We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
53
88
27
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
88
27
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden sunriselow seasonmini fridgeconvenient locationrestaurant stafftruck stationwalking distancebest betlovely roomclean roomsbase camplovely hotelstayed for one nightbig roomfriendly and helpful staffvisit goldenhotel is located
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

The Golden Sunrise Hotel in Kyaiktiyo, Myanmar is in a decent location, especially handy for visiting the Golden Rock.

The rooms are really very nice

The resaurant is a little limited but OK.

The staff could not be nicer.

Overall a good choice.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 171,959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

The electricity cut out three times during our 1 day stay. Wifi only accessible in the reception, you need to ask them to turn it on. The staff at reception a) were not helpful when we needed to book a car or a bus b) did not tell us that buses tend to arrive way ahead of schedule (scheduled for 9am, staff told us to prepare for 8.45, the bus arrived at 8.35) so when the bus did arrive before the time staff told us to prepare they hassled and scolded us... the shower was nice though. The restaurant staff were nice enough. Limited choices in this town though, so might be your best bet. Also Golden Rock is underwhelming but the 4000kyat round trip up there is fun in a roller coaster kind of way!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Julia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We loved this place. The staff were very helpful. We only stayed for one night for our visit to the golden rock pagoda but could have easily stayed to relax if we had more time. The rooms are large with a modern bathroom. It's a great place as long as you don't expect a western style room of luxury. Highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hoeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Rooms are in separate outside houses so nice and quiet. Very very big rooms and bathroom, separate toilet which is rare!! Clean, good air conditioning and free of bugs.

Wifi only in reception and very slow (sit on the front steps of reception and it works faster).

Breakfast was really good, you choose eggs, pancakes or French toast then also get toast with cheese and jams, fried donuts and fruit also iced tea which was lovely.

The only thing that wasn't great was the beds:
-Old foam mattress which was fine for us but maybe not others
-Pillows extremely lumpy and very uncomfortable

Golden rock:
If you are going here walk back down the road and turn left to get one of the big open top trucks. Takes around 30 mins to get up, very fast and uncomfortable but an experience, 2000K each. 1 night in Kinpun was definitely enough, not much to do. If you can do the rock the day you arrive you can leave the next day.
We went to Mya Yeik Restaurant for dinner, just on the left as you get dropped back by the truck. Good Chinese style food and Burmese curries

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashleigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stayed there two nights to explore the Golden Rock in June (low season). It’s a nice hotel with very friendly staff and good breakfast. The village incl. Kinpun didn’t had electricity one evening, but only this hotel had. Due to a strong generator we were even able to watch TV (one English movie channel). In rainy season, this is quite nice!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catalina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews