We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Spittal, Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
siobhand6...
Alveston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 16 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We where a family of 8 with 2 dogs and this place was perfect to accommodate all of us. Very spacious and beautifully decorated and in keeping with natural beauty of the School House, we very much enjoyed reading some of the extracts written by the Head over the years when it was a school. The garden was perfect for cups of tea in the sun whilst watching the bees and smelling the lavender. The place is a quiet village and very friendly, with a park and green next to the property.The house was very well equipped and the host was very good at communicating, we highly recommend this charming place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly, the pictures of the School House do not do it justice! A beautifully converted building with more space than you can imagine for a party of 8 - my cousins and I were even able to dedicate the mezzanine level solely to yoga sessions, without the space being missed by the rest!! As a group, we spent most evenings cooking and eating together (every utensil, pot and pan imaginable are provided), then lounging around the wood burner with the drinks and laughter flowing, plotting how we could make the school house our own!!! I particularly enjoyed reading up on a little bit of history in the School House clippings folder - a brilliant touch. Would really recommend the pub across the road for a meal, very friendly atmosphere and although there were only two veggie options on the menu, the one that I ordered was delicious and we were provided with complimentary vegetables for the table, which is always a bonus!! We did not explore the village much unfortunately, but it was a very quiet setting. Further afield, the house is a short drive to Haverfordwest and Pembroke Docks, plus several beaches (we visited Freshwater West and Broadsands) walking trails (Stackpole and the Preselis), so is great for getting it and about in the days! As a group we all agreed, without a doubt, that we would stay here again based on the size, location and price. Our one and only qualm was that the water seemed to only runs hot early in the morning and we're a family of keen hikers... so trying to shower in the evening in a cold shower wasn't fun. Apart from that, 10 out of 10, and thank you to the owner's for providing so much to enable our stay to be so wonderful!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is a great place to stay with friends or family. There is plenty of room and the facilities are superb. The wood burner makes it a cosy stay for colder times of the year and the courtyard must be fab in the warmer months. Spitall is located near Haverfordwest and central to many of attractions in Pembrokeshire. I thoroughly recommend The School House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lu2018
West Country
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect - Perfect - Perfect!”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

In every way School House has to be just the best place to base yourself for a holiday in Pembrokeshire. With every mod-con imaginable School House provided luxurious accommodation that is not only spacious and very well equipped it is also Pet Friendly! We’ve just spent a week there to celebrate our parents ‘Diamond Wedding’. With the coast only minutes away and pet friendly beaches even the dogs have had a ball. I cannot recommend ‘School House’ highly enough. With a pub opposite serving delicious food we truly were spoilt - I cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural situation - quiet and peaceful but not too far from local amenities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josiebump...
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing!!! ”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had THE BEST week at the school house. It's so spacious, clean and well equipped. Not to mention decorated and maintained to a high standard!
As a family with young children the washer became invaluable! The area is lovely and the pump on the green facing is just perfect! Food is delicious and the staff very welcoming and friendly. We will be back!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing