our stay in the apt and would recommend it to anyone. The hosts were wonderful to deal with - would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we hope you'll be able to visit again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing