We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$161
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabreeze Inne(Salt Spring Island)
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$152
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thunderbird Motor Inn(Duncan)(Great Value!)
US$78
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcon Nest Motel(Duncan)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
194
31
17
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
31
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teadining roomfine diningwarm muffinshillside suitesconeseach morningsalt spring islandfresh flowersattention to detailthe barnquiet retreatoff seasonseparate bedroomevery staff memberenglish breakfastrelais and chateaux
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the post cottage. The cottage is very nice and cosy. We were the only ones at the resort and the dining room was closed.
The internet was down. I reported it and it was suggested that it might have something to do with my phone!
No turn down service and cold muffins delivered in the morning-no butter!
There were cob webs in the bedroom and bathroom and we had to drag our own suitcases to the cottage when we arrived! We are seniors.
The parking is far away from the rooms. They did let us through the gate to unload our car but then you have to back up quite a way. There was no offer to help.
The breakfast was fine but the same both mornings. The staff was courteous.
Maybe spring and summer would be a much more pleasant time to go if you are willing to pay the outrageous price.
We won't return as we felt it was terribly overpriced.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyMcAree, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for providing your feedback on Trip Advisor. It was very nice to have you and your husband stay with us for your birthday.
Our rooms & suites are steeply discounted during our Winter Season in lieu of the fact that our dining room is closed for dinner, but we do recommend and reserve, close by restaurants for our guests. Our WIFI is the latest systems provided by Shaw Cable, newly installed this spring however it does require logging in to our specific network. We did offer to assist you, as some phones don’t automatically connect, however as you didn’t take us up on the offer we understood you were able to log on.
Our staff gets up bright and early to prepare and bake fresh muffins and have them waiting outside of your door, hot and ready at 7:30 am, as we explained to you when you checked in, however if they are left outside for an extended period they are prone to cooling. I understood from our conversations with you that you enjoyed the muffins in the afternoon. Each morning, we source the best local ingredients for our breakfasts, on your first morning I prepared farm fresh eggs, double smoked thick cut bacon and roasted garlic potatoes, from your rave comments on the taste I decided to prepare it the next day for you. We will try to be more varied in our selection. Today we offered smoked salmon eggs Benedict for example.
When I offered assistance with your bags at check in & check out you only indicated one suitcase I am sorry I was not aware of any other cases I could have assisted with. We always offer to help with luggage but will try to make this much clearer to our guests in the future.
Through comments like these we identify any areas that we can further improve upon, as our goal is always to provide an outstanding experience for each and every guests. As always your comments are taken seriously and our procedures will be examined to ensure our goal is achieved. We apologize for not providing that outstanding experience for you and will welcome you back for your next visit and we will listen more closely to your needs and more clearly communicate our services.

Kind Regards.
Kelly McAree
General Manager
Hastings House Country House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our Manor West room provided a beautiful view of the Ganges Harbor and its seaplane and boating activity, as did the seating in the dining room. We had delicious Herb Encrusted Pacific Halibut, Parmesan Polenta, Soya Emulsion as well as Filet of Alberta Beef, Gruyere Potatoes, Portwine Reduction (oh, the Gruyere potatoes!), and followed that with Orange Almond Ricotta Cheese Cake, Chocolate Sauce. Oh, did I mention the wine? A superb wine list of local and Pacific Northwest wines to choose from. The staff responded immediately to our few questions and requests, and that includes the staff providing the wonderful massages. We left with wonderful memories and a desire to return quickly.

Room Tip: Our Manor House West room had a beautiful view of the Ganges Harbor and the hotel's grounds, and provided close proximity to the Library for the afternoon tea and the dining room for the delicious breakfasts and dinners.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent 2 nights with friends. The rooms are a good size with comfy furnishings. The gardens and setting are right on the water and truly beautiful. A cosy pub is a 2 minute walk (Moby's) and the small town is less than a 5 min drive (you can walk - but part is on the verge of the road and not well lit for the walk home)

Breakfast was generous and good.

For the price paid it lacks a couple of little niceities - the tv was hard to operate in both rooms, even after consultation with staff members we couldn't get it to work so we gave up. The turn down service did not include a chocolate on the pillow - such a small thing but still it seemed to be something you would expect for the price. There were hot muffins delivered in the morning to the room - but why? when breakfast was about to happen - rather have the chocolate than the muffins. The dinner is a set menu for $100 pp - a little too pricey, so we didn't indulge. The setting is exquisite but for the price it lacked the feeling of being something special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyMcAree, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We regard every comment as important and look forward improving each and every time we can. Recently we introduced handmade honey candies to commemorate the introduction of our new bee hives that will soon begin supplying honey to our restaurant and have already made an incredible difference in the production of our gardens. We are now approaching 100% of the fruits and vegetables we use in the kitchen coming from our own property. These were placed on your pillow instead of chocolates.
Our Prix fixe three course menu actually starts at $70.00, up to $85.00 depending on your protein choice . Our menu prices are the reflection of our support of the local Salt spring producers who do charge us a premium to use their finest, freshest products delivered to our door each day, which we insist on for our guests.
We did have a special chef come on September 30th who offered a five course dinner for $100.00. He was brought over from Ireland to offer a special experience for our guests. This was part of our Chefs Across The Water series with proceeds going to our local farmers to support initiatives to make them more self-sufficient such and an abattoir and produce production facility.
We deliver muffins to your door first thing in the morning, then full English breakfast is served from 8:00am to 10:00 and afternoon tea is served from 3:30 -4:30 all included and added value to your stay. As an old English style country estate, this is the kind of services that are befitting the Hastings House Experience and we are proud to offer them to all of our guests.
Our cable systems are supplied by Shaw Cable and are the same as supplied for residences but are separate from the TV and do require the exclusive use of the remote to operate.
Our team will be looking at all your comments and make changes that we deem are to the benefit of all our guests as we continually strive to be the best that we can be and provide the best value for the Hastings House Experience we can.

Thank You
Kelly McAree
General Manager
Hastings House Country House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Beautiful grounds, attentive and helpful staff, large rooms, felt very exclusive and quaint. The fireplace in our room was amazing and the wood was so nice and dry it was easy to keep it going. My husband definitely enjoyed that part! Fantastic english breakfast included in our stay.

The price was a bit rough, if it was a little more affordable we definitely would have stayed 2 nights instead of one.

Room Tip: Manor West - Beautiful Ocean View & Fireplace in the room. Queensized bed in our room and 2 singles in an adjoining room which we did not use.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBFKBJFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyMcAree, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank You for your kind review. We think one of the great English Country Estate experiences is sitting in front of a roaring fire in a hand laid stone fireplace curled up with a good book and a hot tea. Especially on a cool evening listening to the wind blow the fall leaves about the property. You should come back and visit us in October or next Spring as we offer our 3 for 2 special on our Fall and Spring rates making it a more affordable way to come and enjoy the beauty of Salt Spring Island. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you
Kelly McAree
General Manager
Hastings House Country House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Beautiful, tranquil setting with gardens to make an Englishman proud. Excellent service from everyone--vigilant but unobtrusive. Restaurant is one of the finest in the northern hemisphere. Can't imagine a nicer place to unwind and re-generate. We followed this with one night at the Empress in Victoria (terrible), and found the Empress more expensive than Hastings House.

Room Tip: Put yourself in the hands of reception.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackye F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyMcAree, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. We very much enjoyed giving you an excellent experience her at Hastings House Country house Hotel. Our crab catch package is a really fun way to sample island life and we are glad you enjoyed it. We wish you would have taken part in the crab preparation demo but we understand you had other places you wanted to explore on the island. The demo features our chef showing you how to clean the crab you catch and prepare it into several different recipes ( the chef chooses one for each demo), all while you enjoy a glass of wine and a snack in the kitchen watching him work. We offer the package from May to September and would like to invite you back again.
Thank you
Kelly McAree
General Manager
Hastings House Country House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews