We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Barn, what a great find!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ballfields Barn,

Relax in a 4 Star, Gold Award, luxury self catering holiday cottage in the Peak district
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in a 4 Star, Gold Award, luxury self catering holiday cottage in the Peak district
Traditional stone built exterior, contemporary conversion inside. Gated access to the property private and secure location in the owners grounds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Relax in a 4 Star, Gold Award, luxury self catering holiday cottage in the Peak district
Traditional stone built exterior, contemporary conversion inside. Gated access to the property
private and secure location in the owners grounds
full oil fired central heating and a cosy wood burning stove
freeview TV, DVD, Wi-fi
Quality contemporary furnishings throughout, natural slate floors and modern lighting
cosy wood burning stove
living/kitchen and dining areas are open plan making this a spacious and welcoming space
fully equipped modern kitchen with quality appliances
lovely open views
single beds under low beams
super king sized bed, on request, only when occupied by 2 guests, one ensuite has to be shut off
spacious living areas tastefully laid out for you to enjoy
quality en-suite facilities, relax in a luxurious roll top bath and enjoy the view
twin bedded rooms with luxurious comfortable beds and quality bedding, memory foam mattresses
goose down toppers, egyptian cotton bed linen, goose down duvets and pillows
separate shower room with automatic lighting and extraction and towel warmers
breathtaking panoramic views and a warm personal welcome
incredible location next to RSPB Coombes Valley Nature Reserve.
Idyllic peaceful setting  with superb views . Easy access to Leek and picturesque villages.
Surrounded by farmland and wooded valleys,
located in an area of outstanding natural beauty amidst fields and gentle wooded slopes
stunning sunsets
Glorious sunny day on the Barn patio
Woodland pavilion to enjoy the spectacular views.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bradnop, Leek, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paulaQ577...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Barn, what a great find!!!”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Hosts are lovely, friendly and welcoming. Barn standards excellent, clean,well laid out and fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. Fantastic views, and tranquil. An ideal base to explore the surrounding area. Would not hesitate to book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: remoteness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure having you to stay.
You were great guests who obviously appreciated The Barn and who left it as you found it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb stay - stunning, comfortable, relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We are a family of 4 – 2 adults, 2 children (11, 7) and a large, friendly dog and have just had the most enjoyable weeks holiday at Ballfields Barn. We have stayed at many holiday lets and this has by far been our favourite to date. The barn is presented immaculately with lots of home comforts. It is meticulously equipped with everything from a slow cooker to a cafetiere, from luxurious bubble bath to a great selection of DVD’s and board games. There is even a well equipped utility area with a washing machine and tumble dryer (a god send for a mum of 2!). The barn is light and airy but has the added bonus of very effective blackout blinds on all upstairs veluxes – perfect for a good nights sleep and lie in in the morning in the very comfortable beds and bedding provided. The owners of the property – Isobel and Brian are exceptionally accommodating, welcoming and friendly, they truly made our holiday that extra special. They were a delight to speak to and so informative and helpful with any request. We even arrived back one evening to find a larger set of table & chairs had been put out for us without us asking) to allow more space whilst breakfasting/ lunching al fresco and being able to admire the views. The views are something that have to be mentioned as they are stunning from every window of the barn – the setting is fantastic and you can see for miles and miles as well as admiring the most spectacular sunsets. There is plenty of land (4 acres) for your dogs to be walked on site but lots of options close by also. The site is completely secure with electronically operated gates accessing the property and a secure fence around all of the land, giving you a complete sense of safety for your little ones or dogs to roam free. The barn is directly opposite the entrance to the Combes Valley wildlife reserve (RSPB) which is well worth a visit with a number of trails for adults and kids alike. The barn is perfectly situated for so mnay attractions approx. 7 min drive to the town of Leek, Dovedave/Ilam Country Parks (20 mins), Alton Towers Splash Landing (15 mins), Gullivers (40 mins), Trentham Park & Monkey Forest (35 mins), Buxton (25 mins) and many, many more. There are lots of leaflets and info sheets on the local area, walks and attractions as well as a very informative folder full of recommended restaurants, local services, general info, etc.. We had the most amazing time wouldn’t hesitate in recommending Ballfields Barn to ALL ages. Isobel and Brian have covered every angle with the upmost detail and are first class hosts. We are already looking at dates for a return visit for next year……..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning setting, superbly equipped, friendly & helpful owners
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Great to have you stay. Bramble loved the kids. You picked the best week for weather! Come back to our beautiful Staffordshire Moorlands soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uncrushab...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best holiday cottage I have ever stayed in with gorgeous views and a warm welcome”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage was comfortable, well equipped, spotlessly clean and quite simply the best holiday cottage I have ever stayed in, and that is quite a few! Our hosts were waiting for us when we arrived and welcomed us warmly, including a lovely bottle of prosecco. They were on hand throughout our stay whenever we had a question and the cottage was spotless, furnished with top quality furnishings and contained everything we could possibly need. The location is beautiful, with lovely walks just outside the door. We particularly enjoyed cooking in the well thought out kitchen and the beds were lovely and comfortable. We enjoyed chatting and eating with Isabel and Brian and have come away feeling that we not only had a lovely relaxing holiday, but also that we have found some new friends. Thankyou, and I hope we can come back again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you Hinds family. So very glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you as guests and thank you for your hospitality. We love having guests to stay, and thank you for your appreciation of our Barn. We love living here. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnDanny
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a view!!!!”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a warm welcome from Isabel who showed us around the barn. Looks small but beautiful from the outside but really opens up once you step through the door.
Everything is there for you. No need to bring anything but yourselves. Great kitchen, living space, bathroom and utility.
Bed is very comfortable.
We loved the wood burner. Easy to use. Soooo cozy.
Would return in a heartbeat. Don't miss this gem. Even though it is only an hour away from our home, it could be in the Cotswolds. Vey beautiful part of the country. We didn't realise just how lovely it would be.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
Thank you for your great review. We love having people to stay in this lovely Staffordshire Moorlands.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dean d
burntwood
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Weekend”
Reviewed 13 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Had a fantastic weekend here, such a relaxing place . We wanted for nothing, well equipped kitchen with utensils. We are looking forward to returning :)

Thank you both

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anon A
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well appointed barn conversion”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay at Ballfields Barn in early December. Brian and Isabel were fantastic hosts and very accommodating, it was a pleasure to stay with such friendly and helpful owners.

The Barn is very well appointed and very comfortable. My wife thought the kitchen was fantastic and it was so well equiped that we were able to eat in rather than go looking for places to eat out. The lounge was very comfortable and has a log burner, although it didn't get cold enough for us to need it.

Upstairs there are two bedrooms, one with a large en-suite bathroom and one with a smaller bathroom. The smaller bathroom is not accessible if that bedroom is made up as a double - this did not bother us in any way but it is worth noting if this could cause issues.

I would recommend to anyone needing accommodation in the Leek area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2015
Thank you for such a great review. We value it very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfie B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for 1 week to visit Alton towers with our theme park enthusiastic teenager, from start to finish we felt at home, was very welcomed by Isabel, Brian and beautiful bramble their lovely well behaved dog. The barn is full of everything you would need and more, it was a luxury stay in a beautiful home that has views to enjoy waking up to in the morning. We was welcomed with wine, biscuits and milk which were naughty but nice and we were sad to leave. We enjoy a week in England as an additional holiday with our son and would recommend this lovely barn to anyone who wants to chill in luxury. Thanks to Isabel and Brian for trusting us with their lovely home and I hope everyone appreciates your efforts and kindness as we did. Sarah and James short

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location luxury of bath and comforts of bedding
Liked least: We loved everything no negatives
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;