We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully Converted Barn in an idyllic location”
other travellers have booked this property
Shafts Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shafts Barn
The double height sitting room with its woodburning stove The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Shafts Barn
The double height sitting room with its woodburning stove
The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
The sitting room has an impressive vaulted ceiling
A woodburning stove for chilly evenings
Comfortable sofas
Looking through to the dining area
The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
The country kitchen has oak worktops, a butler sink and integral units
The double bedroom has a king-size bed
The en suite to the double bedroom
The original timber structure is a real feature throughout the barn
The en suite to the double bedroom
The twin bedroom
..... with en suite shower room
The en suite shower room
The paved garden area at the back of the barn
Secluded
Immaculately landscaped
The front of the barn
The driveway approach up to the barn
The view across the countryside
The Thomas Lord pub, West Meon
Winchester Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
West Meon, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Luke H
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully Converted Barn in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 2 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Beautifully presented barn in and idyllic location. It had everything we could wish for and even the weather was beautiful! The owners are extremely welcoming and we wouldn't hesitate for a second to recommend this beautiful barn to any of our friends & family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully decorated and the idyllic location
Liked least: The thought of going home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback; we're really glad you enjoyed your stay. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omega131
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beautiful barn in a lovely peaceful location!”
Reviewed 24 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We booked this trip as a last minute Easter break to get away as a family. We were welcomed by Phil and Jill who were perfect hosts. We arrived to a stunning property which exceeded our expectations, there is everything there that you need and could possibly want. Everything is fitted out to the highest quality and the barn is set in a peaceful and beautiful location. The log burner was just what we wanted so we indulged in toasted marshmallows as a treat! There is a lovely local pub and some pretty walks close by. We took our girls to peppa pig world which was only 20 minutes away! An amazing barn which we will return to in the future.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2013
Thank you for your positive feed back. As you say it's a beautifully presented barn conversion; the owners have done a great job. Glad you enjoyed your holiday. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicP22
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heaven in Hampshire”
Reviewed 19 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This beautifully decorated barn conversion was the perfect retreat for the Easter weekend away with friends. It was well-equipped, with lots of added extras and special touches. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Located in a peaceful village with footpaths at your doorstep and the cozy Thomas Lord pub which makes amazingly delicious food- what more could you ask for! We enjoyed lots of long walks and relaxing around the wood burning stove was a real treat! We wish we could move to West Meon!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. Very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable break at Shafts Barn. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
“Relaxing stay in beautiful barn”
Reviewed 19 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Lovey barn conversion in the centre of "one of the nicest villages in Britain" (The Times). High quality accommodation, private location yet central to pub and village shop. Ideal for family with two teenagers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the house and facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2013
We're very glad you enjoyed your break at Shafts Barn and thank you for your positive feedback. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;