We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hastings House Country House Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$158
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabreeze Inne(Salt Spring Island)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thunderbird Motor Inn(Duncan)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcon Nest Motel(Duncan)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayne Island Resort(Mayne Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
194
31
18
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
31
18
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teadining roomfine diningwarm muffinshillside suitesconeseach morningsalt spring islandfresh flowersattention to detailthe barnquiet retreatoff seasonseparate bedroomevery staff memberenglish breakfastrelais and chateaux
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Beautiful, tranquil setting with gardens to make an Englishman proud. Excellent service from everyone--vigilant but unobtrusive. Restaurant is one of the finest in the northern hemisphere. Can't imagine a nicer place to unwind and re-generate. We followed this with one night at the Empress in Victoria (terrible), and found the Empress more expensive than Hastings House.

Room Tip: Put yourself in the hands of reception.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackye F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyMcAree, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. We very much enjoyed giving you an excellent experience her at Hastings House Country house Hotel. Our crab catch package is a really fun way to sample island life and we are glad you enjoyed it. We wish you would have taken part in the crab preparation demo but we understand you had other places you wanted to explore on the island. The demo features our chef showing you how to clean the crab you catch and prepare it into several different recipes ( the chef chooses one for each demo), all while you enjoy a glass of wine and a snack in the kitchen watching him work. We offer the package from May to September and would like to invite you back again.
Thank you
Kelly McAree
General Manager
Hastings House Country House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is an unbelievably pretty, quaint and service oriented place. The gardens, waterview and buildings were beautiful. The accomodations are very expensive, roomy and clean. But for the price they charge they should be updated. We had dinner there and it was excellent.
We will go again, but we will stay just one night and have dinner there or stay nearby and have dinner there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George98177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is one of the most tranquil and beautiful properties my husband and I have stayed at. There is so much beauty in the gardenes and the view of the harbor. We took so many pictures. We did the crab package, where you go out on a boat and catch crabs and the chef prepares them for you that night for dinner. We felt so special. The room was gorgeous. We stayed in the Essex suite. We had to take two ferries to get to salt springs island, but it was an adventure. It is pricy, but worth the splurg. They make you feel like family. We also lucked out with the weather.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the suites with a view of the harbor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

From the moment you step onto this property, enchantment reigns. The gardens are spectacular - from the manicured lawns, to the flowering beds and the vegetable garden that produces the local herbs and vegetables that are served in the dining room.

The restaurant is equally impressive. From the moment you enter, the excellent service and friendliness are evident. Start with a B. C. wine or a glass of champagne and enjoy the amuse bouche of tuna tartar while taking in the view of the harbor. Move right into one of the creative and delicious appetizers. The caramelized onion goat tarts were exquisite as was the venison carpaccio. The steak was perfect - tender & flavorful and the scalloped potatoes were delicious. The halibut was moist and the tiger prawns were good. The duck entree was a disappointment - it was dry, the sauce was bland as were the lentils.
A dessert of a wild berry crumble with vanilla ice cream was the perfect end to a beautiful evening, a very expensive evening but nice nevertheless.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rosenmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and it was an amazing experience. We stayed in the Post Cottage and I would highly recommend it; very private, cozy and comfortable. Make no mistake, the price is up there, but well worth it for a special occasion. The staff is excellent and helpful at every turn. There is a wonderful collection of sculpture art throughout the property. Every morning before breakfast lovely muffins were delivered to our doorstep. I loved walking through the vegetable and flower garden and sitting in the Adirondack chairs drinking wine and watching the sailboats in the harbor---Heaven!

Room Tip: The Post Cottage is very private yet close to everything
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews