We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage for a quiet, relaxing break.”
other travellers have booked this property
Shafts Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shafts Barn
The double height sitting room with its woodburning stove The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Shafts Barn
The double height sitting room with its woodburning stove
The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
The sitting room has an impressive vaulted ceiling
A woodburning stove for chilly evenings
Comfortable sofas
Looking through to the dining area
The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
The country kitchen has oak worktops, a butler sink and integral units
The double bedroom has a king-size bed
The en suite to the double bedroom
The original timber structure is a real feature throughout the barn
The en suite to the double bedroom
The twin bedroom
..... with en suite shower room
The en suite shower room
The paved garden area at the back of the barn
Secluded
Immaculately landscaped
The front of the barn
The driveway approach up to the barn
The view across the countryside
The Thomas Lord pub, West Meon
Winchester Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
West Meon, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Islander0...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage for a quiet, relaxing break.”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Very cosy cottage with great local amenities and walking opportunities. Owners very welcoming and helpful. Everything clean, tidy and comfortable. Good local pub and other eateries not far to travel. Loved Winchester and the coast at Emsworth.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicola b
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Beautiful barn conversion. Everywhere is furnished and equipped to a high standard. The barn was wonderfully warm and very comfortable. Location is great for exploring the surrounding area. We are now rested and restored, ready to return to reality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnedshe...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Shafts Barn was perfect for us and made our bank holiday foray into a real pleasure. The Barn itself is very well equipped with thoughtful touches, comfortable beds and an excellent shower. The well equipped kitchen worked well, the lounge area comfortable and the outside space lush and well kept. The whole Barn was very clean, too - and the owners were more than happy to accommodate our request for non-feather pillows. West Meon is also the perfect base - a lovely village in its own right, it was ideally located for Portsmouth (first visit - great place!) and a day trip to the Isle of Wight from a tranquil and secluded country base. Perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebecca s
1 review
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a lovely stay at Shaft Barn. It is a well decorated and fully equipped cottage. A nice private garden with enough toys for our two young boys.The owners, Phill and Jill, are really friendly and helpful. The surrounding is great, with a lovely village (with al the basic needs provided) and within car distance you find Winchester or a nice sandy beach.
We definitely recommend this cottage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudyandNe...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“" Just perfect "”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a wonderful week in this delightful cottage. It is well equipped catering for your every need. Very tastefully decorated and furnished throughout and has the most comfortable beds, we all slept like logs. We took my elderly Mother with us and the fact it is all on one level made it very easy for her. Phil and Jill were wonderful hosts and made us so welcome when we arrived and it was nice to know that they were just at the bottom of the drive if we needed anything. We had nice weather but one evening was particularly gloomy and we lit the log burner making us feel very cosy.
The location is perfect in a beautiful village with a well stocked shop with a café at the rear, the local pub and a butchers shop all just a few minute’s walk down the road. There is a bus stop at the bottom of the drive where you can catch a bus into Winchester. Anybody wishing to stay in this area should give this accommodation serious consideration.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val P
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very comfortable break in a lovely part of the country”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A very homely and well equipped property with some lovely touches, and extremely kind and attentive (thought discreet) owners. The barn is set in a really nice village amidst some stunning countryside.There's a village shop within walking distance - it has some very friendly staff. There are excellent road links to Winchester, the New Forest and West Sussex. The George pub in the neighbouring village of East Meon provided a very good meal. We'd thoroughly recommend the barn with the slight proviso that the dining area might be a bit tight for four large adults - but there again - it all depends how friendly you are with each other.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tofsan79
1 review
“Lovely cottage in picture perfect village”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We spent New Years in this little cottage situated in the picture perfect village of West Meon.
The cottage was clean and beautifully decorated. The beds were heavenly.
My children (2, 6 and 8 years old) were thrilled to find an abundance of age appropriate toys and games behind the sofa all in perfect condition (and frankly more fun than ours at home). There was a go-cart in the shed and a lovely big lawn to play on. We roasted marshmallows in the fire each night.
The village could not be more picturesque, with its local store, butcher and fabulous local pub, and this surrounded by lovely country side where we enjoyed a 5k walk with the children.
A perfect get-away - we will definitely come back to this heavenly little cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thank you for your very positive comments about your New Year stay at Shafts Barn. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you and your children enjoyed making the most of your time exploring this lovely area. We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing