We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service they should be ashamed ”
Review of La Luna

La Luna
Price range: US$13 - US$39
Cuisines: European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff training here is obviously non existent
One of our newly pregnant friends ordered a virgin strawberry martini but was served a full blown alcoholic Singapore sling as the girl didn’t have a clue of what she was serving, our friend again asked her are you sure this is non alcoholic ? and was told yes it is
After 10 minutes or so she came back and said sorry that’s actually the alcoholic one
No remorse after she was told you just served a pregnant lady alcohol after double checking !! Our friend burst into tears and we were all very upset by this and ruined our night, luckily she and the baby are ok but this uncalled for stress was not acceptable, you have a responsible service of alcohol and should know what drinks you are serving or don’t serve them at all, service was also ridiculously slow and even a vodka and coke was taking over 20 minuets
The sharing board was lovely that’s the only good thing about our night, we also had to ask staff to remove empty glasses and plates and one staff member after asking her to wipe our table as daiquiri had melted on the table, slid our sharing board through the melted juice, as a restaurant general manager I was totally disgusted by this, I saw no management that night and no one checked on us to see if we were all ok and enjoying ! Too many young staff members who don’t have a clue how to be hospitable, such a shame as there outdoor area is a hidden gem

1  Thank LauraButton83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys A, Manager at La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are sorry to see your review.
The partner in question did email us, but we are awaiting response from our response.
When we do receive further contact from the person being discussed, we will apologise for our staff member as a business.
The server in question is no longer part of our service team following this incident.
We have trained our staff on service, product knowledge and an array of other aspects, but the discussed incident is human error and a human mistake, the staff member was told which drinks were which, and should have known following training, and has been told that if unsure on anything to confirm before serving.
The timing of drinks service is exaggerated from looking over CCTV, but this was during a busy evening, and you weren't the only table/group being served and having a range of cocktails and drinks being made to order.
We are however happy that you can see that we have a hidden gem and that you enjoyed your food, and on reflection will see that it's a staff members mistake that has clouded your evening, and nothing to do with how the business is managed, or what training the team have received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table for lunch with friends, nice atmosphere, despite being close to busy traffic junction. Park in the car park for M&S and Boots opposite. Service excellent, as was the food, and very reasonable as well. Look forward to returning sometime.

1  Thank HuwandFlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys A, Manager at La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Had a great time at la Luna, the food was great along with the service. Our waitress was so polite & provided table service all evening with our drinks.
The food was perfect, I had the lamb shoulder which fell apart at the touch. My wife is vegetarian and was more than happy with her seafood risotto. She also was very pleased with the abundance of choices of gin on offer.

1  Thank B1E9A8R2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys A, Manager at La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you for your support and hope to see you back soon, we have a new orange and elderflower gin being fermented as we speak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Waiting 25/30 minutes for service. Instead of having one dedicated waiter or waitress you had to try and grab somebody to take your order when you could. The reply normally was give me a minute “ i need to get an ipad” well we never seen anybody come with an ipad.
The boy with auburn hair was the best waiter upstairs- however seemed to be doing most of the work and carrying other staff.
Staff clearly have a poor level of training. When asking a girl can we order dessert her reply was ‘im quite new here’. Felt sorry for her as she was a lovely girl but clearly she couldnt do much as training is poor.
Staff were standing around talking instead of delivering service.
Think staff need to be monitored here, run by a bunch of school children who think their in a playground.
Food was lovely, had tapas.
Would tell people that there’s no point visiting this place as its a waste of money, not cheap and feel as though your getting in the way of the staffs conversations.
Shame I heard it was meant to be nice however i think it’s very tacky, basic and managers didn’t seem to be around.
Ive never felt that I have to write a review about anywhere however this experience was awful and would rather you saved your money and go to Trattoria if your in the area.

3  Thank Phœbe-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys A, Manager at La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

We are very sorry to see your review.
The lounge does get very busy on weekends, I have been informed there was one instance with a staff member that had to leave and hadn't passed the message across to go back to get a drinks order.
But this was one instance through the evening and your review is extremely exaggerated, probably through some affiliation to another restaurant based on your review.
We believe that £10.95 for three dishes is very good value, and don't know where you are going to get 'cheap' dining experiences?
Unfortunately as its a very busy area upstairs with a lot of areas to cover. Therefore it is essential for staff to communicate over the bustling noise and atmosphere.
Glad to see your very supportive of neighbouring restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Can I firstly say that this review is based on your customer service (which is a part of running a business), we did not have a chance to eat because of the disappointment we felt from our booking experience. We booked for a large group, myself and my colleague spoke to a gentlemen on the phone who did not tell us that the tapas option was to be shared and did not tell us this would be a group thing. We said on the phone that we would be down Monday lunchtime to drop off a deposit as we were told if we didn’t drop it off early in the week that our booking wouldn’t be kept which was fair enough. When we mentioned coming Monday the response was ‘ok’ not ‘we are closed on Monday’. We turned up on Monday as we weren’t made aware that no one would be there but were pleased when someone promptly arrived. The attitude from the member of staff was not what we expected, I don’t want to go into detail but we were spoken to as if we were children and didn’t appreciate this as we are grown adults. The member of staff stated numerous times ‘we are not open today’ and ignored the fact that we had been told it was ok to come on Monday, we were spoken to in a rude and condescending manor and it just wasn’t what we expected from someone who works in a position facing customers daily. We phoned numerous times to cancel after this treatment but no one answered (over 2 days). My colleague then received a very patronising and sarcastic response to her review, which we also weren’t expecting. As stated previously, this review is based on customer service alone, and is something that’s crucial within the industry you work in. As it stands, we won’t be recommending anyone unless the attitude of management towards their customers changes.

4  Thank Shauna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys A, Manager at La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Hi There,
Your first review was taken down, due to the fact you have never dined at La Luna.
I was the gentleman that you both spoke to on the telephone and I explained on both occasions that its a group buffet menu, as it states in writing on the menu itself and explains how it works, which I also directed you to on our website.
I also told both of you that you don't need to get payment to us until midweek as we are closed on Sundays and Mondays, which is also easy to find on our website and on google.
On customer service:-
We have firstly come down to meet you on our day off to help you secure your booking.
My colleague was very polite on the day, and told you that you didn't need to worry about paying the deposit that day or give your choices there and then as you had misunderstood the menu and ordering process, and told you that you could come back later in the week or do it over the telephone.
You then went away, we are guessing frustrated as you have completely misunderstood the menu and ordered 30 individual choices of three dishes for a buffet menu, where it is three choices for the group, and then decided to jump on tripadvisor and make an attack on our business and staff members.
Your friend made a very rude and untrue review, which has been taken down as it was a personal attack on a staff member and untrue and not based on an actual visit to the restaurant, as is this review.
Our attitude was wholly positive and very patient and we went out our way to help, until you became keyboard warriors and made an attack on us.
You are welcome back to La Luna any time, and we are very sorry that you felt the need to vent your frustration on tripadvisor.
Just please read the menu and listen to advice given on the telephone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Luna also viewed

Talbot Green, Pontyclun
Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 

Been to La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing