We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Farmhouse retreat in the hills”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Benabbio, Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
GRG020
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Idyllic Farmhouse retreat in the hills”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Le Mura is an absolute gem. A traditional farmhouse which has been tastefully and lovingly restored - retaining the original features. In addition there is the beautiful rambling terraced garden and lovely solar heated pool. The views are spectacular and its a short walk to the charming little village of Bennabio with Bagni di Lucca not far off. Celia and Enzo are great hosts and Le Mura is a very special place for us. Can't wait to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Stew...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Relaxing quiet holiday in the Tuscan hills with perfect hosts”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were fortunate to join friends at Le Mura last June for part of week-long birthday celebration, and we can’t recommend it highly enough. Le Mura itself is just what you would expect of an old Tuscan farmhouse: thick stone walls, big rooms, cozy kitchen, set on a hillside amidst olive and fruit trees, with gorgeous views across the valley. The owners, Celia and Enzo, are incredibly knowledgeable and helpful, and we relied on their recommendations for so many things, from wine and gelateria, to driving distances. Almost best of all were the meals they cooked for us, using local ingredients – truly delicious and special – and served at an outdoor table looking over the valley and sunset. On their recommendation we also walked up to nearby Benabbio for dinner one evening and fireflies magically lit our walk back. The area is full of lovely destinations but we were always torn between seeing them and simply moving from the house to the pool-side (also dramatically sited) and back again, with a walk/hike on the hillside to vary the views. And unlike much of Tuscany, there were very few tourists, making one feel almost Italian. In short: a perfect Tuscan retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, pool, food
Liked least: Need to have a car to get to the villa (but that location is what is so great)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Late September at Villa Mura above the clouds!”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We can only echo previous reviewers with their comments about this lovely old farmhouse. The weather was fabulous, cool in the mornings and evenings but we certainly did not need any indoor fires or heating. The young ones swam and the rest lazed by the pool and read. We ranged from mid sixties down to 3 years of age and all enjoyed this very special place. The views are spectacular and you do get used to the twisty roads. All the family especially enjoyed Bagni di Lucca at the bottom of the hill and visited there for shopping, for lunch as well as enjoying a local festival. We also ate at the restaurant in Benabbio with very good food and so much fun and if you get the chance, do take up the opportunity of having Enzo and Celia cook for you. Waiting to try my hand at making fresh pasta! We visited Pisa, Lucca a couple of times, spent an afternoon in Barga and two of our group drove to the Ferrari museum for the day. The other place you must stop and wonder at, is the medieval bridge Ponte della Madalena on the road to Lucca.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position, comfort, views,tranquility.
Liked least: The initial drive in is a challenge until you become used to it!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee N
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing, 10/10 - such an amazing house, we had the most wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I actually do not know where to start – but like you (maybe) we looked at the pictures of Le Mura and thought wow! But honestly when you arrive it was much more than wow, I was emotional with the beauty of it all! The views are incredible and after the drive up the mountain with a number of tight corners in a brand new hire car, Le Mura was more than welcoming! The roads are fine and you do get use to them, but I would be careful in a large or prestige car!
The welcome by Celia, Enzo and Isabella was so touching, there warmth, knowledge, kindness made us feel at home immediately in their home. We had a take away dinner pre-ordered from the local restaurant which was delicious and very reasonable, Celia kindly picked this up for us so all we had to do was cook!
We had a mixture of ages in our party, the youngest 9 our eldest bought her boyfriend, there was plenty of space for us all. The bedrooms were all gorgeous and traditional with sumptuous Italian bed linin that I wanted to take home with us! The kitchen is the best equipped kitchen I have seen. We all love food and I am a keen cook, so loved using the big saucepans, marble tops to make kneading bread that bit easier!
We spent a lot of hours by the pool again with the most amazing views! Celia and Enzo have placed an amazing dinner table which at lunch is in the shade so was perfect for our lunches!
The grounds were amazing and we loved picking fresh figs, pear’s, peaches!
We walked the shepherds path twice to the local restaurant and dancing underneath the stars which so lovely!
One of the highlights for us all was the afternoon in which Enzo taught us how to make fresh pasta with 2 beautiful sauces, his knowledge, passion and enthusiasm for authentic Italian food was inspiring. Celia made the most amazing chestnut cake for dessert where the flour has to be pre ordered and is still hand ground by stone by a villager of 92! We all ate together and shared stories under the stars of Le Mura. We had the most amazing holiday, so lucky to have met Celia, Enzo and Isabella and really hope one day we can visit the very special Le Mura again.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard R
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular views in Northern Tuscany”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A group of 8 (4 couples) stayed here to celebrate one of our birthdays. The place is a gem and catered to every sense imaginable, from the smells of the vegetation, to the incredible sights of the hills and sunset, to the quiet and the cool nights and mornings. The bedrooms are very comfortable for couples. Two (of a total of six) bedrooms are attached to (and hence accessible through) other bedrooms, so keep that in mind depending on the size of your group. Getting there the first time from the winding switchbacks can be a bit tricky, but once you've done it once, the rest is a breeze. You're a short walk into a very small village, Benabbio, with a very good restaurant and pizzeria, and a 5 minute drive back down the mountain into a bit larger town, Bagni di Lucca. You're also within less than an hour's drive to Lucca--a great walking, dining, biking, shopping city, and about an hour to Pisa.
After a half day or so of touring, it was wonderful coming back to Le Mura to swim in the pool, which has breathtaking views of the countryside, and sipping on great wine or Aperol that can be picked up in plentiful (at incredibly reasonable prices) from a great store in Bagni di Lucca.
Celia and Enzo are very friendly hosts, and Enzo prepared two dinners for us at the villa, which were great.
Our 4-day stay at Le Mura rivaled all the rest of our Tuscany travels. It's hard to imagine anything more enjoyable than waking up to the views and cool air, and sipping drinks and watching the sunset from the pool deck.
I am already talking about our return visit there!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views, swimming pool
Liked least: wifi only available in central room at the house
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon021...
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Family Memories Made at This Enchanting Farmhouse”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Visiting Tuscany has always been on my bucket list, and after more than a year of planning, I was thrilled that three generations of our family, ranging in age from 5 months to 55 years, were able to make the trip there this May. After reading what must have been hundreds of reviews for different rental homes that could accommodate our party of ten, we chose Le Mura as our home base for the week.

From the beginning, Celia was a delightful hostess who was quick to answer any and all questions and honestly could not do enough to help us in our planning. Not only did she respond to my questions right away, but she occasionally sent photos of the beautiful countryside that made us even more excited about our visit.

I have to admit that as our small cars made their way up the long, windy road from Bagni di Lucca, my family wondered where on earth we were taking them. But as soon as we arrived, they were in awe of the beautiful surroundings and lovely farmhouse. As one reviewer wrote, the pictures we had seen did not do justice to the setting.

Everyone was happy with the sleeping arrangements that Celia had set up, and the bathrooms were clean and well equipped, although we did make use of the shampoos and conditioners that we brought with us from the US. The first night particularly was quite cool, as Celia had advised might be the case in early May, but with two wood-burning stoves and plenty of wood at our disposal, we kept warm enough. My children, who had never seen real rubber water bottles before, couldn't believe how well they kept the beds heated! :) The weather improved the next day, and eventually warmed up enough that a few family members enjoyed a fun swim in the lovely pool.

We travelled to Florence, Cinque Terre, Pisa, and Lucca from Le Mura, and enjoyed all four places even more than expected. A special treat during a rainy day 'at home' was the meal prepared for us by Enzo, with Celia's assistance. We all enjoyed helping out with this truly delicious dinner, as well as chatting with our delightful host and hostess and learning more about the area. I would highly recommend this to others staying here.

Le Mura was perhaps a little more isolated than we expected, although it is an easy 5-10 minute walk into Benabbio with its small grocery store, yummy pizzeria, and lovely restaurant — all of which are worth a visit or two — and a 10-15 minute drive down to the larger Bagni di Lucca, which has everything else you might want. And it is a farmhouse in a wooded setting, so we did have a few encounters with little bugs. :) But honestly, the absolutely incredible vistas from Le Mura, as well as the opportunity to spend time visiting with each other in a very comfortable setting, made me appreciate the peace and quiet of the location. And as my daughter said, every morning we had to take a photo of the view from the front door, as it was ever-changing but always incredible!

Thanks Celia and Enzo for an amazing, memorable visit to your lovely home. We're so glad we chose Le Mura.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Incredible Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakumanue...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Serene and Tranquil Hideaway”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A beautiful Villa ,surrounded by a mature garden and a well equipped home with all the necessities. The pool was too cold to use but the house was so warm and we used to light the log fire in the evenings. Beds were comfortable and running hot water anytime.
Celia and Enzo the owners are so nice and always there to help in anyway .Infact we had an enjoyable cookery class with Enzo being our Chef.
The Villa is quite central when you want to see a bit more of Tuscany.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth and tranquilness of the villa
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing